Mikel Suspended After Clattenburg Row

• Mikel Suspended After Clattenburg Row

John Obi Mikel has been suspended for three games after he confronted referee Mark Clattenburg at the end of Chelsea's stormy match against Manchester United.
    The 25-year-old Nigerian was also fined £60,000 after admitting a charge of using threatening or abusive language in the match official's changing room after the game on October 28.
    The decision by the Independent Regulatory Commission said the ban would have been "significantly longer" but for the fact Mikel believed he had been racially abused by Mr Clattenburg.
    Mikel will be suspended immediately and he will be ruled out of domestic duty until Boxing Day.
    A statement from Football Association said: "Chelsea's John Obi Mikel has been given a three-match suspension to begin with immediate effect and fined £60,000 following an Independent Regulatory Commission hearing.
    "Mikel had requested a personal hearing after admitting an FA charge of using threatening and/or abusive and/or insulting words and/or behaviour.
    "The Regulatory Commission's independent chairman Christopher Quinlan QC emphasised that the Independent Regulatory Commission accepted, as did The FA, that at the time he threatened the referee the player genuinely believed that the referee had racially abused him.
    "But for that factor the suspension would have been significantly longer."
    The midfielder, who signed a new five-year contract at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday, will miss Chelsea's match at Sunderland this weekend.
    The FA announced Mikel's charge last month in a statement that also confirmed Mr Clattenburg had "no case to answer" following a complaint by Chelsea that he used a racist remark to their players.

A question for the barristah...

the ban would have been "significantly longer" but for the fact Mikel believed he had been racially abused by Mr Clattenburg.
    So let's play the hypothetical game for a second. What if Mikel WAS actually racially abused, would he still have been banned?

My question is should Mr. Clattenburg sue for defamation of character and loss of income?
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

don't know what the punishment would have been but yes he would still have to be disciplined.

"He would still have to be disciplined". So does that mean that regardless of whether your infraction is triggered by a perceived wrong against you (or not), you would get charged if you did something wrong? In otherwords, cause and effect can be separated if both are wrong? (i.e. I jab you in the eye and you shoot me, should we both be charged?) Is that a standard under law or customary rules of governance?

basically yes. as a principle it is always there, it depends on the facts in each case.

I am not sure if Mikel's threatening/abusive(note it was unclear)occurred in the ref changing room or players'.
              The relevance would of course be that firsthand accounting as opposed to second hand. Whoever is responsible for the allegations has to be the FA target too.
              I still think there is a possibility that this is just tidying up the mess by just brushing it aside with the blessing of the ignorant,gullible public.

My question is should Mr. Clattenburg sue for defamation of character and loss of income?
                didn't the fa clear him? so isn't his character intact ? him fi jus hol him corner an don't create rucksion .. i would suspect the fa would compensate him from the fine ...

basically yes. as a principle it is always there, it depends on the facts in each case.
                  So why dem neva charge Evra when him was the first one to tell Suarez 'bout him sista p-----?

That would be the stupidest thing on earth for him to do. First of all, he would lose as the players were obligated to report the incident even if they were mistaken - it is the FA's job to investigate; secondly, the PR around it would sink him. He would look like an opportunist.

Mi know di answer but mi naw tell yuh!

bad mind yu

Suh is bad mind why yuh dweet, ah si......