Starting 11 selection in Carib Cup?

• Starting 11 selection in Carib Cup?

Anybody find it strange how the starting 11 for each game in the Carib Cup had little continuity to it. Especially the changes to the last game against Cuba.

Ok I undstand a little the loss to FG, complacency, overconfidence, lack of luck etc.

Then the team seemed to tighten up somewhat in the game versus Martinque, with what ended up being a draw with a clean sheet on the defense, Gk and mids, those most responsible on that side of the ledger, so for the final game my thought would have been keep the main d team together so Powell, Phinn, shavar and let Bibi start but the team was radically changed throughout, almost not building off what good had come out of the Martinique game and just throwing the rest of the guys in the bullpen, killing any continuity from the good of the Martinque game.

Maybe is just me but between the selection of players for starters and subs as well as what seems to be little connection between the management/coach and the team, we just saw uninspired play, little chemistry and a coach who continually talked about lack of focus and motivation which would be his job.

Seems a little to me that the lads were left adrift somewhat, at the same time that does not release them of their responsibility to play hard with each opportunity and except for a few it seems that did not happen.

Seems like a very unusual sequence of events.

one ting fi sure, wi struggle fi play against counter attacking teams. All three teams played similar gainst us and wi could nevah breach dem defense, dat is di most worrying part. Wi so static dat all ah di balls to di forwods get cut out or di recepient undah nuff pressure. Dat was di real problem of di side as mi seeit. No thought and ability to break down defense. If wi fi have camp fi teach dem strategies den wi inna trouble bad. Irrespective ah which team Tappa play dem inadequacies fi break down di opponent defense was a constant.

True, but one thing that people keep forgetting is you can't lose if you don't concede a goal and while that is not enough that is half of the puzzle. The loss against Fg sealed our fate that was the weakest team in the draw and it so happened we were the most complacent against them.

Coming into tournament we were faves and how do you deal with a strong team, you stack your defense and clog the mids and counter as you say, that they all did. As you said we stood still, did nothing, actually we did worse than nothing we built on nothing and scattered our approach to each game giving the guys even more of a disadvantage, and we reaped the whirlwind!

It is always critical to win that first match in a tournament like this. Super critical. If you draw, it not so bad, but once you lose it's always going to be difficult.

Mind you, Cuba also lost their first match and they are now in the finals. But they had to claw their way to get there. And they probably lost to the best team in the tournament in Martinique.