Suarez hand ball....
I was surprised that Dunny (and someone else, forget who) said his celebration was to rile up the crowd... I don't watch much football compared to some but even I knew that that kiss of the wrist is a Luis Suarez trademark celebration... but of course the haters will find any and every thing to vilify him.Peter R
Originally posted by Peter R View PostI was surprised that Dunny (and someone else, forget who) said his celebration was to rile up the crowd... I don't watch much football compared to some but even I knew that that kiss of the wrist is a Luis Suarez trademark celebration... but of course the haters will find any and every thing to vilify him."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Football is a funny game. It is one where cheating is in the very fabric of the game.
Any who has played the game knows there is a Law 11 and a Law 12...and we (yup...I included myself as in my earlier days as pretender) flout them regularly during games and most times we are not penalised. Let one footballer stand and bray to the heavens that he in every game does not hold, push, pull and trip the opponent and does not encourage his teammates or at the least, expect his teammates to so do. ...and let one player bray to the heavens that it was not all carried out with aim of gaining an advantage...unfair advantage....and besides a cheater you would be listening to a liar!!!
...and if the occasion arises the hand is also used as in handling the ball. Great footballers do it and run-of-the-mill footballers do it.
I do not see everyday (often) in games players asking refs to disallow penalties when they know they slipped or fell in the opponent's penalty-area without being fouled...do you?
I see too many penalties that are awarded when the contact occurs away from a trailing foot...and that trailing foot is dragged. I have never met anyone not stricken via stroke whose trailing foot does not step forward when the gait is forward motion. ...yet many are the players who as big time 'tief' falls when that trailing leg is free of any obstacle. Funny...I do not hear anyone screaming on "What a big dutty tief"?
We all know in our everyday waking lives that whether walking or running we would never fall without our trailing leg reflexively swinging forward to provide balance/attempt to prevent a fall or control the severity of the force of the fall....yet that act...unnatural act of refusing to take a step with the trailing leg engaged in by so many professional players...and other players...of going to ground to win an unfair advantage is not condemned...as fact depending on where 'the offense' occurred we hear howls of 'foul' or 'penalty'. Howls of encouragement to be 'tief'. ...accepted encouragement to be 'tief'.
Suarez handled the ball...no doubt on that. He took advantage and gained an (unfair) advantage for his team. ...the only question is, did he immediately on his action follow through on his act or later when he recognised the refs (man in the middle and his assistant) were going to award a goal?
It appeared to me that he initially thought there would have been no goal...quickly thereafter he realised there would!
The pious rantings appear to me to be... well...?Last edited by Karl; January 7, 2013, 07:56 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Karl View PostFootball is a funny game. It is one where cheating is in the very fabric of the game.
Any who has played the game knows there is a Law 11 and a Law 12...and we (yup...I included myself as in my earlier days as pretender) flout them regularly during games and most times we are not penalised. Let one footballer stand and bray to the heavens that he in every game does not hold, push, pull and trip the opponent and does not encourage his teammates or at the least, expect his teammates to so do. ...and let one player bray to the heavens that it was not all carried out with aim of gaining an advantage...unfair advantage....and besides a cheater you would be listening to a liar!!!
...and if the occasion arises the hand is also used as in handling the ball. Great footballers do it and run-of-the-mill footballers do it.
I do not see everyday (often) in games players asking refs to disallow penalties when they know they slipped or fell in the opponent's penalty-area without being fouled...do you?
I see too many penalties that are awarded when the contact occurs away from a trailing foot...and that trailing foot is dragged. I have never met anyone not stricken via stroke whose trailing foot does not step forward when the gait is forward motion. ...yet many are the players who as big time 'tief' falls when that trailing leg is free of any obstacle. Funny...I do not hear anyone screaming on "What a big dutty tief"?
We all know in our everyday waking lives that whether walking or running we would never fall without our trailing leg reflexively swinging forward to provide balance/attempt to prevent a fall or control the severity of the force of the fall....yet that act...unnatural act of refusing to take a step with the trailing leg engaged in by so many professional players...and other players...of going to ground to win an unfair advantage is not condemned...as fact depending on where 'the offense' occurred we hear howls of 'foul' or 'penalty'. Howls of encouragement to be 'tief'. ...accepted encouragement to be 'tief'.
Suarez handled the ball...no doubt on that. He took advantage and gained an (unfair) advantage for his team. ...the only question is, did he immediately on his action follow through on his act or later when he recognised the refs (man in the middle and his assistant) were going to award a goal?
It appeared to me that he initially thought there would have been no goal...quickly thereafter he realised there would!
The pious rantings appear to me to be... well...?
Suarez, Henry and others aside, you hit it spot on. Players of every team are always "cheating". However, what is disturbing is that FIFA, UEFA, the FA etc. all profess to wanting to get these unsavory aspects out of the game yet do nothing (despite the availability of tools) to advance the cause. Take racism, it is a very easy thing to fine clubs a minimum based on their financial capacity to pay, including the CEOs and GMs. You would see it stop then immediately. KMT. Anyway, thanks that."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365