• Sport 'We could have won,' says Tappa Friday, February

Sport

'We could have won,' says Tappa

Friday, February 08, 2013

MONTEGO BAY, St James — Theodore Whitmore, coach of the national senior men's team, said despite a historic 0-0 draw against CONCACAF kingpins Mexico at the Azteca Stadium in their World Cup final round qualifying game on Wednesday night, Jamaica could have won the game.

Upon his arrival yesterday along with goalkeeper coach Warren Barrett at the Sangster International Airport in Montego Bay, Whitmore said they had prepared properly for the game and knew what to expect from Mexico.

A rare smile: Head coach Theodore ‘Tappa’ Whitmore (right) is greeted by a fan shortly after arriving at the Donald Sangster International Airport yesterday from Mexico via Miami. Whitmore’s Reggae Boyz held Mexico to a historic 0-0 draw inside the Azteca Stadium during their CONCACAF World Cup qualifying match on Wednesday night. Goalkeeper coach Warren Barrett also arrived in Montego Bay yesterday. Other players and officials were due to arrive in Kingston last night. (Photo: Paul Reid)

1/1

"We watched tapes of the last few games played by Mexico and I selected a team to go down to Mexico and perform and it was no surprise last night (Wednesday)," Whitmore told reporters.

While saying he never felt any pressure from external forces over the squad of players he selected, Whitmore said. "We know what the Mexicans have to offer as I said we have studied them over the past few games and the only thing they have changed are names, they play the same system," he said.

"All we did was block out the wings and try to force them down the middle...and if you saw the game you saw where they constantly wanted to go down the wings and square (the ball), but we had adequate defenders like (Adrian) Mariappa, (Nyron) Nosworthy, Demar Phillips and Jermaine Taylor there to deal with that."

The confidence displayed by the players, including a handful of UK-raised newcomers, had a lot to do with the result, Whitmore said."There was a lot of confidence going into the game and we knew that we could get something out of this game, we knew we could beat this team, everyone was talking about the altitude and all that, it's just a mind game...football speaks one language," Whitmore said.

Goalkeeper and captain Donovan Ricketts, who was returning to the team for the first time in months, had an outstanding game, blocking several chances by the Mexican players and both Whitmore and Barrett had high praises for the shot-stopper.

"Ricketts has a job to do and that's what he went out there to do, we have never questioned his performance or commitment to the national team," Whitmore pointed out.

Barrett described Ricketts' performance as "excellent", and said he had a long chat with the USA-based custodian in December. "We know he is still the best goalkeeper we have currently and I was not surprised by his and the team's performance," the former national goalkeeper told the Jamaica Observer.

The rest of the contingent was due to arrive in Kingston last night.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2KJAXlkt1
    Last edited by Karl; February 8, 2013, 11:19 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Boyz beat odds, altitude, maddening crowd for historic draw

Azteca conquered

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2KKBYdE3H

MEXICO CITY, Mexico — Jamaica's record at football in Mexico is appalling, to say the very least.

And heading into Wednesday's CONCACAF Final Round World Cup opener here at the much-feared Estadio Azteca, not many gave them a ghost of a chance of earning anything but a battering.

MEXICO CITY, Mexico — Jamaica’s Jobi McAnuff (left) is tackled by Mexico’s Paul Aguillar during their CONCACAF World Cup qualifying match at the Azteca Stadium here on Wednesday night. The match ended 0-0. (Photo: Garfield Robinson)

MEXICO CITY, Mexico — Reggae Boy Demar Phillips (centre) attempts to get by Mexico’s Javier Rodriquez (left), while teammate Giovani Dos Santos keeps a close eye on the proceedings during their CONCACAF World Cup qualifying match at the Azteca Stadium here on Wednesday night. The match ended 0-0. (Photos: Garfield Robinson)

MEXICO CITY, Mexico — Jamaica’s Ryan Johnson (right) fends off the challenge of Mexico’s Javier Rodriquez during their CONCACAF Final Round World Cup qualifying match at the Azteca Stadium here on Wednesday night. The match ended 0-0.

However, after the gallant and disciplined Reggae Boyz forced the Mexican supporters into a standing ovation at game's end, in addition to raining 'boos' on their players after a 0-0 stalemate, assistant head coach Alfredo Montesso has declared that the technical staff is anything but surprised by the team's performance.

"For us it was not a surprise," Montesso told the Jamaica Observer shortly after the team's return to its Radisson Paraiso Hotel after the game.
    "... not with the performance, and not the commitment because we could see the vibes in training and at the hotel, and right after the game tonight (Wednesday) we told them that we need to keep our feet on the ground, we need to understand that we are just at the beginning, and we have to improve our performance because there were circumstances in the game that we never handled so well, but it is coming with time."

The Brazilian noted that though the Boyz earned a valuable point to be in joint second place with Mexico, Panama and Costa Rica, who played out a 2-2 result, and two points adrift of early leaders Honduras, who clipped the USA 2-1, the result could have even been better, as crazy as that sounds.

"It happened this way, but it could have been better. It could have been excellent if we capitalised on the chances that we had, but anyway what I saw was a committed team," noted Montesso.

Though the visitors were dominated in possession by the home team, it was actually they who created the two easiest chances.

The first fell to Jobi McAnuff in the eighth minute of play, and the second fell for Ryan Johnson on minute 68. In between Jamaican skipper and goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts was called on to make at least five saves, including two from Manchester United's star striker Javier 'Chicharito" Hernandez.

Jermaine Johnson did well on the right to hustle a defender off the ball before relaying a quick pass to Garath McCleary. The Reading FC wide players employed neat 'step-overs' to weave his way past a couple defenders before making a pinpoint cross to his Reading FC captain McAnuff, who sliced his right-footed effort well out of the reach of Jesus Corona's outstretched arms.

However, the ball rebounded off the inside of the past and fell kindly for McAnuff, who reacted quickly but scuffed the rebound back into the grateful arms of Corona, who was hopelessly out of it at the far post.

And just over the hour-mark Ryan Johnson was sent clear after eluding a sliding challenge by Carlos Salcido, but faced one-on-one with Corona, he squeezed his left-footed effort into the goalkeeper's midrift.

There were other opportunities which the Boyz did not capitalise on, but Montesso explained that's what impressed him most was the organisation of the team.

"I was most impressed with the organisation of the team and how they followed the instructions that we passed to them," he said. "We shut down the wings, as especially in the first half we were giving them too much space on the right side with Giovani (Dos Santos) and Paul Aguilar, which gave Mexico some good moments.

"In the second half, we closed the spaces a little bit more and forced them to take decisions and this is what has impressed me so much because some of them are playing together for the first time and they were able to manage themselves, while at the same time communicate among themselves."

The assistant coach opined that the much-feared altitude didn't affect the team significantly.

"The altitude affected them a little bit towards the end of the game, but I don't believe it was a major factor as much as we thought before and with the modern preparation today they performed much better.

"I thought what we saw at the end was a player like Ryan Johnson, who is in preseason, felt it a little bit more, so a guy like Garath, who was overworked because we didn't mark that well on his side and it created a little problem."

Montesso was also full of praise for the UK contingent now in the team.
    "I think they are a great addition to the team, not only because they are professionals and they are playing first division in UK, but those guys they brought friendliness, they brought leadership, you could see McAnuff talking to the guys inside the field... this is what we have been saying to them, we need more captains on the field, we need more captains to spread the philosophy in the game and to communicate with each other, but these guys came with a very positive approach and the whole team embraced each other and I think the chemistry is improving," the Brazilian added.

And while cautioning the players that the battle has just begun, he believes that Jamaica will now become a target of the other countries.

"We have to focus on facing even more difficult games from now and Panama will not come easy to Jamaica, they will come for a hard game and every game we play if we play the way that we played today, I believe we will gain more respect from the other teams."

In the end it was a historic feat, especially when one considers that the team, with two debutantes, and two players on their second cap, had just two sessions of practice.

Teams:
    Jamaica
    — Donovan Ricketts (captain), Nyron Nosworthy, Adrian Mariappa, Demar Phillips, Jermaine Taylor, Marvin Elliott, Rodolph Austin, Joel McAnuff, Garath McCleary (Omar Daley 84th), Jermaine Johnson (Theo Robinson 54th), Ryan Johnson (Tramaine Stewart 80th).

Booked: Jermaine Johnson (45th+)

Subs not used: Dwayne Miller, Duwayne Kerr, Damion Stewart, Alvas Powell, Jason Morrison, Jermaine Hue, Je-Vaughn Watson, Dane Richards, Andre Lewis

Mexico — Jesus Corona, Javier Rodriquez (captain), Carlos Salcido, Hector Herrera (Angel Reyna 67th), Giovani Dos Santos (Javier Aquino 46th), Javier Hernandez, Hector Moreno, Andres Guardado, Oribe Peralta, Jorge Torres, Paul Aguilar

Booked: Moreno (90th+)

Subs not used: Alfredo Talavera, Cirilo Saucedo, Diego Reyes, Hugo Ayala, Severo Meza, Javier Aquino, Jesus Molina, Fernando Arce, Marco Fabian, Angel Reyna, Aldo De Nigris, Darvin Chavez

Referee: Mark Geiger (USA)
    Assistants: Mark Sean Hurd (USA), Joseph Fletcher (Canada)
    Fourth Official: Edvin Jurisevic (USA)

Referee Assessor: Stanley Darville (Bahamas)

Match Commissary: Joseph Ramirez Rojas (Costa Rica)

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2KKBJFP5f
    Last edited by Karl; February 8, 2013, 12:17 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Experts hail Boyz' overall preparation and game execution

BY SEAN A WILLIAMS Assistant Sport Editor

Two recognised thinkers of local football have both showered praise on the players, technical and medial teams for a job well done in Jamaica's Reggae Boyz's historic 0-0 draw with host Mexico at the Azteca Stadium on Wednesday night.

In a professional and tactically astute delivery, the Boyz beat back great odds that gave them no chance of leaving the feared high altitude of Mexico City with anything in the CONCACAF World Cup qualifying clash. But their one point, the first ever in the celebrated stadium, will be the most cherished ever.

MEXICO CITY, Mexico — Rodolph Auston of Jamaica eludes the sliding tackle of Mexico’s Hector Moreno during their CONCACAF World Cup qualifying match at the Azteca Stadium here on Wednesday night. The match ended 0-0. (Photo: Garfield Robinson)

COLE... I think Dr Fraser did a fantastic job
      JUREIDINI... they seemed to have prepared tactically that allowed the unit to perform professionally

The spoils could have been greater had the brave Jamaicans converted their chances, the most striking being a close-up miss by Reading FC captain Jobi McAnuff in the eighth minute of play.

But that will quickly be forgotten no doubt as reflections on the encounter will seek to applaud the sublime overall effort that made a strong statement that Jamaica's push for Brazil 2014 is indeed no fluke.

Football analyst, Clyde Jureidini, believes the rendition is deserving of every praise when weighed against history and multiple difficulties with Mexico City's daunting altitude of 2,240 metres (7,350 ft) and partisan fans who shower visitors with cold hospitality.

"We have to congratulate the team and in particular coach (Theodore) Whitmore and the rest of the technical staff as they seemed to have prepared tactically that allowed the unit to perform professionally in severely adverse conditions without any prior match preparation or familiarity to a great extent.

"To go into the much vaunted Azteca and to come up with a historic 0-0 point, but not only that we gained this point, but we didn't concede a goal, a tremendous achievement," said the general manager of the Harbour View Football Club.

Jureidini said the achievement is special for various reasons, including the fact that the players — some of whom were playing together for the first time — had little preparation or acclimatisation time.

"I think maybe it's the first time we have gone there with so little time to prepare and with so many new players, so many of them Europe-based, so it would be interested to find out how different was the atmosphere and the weather as our overall performance at altitude was sustained for 90 minutes without any obvious adverse effects from our preparation and participation," said the secretary of the Premier League Clubs Association.

Jureidini also applauded the decision of the technical staff to go for seasoned professionals for a game that was a difficult proposition long before the first ball was kicked.

"This squad must be the most senior squad I ever seen Jamaica assemble as the average age of the players were 29, with a lot of them in the group a," he told the Jamaica Observer.

The football aficionado is of the view that the "positive' result will boost the Mission To Rio campaign in incalculable ways.

"It's a definite shot in the arm for the entire programme, without hesitation I would say that 99 per cent of Jamaicans expected that side to lose and to lose heavily, and to come up with a stellar performance that corrected much of the tactical deployment that we did against the USA, is a major boost," Jureidini ended

Allan 'Skill' Cole, former Jamaica international and the man widely regarded as Jamaica's best player of all time, said the performance and historic element of the occasion ranks as one of Jamaica's great footballing moments.
      "All in all, I thought it was a great performance, unfortunately we didn't come out with a victory, but still it will be a great moment in the annals of our football history," he said.

Cole, who had a professional stint in Brazil in his heyday, singled out team doctor Carlton Fraser, whom he thought must have done an outstanding job to get the Boyz in a position to handle the effects of high altitude.
      "I think Dr Fraser did a fantastic job because I don't think it (effects of high altitude) showed on the players. I know of Dr Fraser's ability in sports medicine so I am giving him a lot of the credit," he said by telephone yesterday.

Cole believed the tactical approach and application of the players were spot on.

"Credit must go to the Boyz and also to the technical staff. The technical staff did a master job tactically, especially in the defensive work which helped us a lot," he argued.

But Cole warned that the Jamaica Football Federation and its coaching team must devise ways to get the players more often together to build chemistry as the 10-match campaign wears on.

"Listen to me, performances like these do not happen very often in football, and when you look that the team didn't have time and to gel, as we were more like a pick up side, and that's more credit to the performance. But going forward we have to find ways to get the players together more often so we can build the chemistry," he said.

Cole said he hopes that the Mexico feel-good vibes will carry over to the first home game on March 22.

"It (draw with Mexico) should be a morale booster, not only for the players, but also for the fans because... hopefully the result will also have a great impact on out first home game coming up next month, and hopefully we have a very good turn out," he noted.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2KK3Z281U
      Last edited by Karl; February 8, 2013, 11:42 AM.

The Boyz were brilliant!
        Published: Friday | February 8, 2013 2 Comments

Brown

1 2 3 4 5 >

Marc Stamp, Gleaner Writer

Local football experts have described Jamaica's result against CONCACAF kingpins Mexico on Wednesday night as a big 'victory' to kick off the nation's push towards a second appearance in the FIFA World Cup next year in Brazil.

The Reggae Boyz battled to a historic 0-0 draw against Mexico at the feared Azteca Stadium in Mexico City. This is the first time that Jamaica have come away with a point against Mexico in a World Cup Qualifier (WCQ) in the high-altitude Azteca.

Three coaches and one admini-strator have credited the team for its tactical approach to the game.

"I thought it was an excellent performance. We should have won 3-1," Geoffrey Maxwell, a highly respected football tactician, told The Gleaner yesterday.

Maxwell, coach of Premier League club Humble Lion, added: "I have always felt that this Mexican team was ripe for the taking, and although we did not win the game, it was a professional approach. The Jamaica team was selected for the game to get a positive result. That was achieved.

"Credit must be given to coach (Theodore) Whitmore and his coaching staff, as well as goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts for his outstanding performance Wednesday night. He kept us in the game," said Maxwell, who has been coaching for over four decades.

STILL A VICTORY

"I classified the result as a victory. Mexico do not have the players of yesteryear. They don't really have the players to drive fear at the Azteca," he said.

While Maxwell says the team played a disciplined game, he believes coach Whitmore and his technical staff "need to find a playmaker".

He said: "It was a workmanlike performance from the team, but we need at least one playmaker."

"I still maintain that Sean Fraser and Khari Stephenson should be drafted into the squad. We do not have any local player better than them at this time. They should be selected to be part of the pool," Maxwell said.

Maxwell said that although Jamaica earned a "precious point" away to Mexico for the first time in a World Cup qualifying game at the Azteca, "it would be stupid to say we will advance. We would have to wait for at least five to six games to be in a better position to know what needs to be done."

Lenworth Hyde Sr, coach of Sporting Central Academy, also heaped praise on the Reggae Boyz for a wonderful result.

"I think they played well and got the result they wanted, away from home. The team was organised. They were disciplined and everybody played their part. At no point were they out of position," he assessed.

Hyde also commended goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts for "an excellent game".

However, Hyde said the team needs to have more possession.

"I wanted to see more possession. There was space for us to play and we did not make use of it. We could have possessed the ball for longer periods," he pointed out.

GOOD RESULT

"This is a good result for us, but we should not get complacent," he warned. "It will be harder work."

Former national coach Carl Brown also weighed in positively.

"It was great. We played very disciplined. We played a counter-attacking game and should have scored at least two goals, But it was a massive point for us," Brown said.

"We started the campaign with a good result, so I wish the team all the best in the remaining games. It is very important for us to qualify, with what's going on in the nation. The Reggae Boyz can unify us, so it means a lot," he said.

With regard to the upcoming game against Panama at the National Stadium on Friday, March 22, Brown pointed out that, "Panama will be a tricky opposition. We need to get three points from them. We will need strong support from the public - as well as the private sector - in the march to the 2014 World Cup."

Clyde Jureidini, general manager of Harbour View FC, also lauded the coaching staff and the team. "Highest congratulations to coach Whitmore, his staff and the players. It was a mammoth task, so it's worthy of celebration," he told The Gleaner yesterday.

"The team countered well enough on three occasions and could have scored, but it was a satisfactory result. This could boost the support from the public, as well as financial support. It was a precious point moving forward," he noted.

Honduras lead the six-team hexagonal final stage of CONCACAF WCQ with three points; with Jamaica, Mexico, Panama and Costa Rica all on a point, while USA are without a point after one round of games.

At the completion of the qualifiers later this year, the top three teams will advance to the FIFA World Cup Finals in Brazil next summer, while the fourth-place team will face the winners of the Oceania Group in a two-way play-off for a possible four spots from CONCACAF.
        Last edited by Karl; February 8, 2013, 11:39 AM.

Nosworthy, Mariappa, McClearly and McCanuff mi thank unnu for joining the Rboyz. I don't really know the others but the Englishmen raised Ja's game. Mi always wonder why teams like Brasil just go in the Azteca and boss roun tings, now mi know.

Imagine what Ja could achieve if the team was properly funded and was able to camp in Brasil?

Who is No.12? Boss thank you for that last second bicycle kick to clear that ball because that could have been the goal of he game.

Yes Mattocks was needed because as I said Ja needed that clinical, calm predator in front of the goal in big games. To be fair to Mattocks he hasn't been given those chances I saw with mexico (to do what he does best). In the caribbean cup not even Romario or R9 could score playing for Ja then.

The best coach Jamaica has produced in my life time ,Tappa Theodore Whitmore ,coach for life carry belly on all , Tappa has shown me ,he is willing to forgive and forget to put nations interest 1st , recall of Hue , JJ & Daley has proven this to me.

Tactically he is excellent under his guidance we have beaten the USA and drawn with Mexico in the Azetca what he has done with our style of play is revolutionary .Some might argue it started under John Barnes with his philosophy of ball management.

Gone are the days when we bypass our midfield with a hoof , hoping that it would connect with our forwards ,the result would be a collapse of our midfield ,putting pressure on the defence which would result in goals, that was the majour difference last night along with our ability to adapt to the Azetca physically , i believe twice one of our players had a noose bleed, to highlight the physical battle that was being fought.Again the ability to ball manage , pass it around , build on tactical plays cannot be underestimated as one of the majour reason we drew on Wednesday.I have no doubt if we played the hoof ball Mexico would look like the MEX of past 6-0 would have been a high possibility.

Tappa is developing a Jamaican style of play , where we can challenge teams physically and tactically in passing and use of speed , be it direct through the midfield to attack or on the flanks, the use of a creative midfielder while needed isnt a neccesity in this form of tactical play (sorry Mo) it takes nothing away from Hue and his greatness but such is our tactical structure under Tappa, he proved it last night.

Tappa fi life and the brazillians of course.The scary thing is he/Rbyz are still learning..........trouble !

The best coach Jamaica has produced in my life time ,Tappa Theodore Whitmore ,coach for life carry belly on all , Tappa has shown me ,he is willing to forgive and forget to put nations interest 1st , recall of Hue , JJ & Daley has proven this to me.

Tactically he is excellent under his guidance we have beaten the USA and drawn with Mexico in the Azetca what he has done with our style of play is revolutionary .Some might argue it started under John Barnes with his philosophy of ball management.

Gone are the days when we bypass our midfield with a hoof , hoping that it would connect with our forwards ,the result would be a collapse of our midfield ,putting pressure on the defence which would result in goals, that was the majour difference last night along with our ability to adapt to the Azetca physically , i believe twice one of our players had a noose bleed, to highlight the physical battle that was being fought.Again the ability to ball manage , pass it around , build on tactical plays cannot be underestimated as one of the majour reason we drew on Wednesday.I have no doubt if we played the hoof ball Mexico would look like the MEX of past 6-0 would have been a high possibility.

Tappa is developing a Jamaican style of play , where we can challenge teams physically and tactically in passing and use of speed , be it direct through the midfield to attack or on the flanks, the use of a creative midfielder while needed isnt a neccesity in this form of tactical play (sorry Mo) it takes nothing away from Hue and his greatness but such is our tactical structure under Tappa, he proved it last night.

Tappa fi life and the brazillians of course.The scary thing is he/Rbyz are still learning..........trouble !
              Yes, my bredren X wake up and is talking some sense!! Agreed

Dis sweet yuh the use of a creative midfielder while needed isnt a neccesity in this form of tactical play (sorry Mo) it takes nothing away from Hue and his greatness but such is our tactical structure under Tappa, he proved it last night.

While not a neccesity it is a bonus that should be on the team as an option.Tappa proved that also in advancing us to this round.

X is a fraud. Before Wednseday him woulda kill tappa. them a ask all for the man to resign. They gave the man no benefit of the doubt and little support. All of a sudden he is the greatest ever????

We need to support a little more.

X is a fraud. Before Wednseday him woulda kill tappa. them a ask all for the man to resign. They gave the man no benefit of the doubt and little support. All of a sudden he is the greatest ever????

We need to support a little more.
                    Fraud!!, you wait till mi tackle him about Roy Hodgson and the job he is doing, now that is for another day.

Yes Tappa.. you could have won.. stand up tuh di elements innah di program who mussi have dem ego bruise by young 'upstarts'...

Select purely based on Tactical analysis.. please.. 90% is good.. but 100% woulda give us 3 magical points which were there to be had !

Who is the only player to score for Ja in the Azteca ?!

If unnuh need some sports psychologists to assist in how to leverage star ballah self-confidence den seh suh...

Stifling it nuh spell sense.

I dont know about you guys but I believe an individual has to prove himself before he gets any praise esp mine , Tappa has done that , Hodgson is not even trying ,anyway this messanic worship thing isnt in my trait, I leave it for IMF-ist and tribalist.

his soon start sing BR praises

Of course if he can win a cup, unlikely to happen.

Leaders on the pitch, experience players who are tactically aware, that makes the coaches Jobs so much easier!!