• Short Term Vision Failing Local Football

SHORT TERM VISION FAILING LOCAL FOOTBALL

The Reggae Boyz go into the World Cup qualifying match against Honduras on a three-match losing streak and chances are that based on how the team has been playing lately, the result will most likely be similar to the last three. Why? We all know the reasons. Ineffective coaching, a lack of quality players, not enough practice games against quality opponents and a general lack of understanding as to what it takes to qualify for a world cup.

Having witnessed failed campaigns for 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2012, one has to believe that the 1998 campaign was a fluke. It was the perfect storm of the right players at the right time with the right coach. Since that time however, Jamaica has seen failure after failure after failure. We can blame coaches, we can blame players or the lack of resources, but ultimately we have to lay the blame at the feet of the people who administrate over football and sport in general in Jamaica.

Like most other times when things go right in Jamaica we have failed to strike while the iron was hot. Using the euphoria of ’98 when there were so many passionate players in the Jamaican squad, players like the late Peter Cargill, Shorty Malcolm, Walter Boyd, Deon Burton, Paul Hall, and Theodore Whitmore, who connected with the people, the Jamaica Football Federation and the Government could have used the opportunity to restructure local football in such a way that we would have been reaping the benefits now, 15 years later as the island is about to bow out of another campaign. This will be another crash and burn and once again no one will be held accountable.

Had Jamaica done a comprehensive overhaul of the national programme wherein youngsters en masse would be exposed to the kind of training that would equip them with the requisite skills, there would be opportunity for the very best to be placed in special programmes that would help these youngsters hone their special skills.

Under careful supervision, they would grow to develop into quality players that would eventually be exposed to and attract the best clubs in the world in the very top divisions where those skills could be sharpened and readied for our world cup campaigns. Looking at the current squad, there is not one player there who plays for a top club anywhere in the world. The Jamaican squad is currently comprised of players from our sub-standard Premier League and second and third division clubs across the world. What this tells us is that Jamaica does not possess enough quality players to take on the best in the world and that is what the world cup is all about. Sure, there will be players who will be blessed with the skills but there will never be enough of them to form a deep enough squad for a world cup campaign where injuries and unforeseen circumstances will require the use of an equally talented player, a game changer, from off the bench.

When one looks at the top club teams from across the world, one realizes that it is not just the starting XI that makes them good but also the players they have in reserve. Jamaica does not possess a talented starting XI nor a talented bench, so how do we expect to play and win consistently without the calibre of players being at the disposal of the coaching staff. As it relates to coaching, we would be forced then to hire quality coaches to shape our talented recruits. You can’t use a short order cook to train world class chefs.

So instead of largely depending on recruits, some of whom who would have only heard of Jamaica from stories passed on from previous generations, Jamaica would have had the benefit of cherry picking quality players for all positions when assembling a squad for a campaign such as the one we are currently engaged in. But that is not what has happened and is why we are now languishing at the bottom of the Hexagonal Round with only two of a maximum 15 points.

There will be the cry that Jamaica did not have the resources but consider this. Had the JFF with support from Government said to corporate Jamaica and to FIFA, “Look, we want to build a programme, here is our plan. We want to qualify for the 2010 World Cup but we have to start now,” money could have been raised to implement the system we needed to make good things happen. The problem, as it is with all things in this country is that we only live for now totally disregarding the future. That’s bad planning and where we fail to plan we plan to fail and that is what we are doing in this campaign; failing.

http://gleanerblogs.com/sports/?p=1954

It's nice to have but Jamaica does not necessarily need players in top clubs to qualify for the WC...our regional opponents don't have that either as our region is weak.

Jamaica needs quality players who play together over a long period in a consistent ball philosophy...using our competitive advantages of speed and what Simoes called "personality"...basically an aggressive, fighting spirit that doesn't back down...plus add a few committed foreigners fi dem experience in snow

Why do people like to complicate relatively simple concepts which have already been proved in practice???
    Last edited by Don1; June 14, 2013, 05:50 PM.

Where would these quality players ply their trade professionally ?

All of the teams in the X have players in the top leauges(not sure about Costa Rica) but all the other teams have players plying with big clubs in the EPL, SPL, La Liga or very good leagues.

There are very few players from top leagues in CONCACAF...the region is weak.

Having players in so called top leagues is not a prerequisite for qualification as the article appears to suggest...that's the point

Jamaica national side should be managed like a club...playing nuff games all ova since the NPL is inadequate preparation

We saw dat moggle 1994-97 ... Back tuh di fucha mi seh

You have not answered the question..

Where will these players ply their trade professionally ?

You have not answered the question..

Where will these players ply their trade professionally ?
                But wait...yuh waan mi predict di fucha??

Mi good...but nuh dat good

You can answer generally..

Which Regions/Continents... ?

Anywhere wid easy access to Kingston 6

Not so anymore.
                      http://www.ussoccer.com/teams/us-men...ning-camp.aspx

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/mexico-...tRAgQASiLQtDMD

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/...cup-qualifier/

Just 3 of the rosters and you will see how many players are playing in pretty good leagues. The region is not as weak as you think it is. You maybe talking 8 or 12 years ago. US performed in the last World Cup and Confederation cups and Mexico has produced at they youth stage in the last few tournaments including the Olympics.

Yuteman... wi naw talk "pretty good leagues" ...is "top leagues" wi ah deal wid. MLS, Mexican League an English Championship etc ah nuh top league to mi

There's a mere sprinkling of top leaguers inna di Hex... probly less dan 10 'mongst di 6 squad dem... bout 140 playa dat

wi nuh need nuh whole heap ah big balla inna dis likkle region.....yuhzimi?

USA have over 11 on their squad plying in good leagues in Europe. Mexico have about 6 and the Mexican league is better than many European league.
                          Costa has good players.

The fact is our league has represented us very well in FIFA competition. Most teams in most federation don't have 6-10 players playing in "Top leagues".

Only teams that do is some of the top European teams and top South American teams. Most Asian teams, African teams, and others don't.
                          Check the FIFA world competitions and you will see our teams have not done very bad. Last World Cup Ghana beat the US, The US drew with England. US made the Confed cup finals beating World Champions Spain. Mexico has consistently made it to the round of 16 falling to some very big teams.

Mexico won one youth under 17, Under 20, and Olympic gold in LONDON. so your argument is from 10 years ago, not now.

Under careful supervision, they would grow to develop into quality players that would eventually be exposed to and attract the best clubs in the world in the very top divisions where those skills could be sharpened and readied for our world cup campaigns. Looking at the current squad, there is not one player there who plays for a top club anywhere in the world.
                            yuh cyan read yute???????? dat article naw tawk bout an mi naw address "good leagues"....is top leagues wi ah tawk bout like EPL. La Liga, Serie A, Bundesliga ....dem dere league

MLS, Mexican League, English Championship, Scandinavian, Costa Rican etc....dem deh league ah nuh top league. Den again mebbe yuh feel seh dem mid-range competition deh ah top league...ah fi yuh problem dat

Now doan get mi inna nuh circular foolfool argument ova yuh misperception like ow mi dun outa sorts areddy wid dem bad news inna tracks
                            Last edited by Don1; June 15, 2013, 08:42 AM.

Again the US team and Mexico have at least 6 players each playing in good leagues.

The fact is our region is not weak. that is the basis of your argument. That is 10 years ago. Look at the finishing in World tournament.