Four to go:- hon-7; pan -6; jam-2 wide open!

• Four to go:- hon-7; pan -6; jam-2 wide open!

If Ja can get its act together and win a few games this is still wide open for number four, pan and hon both lost last night staying within grab distance and Ja plays pan next in pan, that would need to be a must win, hon plays mex in mex which could be a loss. Then cr in jamaica that also is a must win, tht would put us at eight and hon and pan play in their next match after which could well be a draw. Very possible if we can get rolling that jam has -8, hon -8 and pan -7 after next two matches.

Yep a lot of dreaming here but we must fight to the last.

If we can get into that TEAM-play as per our last Gold Cup...quickly before we resume our remaining fixtures then we have a chance.

Did you see the USA, Honduras, Costa Rica and Panama play yesterday? They all...winners and losers passed and moved well! Obviously the USA and Costa Rica passed and moved to better effect than their respective opponents...but they all did that moving and passing/passing and moving a 'million times' better than our best showing - that against Costa Rica!!!!

...as to their attacks on each others goal when compared to ours the Jamaican saying when commenting on regularity of attacks of our Reggae Boyz is, "dem nah try"!!!

We need our Boyz together at preparations - sad to say our preparations is still in early stage - starting NOW!

I would hardly say the door is "wide open". More like "slightly ajar".

And even though no team has ever made it to a 4th-place finish in the Hex with so few points after 6 games, you're right that the Boyz have to keep fighting as long as they're still mathematically alive.

Yes Karl, agree on the passing that is our fundamental weakness and many can't understand it or cross it, it is not emphasized enough in the lower levels and bottom line passing is a team game and not one of great individual glory unless you are the 'one creative mid' hosannas ring out on the mention of that.

Did you see Zusi exploiting the space on the flank, we have the speed and we can't do that and then the crossing of the ball while at top speed another thing we are poor at, the us goal was a thing of beauty and collapse of the Honduras defense, they opened up like as if the USA were guests in their 18 yard box.

I hear you, boss!
          Concepts are not grasped at the same speed by all students. ..but all students are inherently smart, therefore methods used to introduce the concepts must be presented in a way each student can grasp.

...btw - That silly refrain that Hue is our only player capable of making the 'killer pass' suggests the other players are dumb...or that the making of the 'killer pass' is due only to intuition...logic is only art form... Ridiculous, isn't it?

For those with such an outlook...and those who claim the USA has no creative players, please review that USA v Hon match?

For those who think Hue is the only player on our Jamaica TEAM that can make the 'killer pass' look no further than our last match and the chance created for Richard Austin which when he applied his finishing touch unfortunately hit the base of the right up-right (Howard's. left up-right) with the USA's 'keeper a mere spectator. ...review our matches and 'killer pass', inclusive of crosses, shall be seen to have come from many different of our players.

...back to Hue: His TEAM-mates failed to use him as well as they could - too many of their passes were not directly to his feet and were not when he had GOD only by his side. He is slow. We know that. They know that. Therefore they need to think on getting him the ball with GOD only by his side to buy him time to make his move/do his thing.

Hue also made the job difficult...he did not move as well off the ball as his pace demands. He needs to SLIDE INTO SPACE more often...to increase space between himself and opponents. Show in those open spaces as receipt passing option, OFTEN!!! ...VERY OFTEN!!! ...VERY, VERY OFTEN!!!

...of course our other players also need to make that space for selves and keep finding those open space showing for passes...constantly!!!

Aside: Hopefully we shall see a hard-working, energetic Jamie Lynch on the field with Hue at sometime in these Hex matches...surely the understanding they have at Harbour View FC be a plus when brought to serve our REGGAE BOYZ???

Assuming we win all our remaining matches or winning all save one draw...a part of having that 'door ajar' has to do with 'help from our opponents' USA and Mexico!!!

We need the USA to continue on the path of winning all their matches save one - (Guess which one?) - Mexico to come good and win all their remaining matches save that against the USA...OK! ...Mex can take that match against the USA and it would not affect us.

...with a few results among the others favorable, we could even make 3rd!!!
            Last edited by Karl; June 19, 2013, 10:26 AM.

Anyone can make the odd killer pass...even mi

Very few can make a killer pass consistently

We are... somebody

Keep hope alive

Anyone can make the odd killer pass...even mi

Very few can make a killer pass consistently
                  Yes...and Hue is not the only one in our squad who can do that.
                  - How many 'killer passes' has Hue made in these Hex matches? The answer may surprise you!!!

...would you term that number as showing an ability to make those passes consistently?

Anedda ting... "killer passes" can only be made consistently if the subject player plays consistently within a cohesive team where there's chemistry & understanding resulting in good player movement in (gasp! Thanks Stoni!)... space and time

If the receiver (or players in the vicinity who should be making deceptive runs providing multiple threats to the defence) is not in position or does not even recognize the ability or intent of the passer...no matter how brilliant the passer is he will probably not complete the pass....yuhzimi?

If we continue to try to try to merely parse items of Jamaica's play without relating them to the obvious systemic deficiencies we will fall into the silo effect trap.....which leads to a focus mainly on personalities and away from the system

It's not only the trees that matter...the forest is important
                    Last edited by Don1; June 19, 2013, 10:58 AM.

Anedda ting... "killer passes" can only be made consistently if the subject player plays consistently within a cohesive team where there's chemistry & understanding resulting in good player movement in (gasp! Thanks Stoni!)... space and time
                      Nice attempt at 'duck an hide'

If the receiver (or players in the vicinity who should be making deceptive runs providing multiple threats to the defence) is not in position or does not even recognize the ability or intent of the passer...no matter how brilliant the passer is he will probably not complete the pass....yuhzimi?

If we continue to try to try to merely parse items of Jamaica's play without relating them to the obvious systemic deficiencies we will fall into the silo effect trap.....which leads to a focus mainly on personalities and away from the system

It's not only the trees that matter...the forest is important
                      ...a truism!
                      ...but those 'killer passes' could be made even within the limited time he was on the field and with the obvious deficiencies that our 'last minute grab a squad' with lack of time for preparation brought to fore.

Since you wish to use the generic 'the passer', let me follow suit. The passer - we know he can pass nuh blurd-naught - failed to make 'killer passes' with consistency as a result of inability to act within the limited time and space available to him.

Some bray of the passer's wonderful game against the USA...a match within which the passer turned the ball over like was playing with a hot potato.

It is a TEAM game and the passer cannot to be totally at fault as knowing his pace and slownest to act his TEAM-mates should have...must...deliver balls to him that increases 'time and space' that allows ample time for him to act. So it is for all TEAM-mates. However no amount of 'ducking and hiding' will wash away the fact that within slower paced games against opponents slower to act - (such as our RSNL) - he performs as 'super-star'.

To point to those facts does not deride his attributes, it tells it as it is. It is for his REGGAE BOYZ team-mates and his coaches to make the adjustments that gets out of him...and dare I say, each other...the optimum performance he can attain for benefit of team member and the TEAM.
                      Last edited by Karl; June 19, 2013, 01:07 PM.

We are... somebody

Keep hope alive
                        Hope!
                        ...now Tappa has disappeared, is it not all we have?

You've got your work cut out though, because the Panamanians are not going to be a pushover on their own turf.

And come September they'll be looking to take a bite out of the Caribbean cupcake for the full 3 points...

Kiss teet

Karl...my post is not Hue-specific

I'm just pointing out the the real, systemic issues in RBZ football... not focusing on this or that personality