Aaaah.. If Winnie flop si di squad yah fi finish di Hex

• Aaaah.. If Winnie flop si di squad yah fi finish di Hex

...plus some odda locals like Hue, Powell, Dada etc... a local based team-in-waiting

Burrell ah read mi post dem...good going Horace

Burrell plans to offer Whitmore development squad
    Tappa for U-23s
    Sean Williams
    Sunday, July 21, 2013

There is the possibility of a continuing role for Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore in Jamaica’s coaching set-up, hinted JFF president Captain Horace Burrell.

The football boss made the comment at a function on Wednesday to present Whitmore's successor, German Winfried Schaffer, as head coach of the Boyz.

WHITMORE… has not done badly based on his track record

“Tappa still has a role to play... he’s a developing coach who is committed to the country’s football, and who I believe has a bright future,” Burrell told the Jamaica Observer.

“When you look at his track record, Mr Whitmore has not done badly, but at this time we believe we needed more experience and that is what we have gone for,” he said.

Burrell said there’s a proposal on the table to possibly appoint Whitmore as head coach of the development of the Under-23 squad, the group that would try to qualify for the Olympics and a direct feeder for the senior rank.
    “We plan to put him in charge of this crucial development team... also as part of his continued development, we will also be sending him on some courses,” Burrell disclosed.

“It’s unfortunate how things turned for Whitmore and the senior team, but there’s no animosity either way... there is a mutual respect and understanding that this is football at this level. He remains an asset that we intend to
    continue to invest in,” said the CONCACAF vice-president.

With Schafer coming on board and Jamaican Vin Blaine appointed his assistant, the new order would suggest that technical director Brazilian Alfredo Montesso would not have direct survey of the senior team, and with the possible appointment of Whitmore to the Under-23s, his focus now would be concentrated on the development side.

“The technical director is responsible for developing football at the various levels, and we believe that with his passion for development and his overall expertise and experience, Mr Montesso will be able to continue to serve our football in a significant way,” said Burrell.

Whitmore had resigned as head coach of the senior Boyz following a string of losses — four back-to-back in the CONCACAF hexagonal — which left Jamaica rooted at the bottom of the standings on two points.

Jamaica have four more games, starting with one away to Panama on September 6, to rescue their flagging Brazil 2014 World Cup campaign and clinch one of four possible qualifying spots.

Meanwhile, The USA lead the CONCACAF qualifying campaign with 13 points, followed by Costa Rica on 11, Mexico on eight, Honduras with seven, and Panama on six.

Don 1 read again under 23 not under 33, you don't want to see Dada and Hue on this side we want to see the fast, young, strong blazing guns we lose a ton of talent between high school and the guys who make it to the pro level, that is where this s going to be critical. Matter of fact if I was head of Jamaican football I would have a serious ranking system in. Place with an a, b, c,d,e teams, every guy who has some hope to make the team would be in one of those teams with a clear and transparent system for progression from one team to the next with very clear details on what is being looked for performance wise from each position. However I guess that is too much work and thinking to implement a real system.

A couple points Stoni:

1. It would not be wise to throw totally green yutes to the wolves without adult supervision.... it makes an embarrassing & dispiriting 6-0 type drubbing more likely...so a few experienced players like Hue are indicated. Mi cyan tek couple likkle 3-love results fi blood yute n yute...yuhzimi?

2. We have a fundamental disagreement re Dada.... im name General...yuhzimi
      I'm sure in Dada's case you would want to learn from and avoid the extreme mismanagement and disrespect that Jermaine was shown...dont??

Hear you, but like all The little birds up in the trees there comes a time they must fly you see, so it is fly or die, the result matters not, it is detrimental in the short term that is why we must have coaching and management with a process improvement focus, continually tightening screws where loose and reapplying pressure where necessary.

On Dada the time has come where e must emerge from his cocoon like a bat out of ell, we have other young birds that need to be fed!

I think it would be best for Whitmore & Jamaica's football if Burrell got him with a good, professional setup to lean how to coach & develop players (physically & mentally), strategies & effectively implement a game plan.

If you don't get your promising coaches the best training & experience, then your players suffer..........Poor teachers produce poor students.

yes but unfortunately that cannot occur before the Hex concludes

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
              Hear you, but like all The little birds up in the trees there comes a time they must fly you see, so it is fly or die, the result matters not, it is detrimental in the short term that is why we must have coaching and management with a process improvement focus, continually tightening screws where loose and reapplying pressure where necessary.

On Dada the time has come where e must emerge from his cocoon like a bat out of ell, we have other young birds that need to be fed!
              Playing say the last 2 games in an otherwise meaningless Hex campaign is not a "fly or die" situation... it's merely a good opportunity for exposure
              Last edited by Don1; July 22, 2013, 03:16 AM.