• Reggae Boyz Doc Out

Reggae Boyz Doc Out
    'Pee Wee' Fraser suspended over Hue's drug result
    Sunday, August 04, 2013

Dr Carlton Fraser, a member of the medical staff of the Jamaica Football Federation's (JFF) national teams, has been suspended as part of the ongoing investigation into the recent positive drug test returned by 'Reggae Boy' Jermaine Hue.

The Jamaica Observer understands that the 66-year-old Dr Fraser was sanctioned following a meeting of the JFF medical committee over a week-and-a-half ago, for his role in administering the banned drug to the unsuspecting player.

Dr Carlton “Pee Wee” Fraser shows journalists medication while on tour of Mexico in February. At right is the embattled Jermaine Hue. (PHOTO: GARFIELD ROBINSON)
    1/2

The 35-year-old Hue returned an adverse analytical finding on his urine sample taken following the World Cup Qualifying match away to Honduras on June 11. The banned drug is dexamethasone, a glucocorticoid.

Dr Fraser, more popularly known as 'Pee Wee', was unable to provide the Sunday Observer with any details. "I am forbidden from talking to the media during the investigation," was all Dr Fraser would say, when contacted yesterday.

It is understood that Dr Fraser was unaware that the drug that landed Hue in trouble was on the banned list of substances.

Chairman of the JFF's medical committee, Dr Guyan Arscott, asked for "patience", even as he promised to provide an update soon.

"We will send out some updates on it, so just be a little more patient with us," he said last week.

He added: "Well, clearly these things always have to be investigated locally and internationally. That's the normal route, but we will give you some more soon.

"Once we get past a certain stage I'll be a little more open for discussion with the media. Just begging you for a little more patience. I have not mentioned no names or anything yet, so just leave it at that. Let us be fair about it and you will be informed."

A source close to Dr Fraser told the Sunday Observer that the trained surgeon, who graduated from Howard University in 1975, was particularly concerned that Hue could face a possible two-year ban for being treated "for
    genuine indication".

The Sunday Observer was unable to obtain why the player was treated with dexamethasone. However, according to www.stanford.edu/group/hopes, natural glucocorticoids are steroid hormones with powerful anti-inflammatory effects produced by the human body. Glucocorticoids drugs are usually synthetic compounds that have anti-inflammatory effects similar to those of natural glucocorticoids.

The website further revealed that while glucocorticoid drugs are steroids, they are unlike the anabolic steroids that some athletes take to build up and increase their muscle mass. Glucocorticoids are catabolic steroids, which means that they are designed to break down the body's stored resources through their various metabolic effects. As stated above, glucocorticoids have two principal effects in the body: metabolic and anti-inflammatory. It therefore follows that glucocorticoid drugs affect both metabolism and inflammation.

Hue did not participate in the game against Honduras, but was one of the two obligatory random selections for drug testing at every international game.
    The testing was conducted by FIFA, and the ensuing process will be managed by the world governing body.

It is understood that the player, who is said to be off the island, has waived his rights to having the 'B' sample tested at the lab in Bogota, Colombia.

The JFF had earlier acknowledged that a player returned the adverse analytical finding, adding in a statement on Wednesday, July 24 that "the player has been informed and we await further information from FIFA.

"The JFF has taken this matter very seriously and a thorough investigation has already started by the chairman of the JFF medical committee," the statement added.

The dreadlocked Fraser, a former personal friend of Reggae great, Robert Nesta 'Bob' Marley, also served as Marley's medical doctor up to the time of the legend's death from cancer in 1981. Dr Fraser, who now practises integrative medicine, started working with the JFF as team doctor for the Under-17s in 2007, and was on the Reggae Boyz's bench as team doctor for the first time in a friendly game against Panama here at Kingston's National Stadium on June 7, 2009.

Hue, who for many years represented Harbour View in the National Premier League, is said to
    be distraught.

"I think there are extenuating circumstances. It is a sensitive matter and we have to try and protect the player and everybody, but I hope that things will work out in a way where it won't affect him. If you want to play, but you have some pain and you are sick and a doctor gives you something to help you, nobody can hold you responsible," JFF president Captain Horace Burrell had told the press after news of the positive finding broke.

FIFA's chief medical officer Jiri Dvorak, who it is said, is leading the investigation, only last Friday insisted that doping is not a significant problem in football.

"I am confident that there is no systematic doping in football," he told FIFA's official website on Friday. "There is no systematic doping culture in football. I am confident of this.

"Of course there are individual cases, for sure. We do more than 30,000 sampling procedures every year and we have between 70 to 90 positive cases, most of them for marijuana and cocaine, and we also have anabolic steroids, but these are individual cases."

FIFA launched biological profiling back in February, similar to the biological passport in cycling.

It was tested at June's Confederations Cup, and will be again at next year's World Cup.

Dvorak says FIFA will try to get other organisations on board.

"And now we are also in discussion with UEFA and other confederations to start this biological profile in the confederations, so all the top players will be registered," he added.

"And if we have a suspicion, then we go into the more intelligent and targeted testing."

The football doping revelation followed news the previous week of five Jamaican athletes, who all returned positive results, among them revered sprinter and former world record holder over 100 metres, Asafa Powell, and Olympic 100-metre silver medallist Sherone Simpson.

Both tested positive for the banned stimulant, oxilofrine.

Jamaica's next World Cup qualification match is an away fixture to Panama on September 6.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2azrWDDp7

Can't say mi never did tell unnu. Redemption for the player. I hear the player got some IV so he had no choice in the matter.

Maybe he requested a certain substance in the drip?

Dunno, just asking!

Nothing serious in my book.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

LOL. And it just so happen that it had to be Doc who was Bob's friend. A wonder if is some herb therapy?

Maybe X can tell we.

Well, your book may not count. If the athlete, as in T&F, is ultimately responsible, then maybe Hue may not be able to escape a ban of at least a few months.

Maybe he requested a certain substance in the drip?

Dunno, just asking!
              A source known to ingest then regurgitate droppings from a certain Horse's Ass suggested that Hue's senior citizen status and attendant diminishing skills n fitness precipitated this situation

Can anyone shed any light on this Asinine Allegation? Wooooooiiieee
              Last edited by Don1; August 4, 2013, 08:58 AM.

Possible.

I would suggest that some of his teammates, including some UB40s, should seek out similar substances along with their respective masking agents, of course. Because dem coulda use some help demself!

Well a suh it set.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Well, your book may not count. If the athlete, as in T&F, is ultimately responsible, then maybe Hue may not be able to escape a ban of at least a few months.
                    All these athletic bodies put the onus on the athlete...but it is a silly stance.
                    The entire matter of anti-doping as a 'crime' as per the use of natural or synthetic substances to improve performances is 'nonsense policy'.

btw - This matter of assuming the athlete is 'guilty' and must then prove innocence is crazy. This Hue case as reported in the above leading thread is just another example of the craziness.

Also if as these world bodies claim the athlete is always to be blamed for any finding of "adverse analytical finding" then it is not joke the suggestion that once an athlete decides to enter competition he/she should just stop eating, drinking or being treated for any illness...as it is impossible for an athlete to eliminate the possibility of 'banned substances' being introduced into his/her body when going about his/her daily life.

The entire premise behind the athlete being 'drug free' rests on the athlete having total control of everything ingested and each and everything administered to that athlete by the professionals trained so to do...what any sane individual or group of individuals would term "an impossible situation".

Another conflict - The matter of each individual striving for 'healthy body and healthy mind' and the medically recommended and prescribed treatments so to do also raises questions of relationship with the conflicts inherent with an athlete's attempt to remain 'drug free' and that of attaining best health status. Are athletes being asked to forego practices or treatments to protect life and limb to not fall afoul of penalties administered by the athletic bodies that govern the sport?

Finally the matter of national athlete bodies claiming that the entire anti-doping drive is to 'make competitions fair' or 'level the laying field' is a hoax. The playing field is never level...never has been and never shall be....entirely impossible. The rules under which the game is actually played, e.g. track size, shape, dimensions and weight of hammer...or size of football field, markings on same, equipment on field, equipment players wear, etc. can be regularized but 'level playing field' on preparation of and how the individual athlete develops and optimum quality of performance gained by each? Nonsense!!!

The playing field can never be level...we have to look no further than disparity in wealth, quality of administrators, quality of coaches, access to support - nutrition, equipment, training facilities, access to quality preparation...etc., etc.

Aside: Hell --- Just compare our JFF administrators work on development of our talents and development of our national teams...and results when compared with accepted top standards? Level playing field?

I agree with you entirely!

All these athletic bodies put the onus on the athlete...but it is a silly stance.
                        The entire matter of anti-doping as a 'crime' as per the use of natural or synthetic substances to improve performances is 'nonsense policy'.

btw - This matter of assuming the athlete is 'guilty' and must then prove innocence is crazy. This Hue case as reported in the above leading thread is just another example of the craziness.

Also if as these world bodies claim the athlete is always to be blamed for any finding of "adverse analytical finding" then it is not joke the suggestion that once an athlete decides to enter competition he/she should just stop eating, drinking or being treated for any illness...as it is impossible for an athlete to eliminate the possibility of 'banned substances' being introduced into his/her body when going about his/her daily life.

The entire premise behind the athlete being 'drug free' rests on the athlete having total control of everything ingested and each and everything administered to that athlete by the professionals trained so to do...what any sane individual or group of individuals would term "an impossible situation".

Another conflict - The matter of each individual striving for 'healthy body and healthy mind' and the medically recommended and prescribed treatments so to do also raises questions of relationship with the conflicts inherent with an athlete's attempt to remain 'drug free' and that of attaining best health status. Are athletes being asked to forego practices or treatments to protect life and limb to not fall afoul of penalties administered by the athletic bodies that govern the sport?

Finally the matter of national athlete bodies claiming that the entire anti-doping drive is to 'make competitions fair' or 'level the laying field' is a hoax. The playing field is never level...never has been and never shall be....entirely impossible. The rules under which the game is actually played, e.g. track size, shape, dimensions and weight of hammer...or size of football field, markings on same, equipment on field, equipment players wear, etc. can be regularized but 'level playing field' on preparation of and how the individual athlete develops and optimum quality of performance gained by each? Nonsense!!!

The playing field can never be level...we have to look no further than disparity in wealth, quality of administrators, quality of coaches, access to support - nutrition, equipment, training facilities, access to quality preparation...etc., etc.

Aside: Hell --- Just compare our JFF administrators work on development of our talents and development of our national teams...and results when compared with accepted top standards? Level playing field?
                        well said KARL !!!

So he didn't take a banned anti-inflammatory to get back on the field? Dats what happen when yuh read my posts and instead of addressing them at the time let the badmind build up in you over the weeks...woieeee we have two horse's ass on the forum now to rhattid...

****! Mi haffi sen regrets tuh di original Horse's Ass. Mi ah mix up di two ah unnu.... but di droppings ah really fi yuh.

There is no evidence that Hue "took" anything to enhance performance. There is a report that a substance was administered to him by an ignorant medic... who has since been relieved.

It appears your uninformed speculatipns are just that.

Continue the folly and you'll be entering Horse's Ass territory
                            Last edited by Don1; August 4, 2013, 05:30 PM.

woieee...di man test positive for a banned anti-inflammatory that he took to recover from an injury and Horse's Ass redux seh there is no evidence he took anything to enhance his performance...so why does one take an anti-inflammatory when injured? lemme guess dem did slip it into him morning coffee without him knowing...woieeeee...