• BoyU's Rooney?

Manchester United turn down second Wayne Rooney bid from Chelsea

• Bid believed to be £25m plus add-ons for Rooney
    • England striker not in squad to play AIK on Tuesday

Press Association

Manchester United have rejected a second bid from Chelsea for striker Wayne Rooney, the club have confirmed.

Chelsea put forward an offer for the England forward on Sunday, thought to be around £25m plus add-ons that would take the deal towards somewhere near the £30m mark, but it was immediately rejected.

A United spokesman said: "A bid was received yesterday and immediately rejected. Our position remains that he is not for sale."

The second bid and United's swift response will now focus Rooney's mind on his future at Old Trafford – there have been reports that he will consider handing in an official transfer request. The Chelsea manager, José Mourinho, has made the 27-year-old his top transfer target and Rooney told the former United manager Sir Alex Ferguson last season that he wanted a move.
    Chelsea's goalkeeper Petr Cech has also welcomed the club's pursuit of Rooney.

David Moyes has repeatedly stressed that Rooney is not for sale. The player, however, was unimpressed by the manager's remarks that he would effectively have to be an understudy to Robin van Persie.

Rooney has been left out of the squad to face AIK in a friendly against Stockholm on Tuesday, with Moyes saying: "Wayne hurt his shoulder in a fall during a match on Saturday. It's not too serious and I don't expect it to keep him out for too long. I'm disappointed he's missing the game because we were keen to get him back involved and ready to play."

United rejected the first bid, believed to be around £20m, from Chelsea last month.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/...united-chelsea

Manchester United turn down second Wayne Rooney bid from Chelsea

• Bid believed to be £25m plus add-ons for Rooney
    • England striker not in squad to play AIK on Tuesday

Press Association
    Manchester United have rejected a second bid from Chelsea for striker Wayne Rooney, the club have confirmed.

Chelsea put forward an offer for the England forward on Sunday, thought to be around £25m plus add-ons that would take the deal towards somewhere near the £30m mark, but it was immediately rejected.

A United spokesman said: "A bid was received yesterday and immediately rejected. Our position remains that he is not for sale."

The second bid and United's swift response will now focus Rooney's mind on his future at Old Trafford – there have been reports that he will consider handing in an official transfer request. The Chelsea manager, José Mourinho, has made the 27-year-old his top transfer target and Rooney told the former United manager Sir Alex Ferguson last season that he wanted a move.
    Chelsea's goalkeeper Petr Cech has also welcomed the club's pursuit of Rooney.

David Moyes has repeatedly stressed that Rooney is not for sale. The player, however, was unimpressed by the manager's remarks that he would effectively have to be an understudy to Robin van Persie.

Rooney has been left out of the squad to face AIK in a friendly against Stockholm on Tuesday, with Moyes saying: "Wayne hurt his shoulder in a fall during a match on Saturday. It's not too serious and I don't expect it to keep him out for too long. I'm disappointed he's missing the game because we were keen to get him back involved and ready to play."

United rejected the first bid, believed to be around £20m, from Chelsea last month.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/...united-chelsea

Was at the Giants Stadium yesterday and many of the Chelsea fans are talking about when Rooney arrives. I have to ask if it was the Rooney fellow that was a member of the Reb Bulls.

This is the problem I have with MU, this offer should have been ignored and at the next press conference Moyes should have made fun of Chelsea.

Like hell he isn't for sale...Rooney is going to sulk until they have to sell him...

Who said he is sulking? I read where he doesn't want to leave, but I guess that isn't sensational news.

Wasn't he playing golf in England when he was supposed to have been injured?

Mi never play golf yet, does a hamstring injury prevent you from playing golf? He played against Betis in the last game, notice you said nothing about that.

Don't think he will leave. Rooney bleeds ManU through and through. It's pre-season and news papers have to sell....

Rio's point is spot on ...

"I don't see where you go better from here," Ferdinand said. "For instance, Cristiano has been ridiculous as a football player individually, but has he won more trophies since leaving than what we've won?"

HL are you taking the mickey out of Jangle and Lazie?

If he went to Bayern last season he would have had two more trophies than if he was at Boy U...not sure the point here

"not sure the point here "

You made the post ... if you fail to see your point ....

better yuh just ignored the post...where could he go and win more trophies than at Boy U? Bayern...they won more trophies than Boy U last year...duh

Rio presented facts. In your previous post you started with "IF" don't tek up what you cannot manage.

Rio presented facts? He presumed they would have won "if" Ronaldo had stayed...critical thinking bro...come on try keep up...

Naaw.

There are some players who just breathes the club they play for. If he leaves, it's best he plays for a team in 'Europe'. I just cant see Rooney dressed in Chelsea Blue or any other EPL color....

I am sure you recall last season ...the circus around if he would play for ManU or not