• The little matter of rejection - JFF's financial statements

Delegates reject JFF financial statements
    published: Wednesday | May 2, 2007

Howard Walker, Staff Reporter
    THE AUDITED financial statements of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) for the year 2005 were again rejected by its delegates at its extraordinary congress at the weekend. The statements were first rejected at the JFF's non-voting congress in February.

Rudolph Speid, the JFF treasurer, views the rejection as 'political' since this is a voting year.

However, the delegates countered saying the financial statements were nothing but "an election-year statement" and were inadequate.

At Sunday's extraordinary congress meeting at the Fede-ration's offices in New Kingston, the delegates rejected the financial statement presented to them by a vote of 42-31.

"It is election year and this is some muscle flexing. They were just getting into election mode and wanted to make a point," said Speid.

The rejection came as a result of the auditors' report which stated in part that due to inadequate supporting documentation, they were unable to verify satisfactorily the completeness, accuracy and existence of trade and other receivables.

But one delegate, Danny Beckford, president of theSt. Ann Football Association, told The Gleaner that what the JFF offered was an election-year statement.

Said Beckford: "This is an election year and the first thing they gave us we took it as gospel, then they changed it and brought back something rosier. But the differences were significant as some of them were in the millions of dollars. That would be hard to justify.

Speid said the delegates had all rights to scrutinise the statement but all the questions were answered.

"They are within their rights but it was unfortunate. The delegates' rejection wasn't because the accounts were wrong or anything. They could not put their hands on any one item in the balance sheet or the profit and loss that was incorrect," he said.

With this rejection of the financial statement by the delegates, the JFF will be holding another meeting in 60 days with the hope of clarifying the problem.

Arising out of the meeting, congress also accepted the proposal put forward to regularise the voting congress to fall in line with the World Cup year.
    What this means is that the next administration will have a three-year tenure instead of the usual four years leading up to 2010.

Re: The little matter of rejection - JFF's financial stateme

I wonder what size figures are being questioned? ...and, as a percentage of funds being handled?

Aside: If, as Spied says, the rejection is along lines of 'political flexing of muscles', does not look pretty for the incumbent.

Delegates reject JFF financial statements
      published: Wednesday | May 2, 2007

Howard Walker, Staff Reporter
      THE AUDITED financial statements of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) for the year 2005 were again rejected by its delegates at its extraordinary congress at the weekend. The statements were first rejected at the JFF's non-voting congress in February.

Rudolph Speid, the JFF treasurer, views the rejection as 'political' since this is a voting year.

However, the delegates countered saying the financial statements were nothing but "an election-year statement" and were inadequate.

At Sunday's extraordinary congress meeting at the Fede-ration's offices in New Kingston, the delegates rejected the financial statement presented to them by a vote of 42-31.

"It is election year and this is some muscle flexing. They were just getting into election mode and wanted to make a point," said Speid.

The rejection came as a result of the auditors' report which stated in part that due to inadequate supporting documentation, they were unable to verify satisfactorily the completeness, accuracy and existence of trade and other receivables.

But one delegate, Danny Beckford, president of theSt. Ann Football Association, told The Gleaner that what the JFF offered was an election-year statement.

Said Beckford: "This is an election year and the first thing they gave us we took it as gospel, then they changed it and brought back something rosier. But the differences were significant as some of them were in the millions of dollars. That would be hard to justify.

Speid said the delegates had all rights to scrutinise the statement but all the questions were answered.

"They are within their rights but it was unfortunate. The delegates' rejection wasn't because the accounts were wrong or anything. They could not put their hands on any one item in the balance sheet or the profit and loss that was incorrect," he said.

With this rejection of the financial statement by the delegates, the JFF will be holding another meeting in 60 days with the hope of clarifying the problem.

Arising out of the meeting, congress also accepted the proposal put forward to regularise the voting congress to fall in line with the World Cup year.
      What this means is that the next administration will have a three-year tenure instead of the usual four years leading up to 2010.

Are you kidding me ? 2005 ? 2005 ? isn't this 2007 ? why would we be discussing the numbers from 2 yrs ago now ? is just now those numbers come out ? so when will we talk about the 06 numbers in 2009 ?

This is why I find it hard to continue to support the Jamaican football powers.

Damn, methinks dem was rejecting Omar Davies' financial figures.

The sad thing about this, in this land of ours where everybody dons some tribal gear, we might never know if the report should be rejected fi real, or if...cho. Cyaan bodda.

And then we talk about 5% growth. Can't happen! We just refuse to do what's best for Jamaica and for Jamaica's football.

While I have high regards for Rudy Spied this is sloppy work by the JFF as documents need to be provided for income and expenses Mosiah. By not getting everything togather in the first place it only gives the opposition more ammunition.

You sometimes think you live in a world where everybody is friend and no opposition? Just look how the presidential hopefuls in each party behave amongst their peers. Do you think Butch and the Issa them have tourism at heart?

Boxhill and crew just need fi do them work right and that will illiminate some of the petty stuff.

A joke ting dis...It took Speid a year to manipulate the numbers; how many times were the same statements audited? If the auditors rejected the statements because the entries were unsubstantiated, did Speid change/delete entries and then resubmit to the auditors. I would like to see the cash flow statement for 2005, because there was nothing to verify as not much was happening. Numbers may be deceptive but they never lie, one whole year and the numbers still nuh mek it...a joke ting dis
              Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
              Mitty

Good point, Sass!

Butch and Issa, though being fierce competitors, will never do anything to hurt tourism. Likewise the Democrats and the Republicans - America comes first.

Not so in this dear land of ours. Take whatever issue - Portmore toll, JFJ, bad roads - it doesn't matter, we will align ourselves politically about it first, even while our pockets suffer. Hell, that's the very reason why some of us, no matter what, will always vote PNP and others JLP. Jamaica is secondary, if so high!

The people involved in local football are no different!

you have no idea why this happen?

This is because all scare resources are delivered via the JLP and PNP.

Why is it the MPs have to decide who get relief, jobs, and housing?

This is not the case in America and that is the reason why there is not this divide. Everything from contracts, to death benefits are give by your MP, that is the kind of society we build so that is what we reap.

Boxhill is also a product of this system and it is also a part of why he was elected. Did he expect to win hearts and mind by his performance?

Not arguing the whys. Just pointing out that it happens!