How the Class System and Foreign Mind Syndrome sank Jamaica

• How the Class System and Foreign Mind Syndrome sank Jamaica

A mere 2 years ago under Tappa Whitmore, away from home and in the region's best competition other than WCQ... Jamaica played eyecatching, compact football...with VERY encouraging results in the Gold Cup. The team was comprised almost entirely of players who had grown up playing ball in Jamaica.

Today Jamaican ball is ugly, disjointed and ineffective.... plus we're floundering at the bottom of the regional pile. Up to 80% of the starters are relative strangers.... Jamaicans by convenience with passports hot off the print press.

What happened?? Or rather...what SHOULD have happened???

If Tappa Whitmore had been given the support of the JFF and the public when things got tough...whether via additional coaching resources, money for camps & friendlies...and non-interference in player selection.... Jamaica may or may not have been in an improved position in WCQ...but our football development would have been further along without a doubt.

As a Black man from modest circumstances...in Jamaica's class conscious cesspool, Tappa was an easy target for manipulation by those with an agenda...and an easy person to ignore when there was the need for moral and material support to stay and improve the promising trajectory he had placed Jamaica on in 2011.

Instead in 2013, for a team we're left mainly with a motley, insipid collection of very average Englishmen (apart from a few exceptions) who know neither how to find the first notes to the Jamaican national anthem... nor the back of the net.

A sad state of affairs in the Banana Republic of Jamaica... Cry mi affi cry fi di yutes
    Last edited by Don1; September 12, 2013, 08:45 PM.

Tappa should have spoke up , he is culpable for being a wimp, this influx of a bagga englishman in dis round is nothing short of a disgrace.

We deserve to be at the bottom , that was planning to fail and Burrell succeeded emphatically, onward to the next campaign with same failed policies.

Mi give up.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Tappa should have spoke up , he is culpable for being a wimp, this influx of a bagga englishman in dis round is nothing short of a disgrace.

We deserve to be at the bottom , that was planning to fail and Burrell succeeded emphatically, onward to the next campaign with same failed policies.

Mi give up.
      If he spoke up.... yuh agguh gi im a werk inna ball?? Im agguh get werk inna sitten else?

Im career as one coach wudda dun...intamede ... yuhzimi?

Sorry fi you cause me tek the last spot pon HL & me bredrin Zeppito waggon.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

agreed with don 1 .

Can I paraphrase your topic?

How inept JFF management stalled progress of the development of a Football Industry in Jamaica!

Really nice post by Don1.

I disagree. Tappa was a weak coach. He was weak in imparting his ideas to the players, the management team and the media, and he was also very weak tactically. He performed admirably with the little support that he was given, but it was only a matter of time before his true weaknesses would have been found out once he got to the Hex and started player better quality teams. He was the right man for the job given our situation.....wait, let me rephrase that....he was the only man for the job at the time. However, we all knew that it was just a band-aid over our gaping wound. Tappa is not qualified for the job of head coach of a national side. And again, I will reiterate, he performed admirably with the little support that he was given. We need a QUALIFIED foreign coach or a QUALIFIED Jamaican-born coach who has the experience working in a foreign professional setup. In Winnie, we have a coach that meets the requirement. His resume speaks for itself. He needs to be given an extended run where he can get to know our local players, our culture, and the money men in order to implement his ideas and philosophy. He has already shown signs of being an improvement over Tappa. He needs at least two years.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

=Jangle;444966]I disagree. Tappa was a weak coach. He was weak in imparting his ideas to the players, the management team and the media, and he was also very weak tactically.
                  The Gold Cup display & historic results in WCQ against USA & Mexico shred this argument

He performed admirably with the little support that he was given, but it was only a matter of time before his true weaknesses would have been found out once he got to the Hex and started player better quality teams. He was the right man for the job given our situation.....wait, let me rephrase that....he was the only man for the job at the time.

LOL... better teams in the Hex?? The 2011 Gold Cup had ALL the teams in the 2013 Hex. We were not where we needed to be but we were definitely on a great path with that group

The big difference in circumstances now is that Jamaica is overrun with Englishmen playing poor tennis and not good football

However, we all knew that it was just a band-aid over our gaping wound.
                  Tappa has weaknesses...but..Jamaica's gaping wound was not Whitmore ...he's the classic fall guy. You may choose to fall for that tho

The gaping wound is the JFF's bungling. Your disapproval is better directed to them

Tappa is not qualified for the job of head coach of a national side. And again, I will reiterate, he performed admirably with the little support that he was given. We need a QUALIFIED foreign coach or a QUALIFIED Jamaican-born coach who has the experience working in a foreign professional setup. In Winnie, we have a coach that meets the requirement. His resume speaks for itself. He needs to be given an extended run where he can get to know our local players, our culture, and the money men in order to implement his ideas and philosophy. He has already shown signs of being an improvement over Tappa. He needs at least two years.
                  This is a misunderstanding of the salient issues in Jamaican football that helps lead to the nonsense we've seen for 15 years.

Whether or not Whitmore is the best coach for Jamaica is an interesting question....but that's not the key variable in this latest WCQ disaster.... nor in our overall continued underdevelopment which is the more important issue

Jamaica can continue believing that "coach nuh good" excuse (orchestrated by the lack of JFF support & its interference in player selection) or come to the correct realization that the key problem is the JFF and their backward leadership
                  Last edited by Don1; September 13, 2013, 03:06 AM.

Right on point again, Don1

Sorry, Jangle: Don1 is also correct in that the type reasoning you put forth above distract from the real problem, JFF's ineptness.

How does this shred it. In the Gold Cup much was not expected of us and we surprised and played well. The other coaches saw what we were doing but Tappa was not able to raise to the next level. He should continue learning and get more opportunity but anybody who said our shape and discipline in the recent Caribbean Cup and qualifers except Mexico game, is joking.

The support of JFF makes it harder but even though Tappa tried he needed a little more.

Suh yuh saying that one had to be of certain complexion to play forward (thus score goals for Ja)? In this year of 2013? Ja's education system needs a serious revolution. I was shocked and tried to ignore certain evidence that was staring me in the face. Some man juss march on an start full 90 mins no question. woieeeee.

Lets not make too much of that Gold Cup performance, bottom line is we were tumbled out like quite easily by USA.

Again our main failing has been discipline in defending, much as it has been throughout this hex, we were right in the mix and competing, much as we have not been scoring goals if we had not given away two points in mex, two points vs pan in jam, at least two in cr, and on and on, our inability to defend at critical points especially the loss at home to mex where the man saunter through the box untouched, hairstyle still in place and scored easily, all tactical errors which could have been eliminated with more time together, a deeper bench a etc etc.

All those points we gave away in those losses opened up the hex wide, yes it is our fault, we open the gate for cr, USA and Honduras with our weak play and poor defending in those games. Take away half of those mistakes and this hex is still a competitive race with no one qualified as yet for Brazil. Hex is a defensive struggle, not ruled by great attacking prowess, he who blinks first loses and we were blinking like a strobe light at the club.

Tappa achieved many firsts, he was good but I also think he got comfortable and as all of us have a tendency to do, ego may have become an issue.

Do you and Sass understand the meaning of the word "trajectory"??? It appears you don't. Mek mi elp unnu

tra·jec·to·ry (tr-jkt-r)
                            n. pl. tra·jec·to·ries
                            a. The path of a projectile or other moving body through space.
                            b. A chosen or taken course:
                            As I said...we were on a great trajectory in 2011...but not yet where we needed to be. You 2 buy into the personality issue of this or that coach when Jamaica's problem is systemic in nature...i.e JFF ineptitude

The JFF policy of mass importation of largely ineffectual Snow Ballas destroyed our 2011 trajectory completely. That stupidity you support has set our program back 3 years at least
                            Last edited by Don1; September 13, 2013, 10:02 AM.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                              Lets not make too much of that Gold Cup performance, bottom line is we were tumbled out like quite easily by USA.
                              Yuhseeit...but that's what yappers do...yap...