How sick can Fergie be .....dis bredda beyound di grave.

• How sick can Fergie be .....dis bredda beyound di grave.

The stinging attack on Liverpool: Rodgers needs EIGHT more players to win the title, Rafa is a Billy no mates and Gerrard isn't a top star

By MATT LAWTON and IAN LADYMAN
    PUBLISHED: 08:00 EST, 22 October 2013 | UPDATED: 08:34 EST, 22 October 2013

36 shares

Sir Alex Ferguson tears into bitter rivals Liverpool in his new autobiography, claiming Brendan Rodgers is 'eight players short of becoming genuine title contenders'.
    Nobody at Anfield is spared, with Rafa Benitez described as a ‘silly man’ and a control freak who has no friends in management.
    But there is wider criticism for Liverpool as a club over the Luis Suarez affair and even the appointment of Rodgers as manager.
    Scroll down for video of Sir Alex Ferguson's press conference

Not even close: Sir Alex Ferguson believes Liverpool are eight players short of a title-winning side

Turn up: Brendan Rodgers' side are currently ahead of David Moyes' Manchester United

Scathing: Ferguson launched an attack on Liverpool in his autobiography

Ferguson also dares suggest that Michael Owen became a better player once he had joined Manchester United and dismisses the qualities of Kenny Dalglish signings Stewart Downing, Jordan Henderson and Andy Carroll.

But his most scathing words are reserved for Benitez, whom he says would rather destroy a game than win it and claims his own players could not understand what he was saying from the touchline. He also says he consistently played Steven Gerrard in the wrong position.
    While he says he could see a strategy in the signings Gerard Houllier made at Liverpool, he could see nothing of the kind during Benitez’s tenure.
    He describes Benitez’s team as the ‘most unimaginative Liverpool side I ever went up against’. ‘The mistake he made was to turn our rivalry personal. Once you made it personal, you had no chance, because I could wait. I had success on my side.’

He also claims the famous ‘facts’ press conference was staged with a planted questions, adding that ‘the facts were all wrong’.

He says Benitez showed no interest in forming relationships with other managers, declaring it a ‘dangerous policy’. He also criticises the Spaniard’s transfer policy, questioning the quality of the players as ‘not of true Liverpool standard’.

Boring! Rafa Benitez was more interested in killing games than entertaining supporters

At what cost? Benitez won the 2005 Champions League against AC Milan

Sir Alex Ferguson: Once United get going they'll be fine

One Benitez signing he does compliment is Fernando Torres, a player he tried to sign two years before his arrival at Liverpool. He describes him as a player of a ‘great cunning’, a ‘touch of evil’.
    On Gerrard, Ferguson says he was ‘baffled’ that Benitez ‘did not trust’ his captain as a central midfield player. He says Liverpool have stopped producing home-grown talents, identifying Owen as probably the last but Ferguson is sure to incense Liverpool for claming that had the player joined United at 12 years old he ‘would have been one of the great strikers’.
    He does credit Benitez with getting his players to work for him, acknowledging that you never see one of his teams ‘throw in the towel’.
    But he adds ‘Benitez had more regard for defending and destroying a game than winning it’.

Best of enemies: Ferguson and Benitez are well-known for not seeing eye-to-eye

He says Jose Mourinho was more astute with dealing with players.
    On Dalglish’s return to Anfield, Ferguson says few of the Liverpool manager’s signings gave him nightmares. Ferguson believes Henderson’s gait will cause him problems later in his career because he runs from his knees with a straight back.
    He identifies Downing as a £20million player who was neither the bravest, nor the quickest. He is no fan of Carroll either, citing problems with his ‘mobility’ and ‘his speed across the ground’.
    He also criticises Dalglish for his blind defence of Suarez over the Patrice Evra race row. ‘If it had been a reserve player, would Kenny have gone to such lengths to defend him?’
    On the Suarez T-shirt stunt, Ferguson adds: ‘I thought it was the most ridiculous thing for a club of Liverpool’s stature.’

Billy no mates: Ferguson says Benitez is a control freak and has no friendships with other managers

He expresses surprise that Rodgers was appointed as Dalglish’s replacement, given that he was ‘only’ 39 years old. He also highlights the American fly-on-the-wall documentary that followed Rodgers at the start of his tenure as a ‘mistake’.
    Meanwhile, Gerrard is not a 'top, top player,' according to Ferguson.
    The former Manchester United manager felt the England captain 'seldom had a kick' when coming up against a midfield of Roy Keane and Paul Scholes.

But despite this, Ferguson admits he did try to sign the Liverpool captain when word reached Old Trafford in 2005 that his days at Anfield were numbered.

Among considered musings about Gerrard, Ferguson questions why he was not played centrally more often under Rafael Benitez - who often positioned him out wide - and claims he was the only midfielder who could hurt United with bursts forward through the heart of his team's defence.

Trouble: Ferguson revealed Steven Gerrard was a force but struggled against Roy Keane and Paul Scholes

Image problem: The only reason Michael Carrick isn't revered like Gerrard is his quiet style, argues Ferguson

Goal: Gerrard has always been Liverpool's major threat at Old Trafford

No deal: Ferguson tried to sign Gerrard but it reached a dead end

He concluded Gerrard had the ability to beat team's single-handedly.
    But he suggests Gerrard only had more success at international level than Michael Carrick because of 'bravado', with the United man suffering because of a quiet personality.
    Likewise, Ferguson believes Frank Lampard deserves credit for his club performances, but doesn't not consider the Chelsea midfielder an 'elite international footballer'.
    Gerrard has spoken of Ferguson's desire to sign him from Liverpool and the story is confirmed in the Scotsman's autobiography.
    'We made a show of him in the transfer market, as did Chelsea, because the vibe was that he wanted to move from Anfield,' writes Ferguson.

'But there seemed to be some restraining influence from people outside the club and it reached a dead end.'

My Autobiography by Sir Alex Ferguson published by Hodder & Stoughton on
    October 24, priced £25

More...
    FERGIE BOOK BETTING SPECIALS

Click on the links below to bet with Coral NOW!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

£25 is expensive toilet paper!

Get the paperback!

With the exception of Gerrard, what you disagree with?

He was right on Gerrard too,always thought his fame to glory would come from being fielded in the middle of the.....

Everything said here is spot on. What's the problem???
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Everything said here is spot on. What's the problem???
              I do disagree that Gerrard isn't a top star. He is one midfielder that should be feared.

Glad to know he values pool so highly as to tear us apart, bredda need help,wha Rafa/Pool do im suh ?.....according to him Rafa is juss a trainer,man team run hard .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Mek dem man deh guh dash whe dem money an guh buy dat garbage... who wants to read the rantings of a demagogue?? If I want to read his biographical information (and heavens knows I have no inclination to do so) there's Wikipedia!

Obsession :Alex Ferguson: Former Chelsea and Liverpool boss Rafa Benitez a "control freak"

SIR ALEX FERGUSON has used his latest autobiography to dismiss his former rival Rafa Benitez as a “control freak” who saw the battle for Premier League supremacy as a direct confrontation between the two managers.

By: Matthew Dunn
                    Published: Tue, October 22, 2013

Comments

Rafa Benitez has been described as a 'control freak' by Sir Alex Ferguson [GETTY]
                    Benitez famously ranted at Sir Alex Ferguson in January 2009 with a list of criticisms which he punctuated with the word “fact” – a speech that has been widely pilloried ever since.

Dismissively, in the book, Ferguson said the entire episode merely served to make him look like a “silly man”.

The pair locked horns throughout the Spaniard’s six-year tenure at Liverpool as Benitez struggled – save for the famous Champions League win of 2005 – to return the glory days back to Anfield.

But even before Benitez had arrived in England, Ferguson had done his homework on his latest rival and watched his inevitable unravelling.

“The advanced publicity was that Benitez was a control freak, which turned out to be correct,” Ferguson wrote. “The mistake he made was to turn our rivalry personal. Once you made it personal, you had no chance because I could wait. I had success on my side.”
                    Ferguson says Benitez saw their Premier League battle as a rivalry of personalities [GETTY]
                    The advanced publicity was that Benitez was a control freak, which turned out to be correct
                    Sir Alex Ferguson
                    Ferguson further belittled the current Napoli manager by comparing him unfavourable by his other main rival at the time, the more “astute” Jose Mourinho.

“If you saw Jose and Rafa standing together on the touchline, you knew you could pick the winner,” he said.

At least Benitez is not the only Liverpool manager attacked in the book which is released today.

Graeme Souness, Ferguson’s rival in the early 1990s, is dismissed as a “good guy but impetuous”. And even Kenny Dalglish, who enjoyed the better of things in the 1980s, was a pale imitation of his former self when he returned to the club in 2011.

In particular, Ferguson questioned his transfer market acumen, singling out Stewart Downing as a specific example.

“Few of the signings made in Kenny's time haunted me at night,” he said. “Downing had talent but was not the bravest or quickest. £20 million?”

Dis bredda mek mi smile ...lol....fergie haha

With the exception of Gerrard, what you disagree with?
                        Lazie - whether one agrees or disagrees, it is pretty clear that by slagging off his rivals, he would sell more books. There is/was ZERO chance he would have given Rafa or Liverpool credit - where is the controversy in that? So to start, all his words have to be taken with suspicion. Case in point is the Gerrard comment you cited - that by itself exposed the disingenuous nature of his entire "expose"; if him lie one place, he probably lied everywhere else. That said, he is entitled to his opinion on subjective matters, but on factual matters, he's made himself look like an ass. For example:

1. [Liverpool] is 'eight players short of becoming genuine title contenders'.
                        Pretty funny when his team is sitting in 8th place. Is he saying that Manure is a genuine title contender?

2. [Rafa] no friends in management.
                        This is so pathetic it isn't even worth commenting on.

3. Appointment of Rodgers as manager
                        He and X agree, need I say more.

4. Michael Owen became a better player once he had joined Manchester United
                        This would make any comedy hour highlight reel. How many times did Owen play for England after joining Manure? LOL!!

5. Benitez ‘did not trust’ his captain as a central midfield player.
                        More comedy. If any player had freedom to run under Rafa, it was Gerrard. Every Liverpool fan knows that Gerrard was forced to the right as we had no true right winger in the squad. The trust was magnified by having the skipper play "out of position".

6. Gerrard - 'seldom had a kick' when coming up against a midfield of Roy Keane and Paul Scholes.
                        This is beyond funny. I will leave it to you to revisit the games where Gerrard bossed the midfield against Scholes and Keane - on more than one occassion...the 3-1 at Anfield being one that easily pops to mind and the charity sheild win.

Anyway - Slurgie just wants to sell books and is continuing his trademark undignified behaviour; the man is devoid of substance and uses bullying and intimidation to get his way. In this book, it appears his true character and lack of class is laid bare for all to see...not that many of us thought differently in the first place.

mourinho?

You have time X, NOTHING this man has to say interests me!

mourinho?
                              Seeing that I have not read the book (and won't), the articles only reference as I recall is Slurgie saying Mourinho was more astute at dealing with players than Rafa. I suspect that is true but there is no reason a manager has to become best friends with his players. Mourinho picked his "untouchables" and sided with them for 3 campaigns. That's easy to do when he had the squad he had. In my opinion, while Mourinho's record as a manager is irrefutable, it would be interesting to see how he would operate on a small budget. I can't imagine he'd be better than Rafa who has never had the funds Mourinho or Slurgie has had to operate with. When you look hard at it Wenger and Rafa have done far more with less than Slurgie or Mourinho. Wenger's legacy would skyrocket if he were to win in Europe.