Is it all the JFF's fault that only Austin made it?

• Is it all the JFF's fault that only Austin made it?

Where are these players today and what stopped them from having Rudolph Austin like success, was it all about the Jff.

NB
    Just focus on the names below, the rest of text is just leftovers from the article, just trying to isolate the names.

Titchfield's Denroy Wilson, leading scorer with 16 goals.

Cornwall defender Andre Moore and leading scorer Jahvan Russell who has five goals Lushane Brent Harris, Francoise Anderson, Charles Hind

Top-scorer Errol Bryan, who has scored nine times this season, and midfielder Steven Bennett will return to the starting team along with Ricardo Kerr, who came off the bench on Wednesday, and will join Jeolani Plummer and Alphanso Lewis who have combined for 10 goals so far, in trying to take Frome to their biggest challenge.

For the Portland school to return to the finals for the first time in 21 years, the competition's top-scorer, Denroy Wilson, must be more involved than he was on Wednesday. Anthony Bradshaw, Ryan McNeil

Over-lapping defender Rudolph Austin and Everton Blake, who have combined for 10 of Clarendon's 31 goals.
    Mario Harrison with 11 goals and Kenny Shelly
    Last edited by Stonigut; October 23, 2013, 09:28 PM.

Stoni ...yuh cyan run but nuh hiding place nuh dehbout

LOL... yuh haffi aks dat??

They were frustrated and ultimately defeated by the criminal negligence of the JFF in not instituting structured local development of youth players

Instead the JFF focused almost exclusively on a myopic and spectacularly failed WCQ-centric plan every few years.... anchored by the hurry come up tactic of last minute injection of foreign based players... many being mediocre, strangers to Jamaica and fellow players and/or not particularly interested in giving their all for Jamaica

In this toxic soup of neglect and ineptitude the JFF was enabled by misguided supporters like yourself who do not realize that the mission of football is to develop good players, clubs and teams at home so Jamaica can benefit from that business

Unfortunately even after 15 years of this utterly failed policy...many Jamaican football supporters still do not realize and openly acknowledge this folly and their error in enabling it by supporting the importation of foreign players en masse... even as they seek to debase locals at every opportunity

Time to wake up and smell the coco tea Stoni... English Breakfast Tea is not what the doctor would order to cure this patient

Au contraire Monsieur Don 1, out in the open, so we can discuss without hiding in the bush.

Don1 yuh Nuh see your argument is weak and one sided, why Austin mek it and everybody else scraping, totally miss or not even get to press the eject button after schoolboy football. Yes Jff have something to do with it, but even in a total unhindered free market situation you must get a better than 1 in 100 player from top four country school semifals in 2003 actually playing a leading role in a club in at least a second tier global football league.

Jff plays the role of the state in Jamaican football and is a semi- failed state but 1 in 100 is still horrendous odds even without state intervention. Even in the most lopsided one dimensional state systems there are still other institutions that play a role in outcomes and in jamaica we have many such institutions can't all be jff. Just as with track and field, how much credit can we really give to Jaaa for Jamaica's success in track, really not a whole lot, but they do play a significant role.
      Last edited by Stonigut; October 24, 2013, 12:05 AM.

I am trying to locate a point in what you're saying here but there doesn't seem to be one

That is because you are locked into your Jff point like a Pitbull on a piece of meat.

jaaa did not start Racers or MVP or any other track club that exists today, jaaa didN't get DJ to go to Cast and start building the track program in a tertiary institution as happened there, jaaa did not build Gc Foster college.

Thus it is that what has failed the youths is a combination of a poor, weak football institutions outside of the jff and in particular weak connecting mechanisms between high school and rspl to keep youths engaged and playing at a relatively high level to keep them in the game and to harness the potential of at least five to ten players from the top four squads in the 2003 Dcup final, instead out of those four squads we have one solid pro and one struggling to survive as a pro as far as I can see from that particular group.

The clubs need to step up another notch, not one club has stepped up to the level that the Reggaeboyz have attained, we cannot get one club to compete effectively outside the immediate Cfu region in the wider Concacaf region club championship, that tells you a lot right there.

It is the job of the JFF to foster local development. It is their job to organize stakeholders including clubs, ISSA & Govt around a development program. We have not even seen a proposal for that. Clearly they are not doing their job...so your acting as an apologist for the JFF is not acceptable

Like you the JFF is laser focused on short term objectives i.e. qualifying for a World Cup...hence the hurry-come-up tactics employed which relegate structured local development to an afterthought.. so only lip service is paid to what should be the key mission of football .. i.e. local development

The policy you support is one of of prioritizing foreign snow ballas to take the place of locals because they are "better".
            You went as far as to try to codify that snow balla folly into a convoluted & misguided statistical matrix of player preferences... with snow ballas on top of course

That is an anti-development and utterly failed strategy that I have no option but to bun out...strait

Many Jamaicans from Austin's time have gone on to get professional contracts. Differnet players develop at different rates and in high school football talents are scattered all over.

Just look at this article of US players who were in Bradenton and look how many of them amounted to nothing in the sport despite some of the best exposure and resources available to players at the youth level..

http://www.sportsmyriad.com/2012/12/...n-spring-2003/

True, but here we have the best of the best four top country schools close to 100 players and we get two pros from that group, it is ten years later and we who follow yard football don't even recognize many of the stars names that are called.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                  True, but here we have the best of the best four top country schools close to 100 players and we get two pros from that group, it is ten years later and we who follow yard football don't even recognize many of the stars names that are called.
                  How many of them were in the Under 17 team?

The best school boy players are all over the island, so the teams that reach the finals for the most part have a lot of players who can play ball at the Junior College, NCAA level, but most of them are not professional material. Austin was way ahead of those players in 2003 and as a result was in the National Junior team. Just like his other "country" colleagues, Jermaine Taylor, Obrian White and Dwayne Miller were ahead and ended up getting contracts and were in the national junior teams.

If the US handpicked players for Bradenton in that one class I showed you and all that they could come up with is a couple decent MLS players, why would we expect a collection of schoolboys playing a few games a year to yield better results than a couple pros, a few who played in the local league and the College circuit.

...we who follow yard football don't even recognize many of the stars names that are called.
                    Did you specifically ask Assasin?

mi belly!!!

Wasn't O'Brien White living in Canada already when he played on that U-20 team?

Austin is the ReggaeBoy who most impressed me over these qualifiers.

Last year in the round previous to the Hex, when Jamaica beat the USA at the Office, he was the best player on the field. He also had a very good 1st half against us in Kansas City a few weeks ago.

He's tenacious, helps shield the back line and is a good organizer of the midfield play. From what I've seen, he's got the quality to be playing in the Premier League.

Yes, see where you coming from, but your solution will require many more hands than one central institution, the brain, people and capital resources necessary to make your vision a reality must be wider than the Jff and deep into the grassroots and conversely also stretching into the boardrooms of local corporations.

Stoni you are correct... but you seemed somehow to have missed that central to my proposals is the idea that the the JFF should be LEADING but all football stakeholders should be committed to an agreed development program...including clubs, private sector sponsors, ISSA and Govt

We need stakeholders to agree to & support a Football Development Contract

The One Man Band that Burrell/JFF plays is now exhausted & impotent... so Jamaica needs a new & systematic approach to football whether it's from Burrell or any other leader

Burrell is no doubt incapable of changing his One Don style though... he probably needs to be forcibly removed like the original One Don was
                              Last edited by Don1; October 26, 2013, 03:03 PM.