• Champions League Group of Death - A post mortem

Higuaín devastated, Mertesacker accepts 'luck'

by Ben Gladwell
    from Stadio San Paolo
    Published: Thursday 12 December 2013, 8.40CET

Gonzalo Higuaín called it an "injustice" after SSC Napoli were eliminated with 12 points while Per Mertesacker accepted Arsenal FC were "lucky" to progress after a 2-0 loss.

Failing to qualify for the last 16 of the UEFA Champions League by a single goal despite beating Borussia Dortmund, Olympique de Marseille and Arsenal FC left SSC Napoli striker Gonzalo Higuaín struggling for words to express his disappointment following the 2-0 defeat of the Gunners.

The Argentinian international said "only bad luck" could explain the Serie A side's exit from the competition, the first club to be eliminated despite picking up 12 points, due to their inferior head-to-head goal difference with Dortmund, who scored a late winner at Marseille, and the Gunners.. Arsenal midfielder Mathieu Flamini admitted it was the hardest group phase he had ever been involved in – and as a result the knockout stage does not worry him.

Gonzalo Higuaín, Napoli forward
    It cannot be anything else but bad luck, because to win four games out of six and be eliminated is not something that happens often. Not going through is incredible. It is an injustice, really. Going out with 12 points – winning four games in such an immensely difficult group with two sides as strong as Arsenal and Dortmund – when you see teams going through with only one or two wins, with six or seven points, it's disappointing. We've got to look forward though.

There was a stage in the game when we were tired – we'd put in a great deal of effort, but now we've got to look forward to the Europa League, Serie A and the Coppa Italia. Our aim now is to win the Europa League. It's a trophy and it is very important for us.

Christian Maggio, Napoli defender
    It is hard to say how we feel right now. It hurts to go out like that. We showed how strong we are. Now we turn to the Europa League and Serie A. We need to react well, work hard, and the results will come. We are sure that we will get the rewards soon. We are pleased to have beaten two of the best sides in Europe, but we were in an incredible group. We still leave with our heads held high.

Mathieu Flamini, Arsenal midfielder
    Of course it is never good to lose a game, especially because we wanted to finish top of the group, but that is how it went today. Napoli played a great game and were unlucky. It went right to the end with three very good teams. Everybody was on 12 points so it was very close. It is hard for Napoli because today they won 2-0, but what was important for us was qualifying. I would say this has been [the most difficult group stage I have been in]. It was one of the hardest because you have a team like Napoli who have not qualified and we have finished second, level with them on 12 points. So of course it was one of the hardest.

We will play a big team, but we knew that. When you finish second, you know you have to face a group winner so that is the way it is. Anyway, if you want to go to the final and try to win something, you have to play all the big teams. I do not really have a preference. We will see what happens with the draw.

Per Mertesacker, Arsenal defender
    It is a bit of a strange atmosphere at the moment because we lost the game. We were always on the back foot. We gave 10% less mentally because we always thought we were through. We were lucky today, but we deserved [to go through]. It was a difficult group.

©UEFA.com 1998-2013. All rights reserved.

http://www.uefa.com/uefachampionslea...d=2035722.html

The Draw - Round of 16 - GUNNERS!

F: Arsenal FC (ENG)
    Can play: Real Madrid, Paris, Bayern, Atlético, Barcelona

Qualified as: fourth place, England

Top scorer: Olivier Giroud, Aaron Ramsey, Jack Wilshere 2

Last season: round of 16 (1-3h & 2-0a v FC Bayern München)
    Previous European Cup best: runners-up (2006)

• This is the 14th season in a row Arsenal have made it past the initial group stage, though they would have been out if they had lost by one more goal at SSC Napoli on Wednesday.

http://www.uefa.com/uefachampionslea...d=2032401.html

Only wish - Not Bayern? Bricktop?!

Boy My GUNNERS & your ManCity has the toughest of draws.
      Our TEAMs options are all bad-arse TEAMs!

Just no possibility of a soft touch unlike BoyU (easiest possible draw as far as this Round of 16 goes, all soft opponents) or Chelsea (who could find either of Leverkusen or Milan a handful).

Pleeeeeeeeeeease?!
      Last edited by Karl; December 12, 2013, 09:52 PM.

Badmind inna yuh old age.....it will give yuh gas
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yuh nuh? Sometimes mi wonder if him and X a di same person.

Hey...yuh figet seh a him belch out Xcuse??
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Hey...yuh figet seh a him belch out Xcuse??
              Move wid u wrenk an' facety self. One of these days you will apologise to Karl, how easy do you think it must have been for him to raise X? That would have given jesus himself brain damage. Big up Karl! (don't figet fi tek u medication, dr. sey it will help stop the halucinations of Arsenal winning the title and get you back to reality )

That day will come when Arsenal wins the league .......in other words ......no time soon

What is the bad-mind?
                  The truth on My Gunners and ManCity having tough draws? ...or that BoyU got a soft tough?