• Arsenal needs?

Arsenal

Arsenal will bid £32m to meet the release clause for Diego Costa at Atletico Madrid. (Star)

The Gunners will have to pay around £8m to sign Mirko Vucinic on a permanent deal if Juventus are to let the Montenegro striker. (Mirror)

Arsenal want to sign former Tottenham and Manchester United forward Dimitar Berbatov from Fulham in a £2m deal. (Sun)

Can we get...

Dimitar Berbatov (Spurs) and Wilfried Boney for £2m each = £4m?
    If we can that's the deal right there...forget Costa!

Dimitar Berbatov (Spurs) and Wilfried Boney for £2m each = £4m?
      If we can that's the deal right there...forget Costa!
      FYI Karl, Boney cost £12m in August, why would they now sell him for £2m?

AW is not interested in Berbatov.

Not interested if Bendtner comes back soon?

Arsene Wenger is waiting for the results of a scan on Nicklas Bendtner before deciding whether Arsenal will buy a striker this month, insisting he has not made a move for Dimitar Berbatov.

Wenger has confirmed Bendtner’s ankle injury was analysed on Thursday, with the outcome likely to steer his own January transfer policy, but denies he is already eyeing a move for Fulham's Berbatov.

Arsenal look set to be down to one fit recognised centre-forward in Lukas Podolski for Saturday's FA Cup third-round showdown with Tottenham Hotspur, with Olivier Giroud "90 per cent" certain to miss the game through illness and Yaya Sanogo still injured.

Wenger claims his transfer plans depend on "how long" Bendtner will be out for, and on reports linking him with Berbatov he said: "He is not a name that we have considered at the moment.

"We have not even been out on the transfer market, we have not contacted anybody. We are just analysing the situation, being very cautious until we are well informed about Bendtner - and Sanogo as well, because he is back in training now. We will make a decision after that."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...sidelined.html

Originally posted by Twan View Post
          FYI Karl, Boney cost £12m in August, why would they now sell him for £2m?

How was that payment structured?
          They may not have turned over £12m...worth exploring?
          How much are they paying him? ...i.e. what is total cost until the end of the season?

How would a deal with GUNNERS be structured? ...loan to the end of the season? How many month would that be - prorated monthly cost?
          ...with perhaps option to "buy"?

Not everything you hear is always as straight forward as it seems...

How was that payment structured?
            They may not have turned over £12m...worth exploring?
            How much are they paying him? ...i.e. what is total cost until the end of the season?

How would a deal with GUNNERS be structured? ...loan to the end of the season? How many month would that be - prorated monthly cost?
            ...with perhaps option to "buy"?

Not everything you hear is always as straight forward as it seems...
            KARL...they paid a club record for the player, and he is performing by scoring goals. He is their main striker as Michu is out injured. Why would they now send him on loan or sell him, when the team is struggling?
            It matters not how any deal is structured.
            We can dream at times but you have too many fantasies !!

Get REAL MAN!

Originally posted by Twan View Post
              KARL...they paid a club record for the player, and he is performing by scoring goals. He is their main striker as Michu is out injured. Why would they now send him on loan or sell him, when the team is struggling?
              It matters not how any deal is structured.
              We can dream at times but you have too many fantasies !!

Get REAL MAN!
              Direct response to "GET REAL" - You are crazy!
              I neither have inside information on GUNNERS player tactics or policy or structure of player contracts or thinking of a "selling club".

All I can reasonably respond to is my fan's wish...WISH!!!!

btw - Many are the clubs that buy high and sell low! Many are the clubs that look at the then current situation and trim current financial outlay as they 're-tool' for 'another day'.

I wish we had 2 more strikers and strikers with the strength, finesse and chance conversion-rate as the two striker I wished for.

...and just to return to your simple attempts (just as my attempts are simplistic) at logic; you do know that there are many reasons and deal-structures as it affects TEAM - why a deal could be made for the £12m man Boney?

E.g. 1. Ever heard of cash + player(s) swap? ...or 3 player movement? Ever heard of 3 team moves?

Boss I have worked on deal-making for more than 30 years (1970s to present) to know that just about anything is possible! Perhaps, you should have said it is, in your opinion,
              unlikely
              that such a deal would occur. ...but to swing a 'bax craas mi face' for wishing in my capacity as a fan'?
              Last edited by Karl; January 4, 2014, 08:42 PM.

Arsenal latest: Wenger to choose between three...

Arsenal latest: Wenger to choose between three Premier League hitmen?

by Tom Gatehouse on January 2, 2014

Arsenal could be in for a very interesting January transfer window, with Arsene Wenger reportedly set to choose between three Premier League strikers, as the Gunners look to add attacking reinforcement this winter.

According to the Sun, Fulham striker Dimitar Berbatov is close to joining the Gunners in a £2m deal.

The former Man Utd hit-man has only six months left on his current deal, and considering the current plight of his Fulham side, the Bulgarian reportedly wants to leave and compete at the highest level once more.

Arsenal are in something of a striker crisis at present, with Olivier Giroud and Nicklas Bendtner both sidelined with injures, leaving only Lukas Podolski as a viable option for the Premier League leaders.

The Sun claims that Berbatov would sign an initial 18 month deal, with the option of a further year.

Arsene Wenger is said to also have his eye on Newcastle striker Loic Remy.

According to French newspaper Le 10 Sport, Wenger has been keeping tabs on the former Marseille striker for some time, and his mulling over whether to make a firm offer for the 27-year-old.

Remy is currently on a season long loan from QPR, and has performed well, bagging 10 goals and two assists with Newcastle.

Finally, CaughtOffside.com have claimed that Wenger is also looking at the possibility of signing Manchester United outcast Javier Hernandez.

The Mexican has been used sparingly by David Moyes this season, despite injuries to both Wayne Rooney and Robin van Persie.

We discussed the issues surrounding the diminutive hit-man last month, and why the player has not been a success at Old Trafford despite an excellent goals to minutes ratio.

It is pretty clear that Wenger is in the market for a striker, but with the three aforementioned strikers all very different in ability, it remains to be seen which would be number one on the Arsenal boss’ January agenda.

What do you think? Which of these strikers would be the best fit for Arsenal? Let me know in the comments below…

http://soccerlens.com/arsenal-latest...hitmen/123666/

Suarez?

Suarez's £70m buy-out clause heaps more pressure on Liverpool's challenge to qualify for Champions League

By Joe Bernstein

PUBLISHED: 17:30 EST, 4 January 2014 | UPDATED: 17:30 EST, 4 January 2014

Luis Suarez has a £70million buy-out clause in his new Liverpool contract, which has heightened the importance of the club qualifying for the Champions League this season.

The Uruguay striker - the leading scorer in the Premier League with 20 goals - delighted Anfield fans by signing a £225,000-a-week deal last month after trying to force his way out of the club in the summer.

But the 26-year-old still harbours hopes of playing in the Champions League and this time has insisted on a watertight clause which means he can go if the likes of Barcelona, Real Madrid, Bayern Munich or Paris Saint-Germain offer £70million for him. A move would be more likely if Liverpool finish outside the top four.

Agent Per Guardiola - brother of Bayern manager Pep - was wrongfooted last summer when his belief that Liverpool would have to sell Suarez if a club bid in excess of £40m proved unfounded.

Arsenal were criticised for offering £40m plus £1 for Suarez and Liverpool vehemently denied promising the player earlier he could leave if the club did not play in the Champions League.

The new deal, therefore, pleased all parties, with Suarez - who loves his time on Merseyside and will not consider leaving if Liverpool are involved in Europe’s elite competition - earning a bumper pay rise and manager Brendan Rodgers knowing his star man will be at Anfield for the rest of the season.

However, the buy-out clause, while high - it would make Suarez the third-most expensive player in the world after Gareth Bale and Cristiano Ronaldo - is just over half the £120m which Kop legend Ian Rush said was the buy-out figure and a more realistic valuation for potential buyers.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/art...Liverpool.html

Arsene Wenger -

"You can find a solution somewhere - a club that has financial trouble and wants to get rid of a big contract for five or six months, but to find in January exactly the player who will be tomorrow's star on the longer term is much more difficult."

Boney is very good. He plays like a younger, faster and more athletic Drogba.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015