Jamaica - You know as we speak on development -

• Jamaica - You know as we speak on development -

...and the matter of TALENT ABOUNDS it just may be that some of us are not thinking this ACADEMY vehicle as avenue for development through?

If we look at our schools and the current debate on 'poor academic' results. The matter of entire school environment seem to be where we should look for improvements...right?

btw - In 2011 the entire EPL Premier league clubs academies had total 'student' population of -
    Academies and Centres of Excellence

Total Registered Players aged 16-18 = 429

Premier League 429
    348 (331 English**) + 81 ( (European 67) (Non-European 14)

Source: ELITE PLAYER PERFORMANCE PLAN Premier League
    - May 2011

You know most kids in England graduate high school at 16 years old. Some might do O levels while others might not. If they are deemed good talent they are in Club Academies from a much younger age. For many the schools and the youth clubs are just used to identify talent in the earlier years.
    Last edited by Karl; January 21, 2014, 04:58 PM.

For all those serious about our Football Development and...

...the true fans [Bricktop need not read ]

---------------

The Elite Player Performance Plan (EPPP) is a long-term strategy designed to take Premier League Youth Development to the next level.

The EPPP is the result of consultation between the Premier League and its clubs, representatives of the Football League, the Football Association and other key football stakeholders.

It has six fundamental principles:

· Increase the number and quality of Home Grown Players gaining professional contracts in the clubs and playing first-team football at the highest level
      · Create more time for players to play and be coached
      · Improve coaching provision
      · Implement a system of effective measurement and quality assurance
      · Positively influence strategic investment into the Academy System, demonstrating value for money
      · Seek to implement significant gains in every aspect of player development

It will do this by focusing on four main areas:

· Coaching
      · Classification
      · Compensation
      · Education

Academies will be independently audited and given a Category status of 1 to 4, with 1 being the most elite. Up to 10 different factors will be considered in the grading, including productivity rates; training facilities; and coaching, education and welfare provisions.

The higher a club's Category the more funding will be available to it and the EPPP will see the Premier League and FA invest more central income than ever before in Youth Development programmes across the country.

Focus on Youth Development

Director of Youth at the Premier League Ged Roddy led the Working Group that created the EPPP, and he believes Youth Development has never been more important.

"Since the inception of the Premier League there has always been a strong focus on Youth Development, but the focus on youth has probably never been as intense or as urgent as it is right now," said Roddy.

"With the ever-increasing quality of the Barclays Premier League and the exceptional buying power of clubs, it has become self-evident to every young Academy player that if he wants to succeed, not only will he have to be one of the best players in England but also the world.

"This is a massive challenge for any young player and a widespread consultation has taken place across the game to address how a modernised youth system can be sustained which will provide the best platform to support the aspirations of our Home Grown Players to succeed in the biggest of big leagues."

Roddy says the EPPP draws on the collective best practice that already thrives in the youth system in England and learns from other youth systems in football and other elite environments across the world.

Some key areas the EPPP will focus on include:

· Allowing clubs to have more coaching time with their young players
      · Helping clubs foster links with local schools in order to help young players get the best out of their football education as well as the academic side
      · Allowing clubs that have earned a top category grading to recruit young talent from further afield than is permitted under the current rules
      · Working with the Football League to review the current system used for determining compensation

Roddy admits there is not one big idea that will transform youth development, but instead a forensic attention to detail that can help deliver the right results.

"The new system will create greater access to players"
      - Ged Roddy

"Many innovations proposed in the new plans will contribute to achieving widespread marginal gains in every aspect of the youth system," he says.

"These marginal gains when knitted together collectively will deliver the significant improvements in the development
      of Home Grown Players that all clubs want to achieve.

"The new system will create greater access to players so that they can receive more time to train and prepare effectively for a career in the Barclays Premier League. These changes will raise the intensity of the Academy system, leading to improved education and career support programmes being rolled out to ensure every player is provided with holistic support for all of his development.

"When you strip it down to its most fundamental, the EPPP is about creating an environment where a local boy, developed in his local ](insertion by me) - region] club from eight or nine years of age, can go on to pull on a first-team shirt [(insertion) - at the highest of professional levels ]of the club that he has grown up at.

"This is every boy's dream and, while in reality only a lucky few will achieve it, the EPPP for all its focus on the science of elite development sets out to ensure that this dream can remain a reality for the next generation of young players."

ELITE DEVELOPMENT PLAN - PREMIER LEAGUE
      MAY 2011

You know most kids in England graduate high school at 16 years old. Some might do O levels while others might not. If they are deemed good talent they are in Club Academies from a much younger age. For many the schools and the youth clubs are just used to identify talent in the earlier years.

You do know that in JA that is what we aspire to?
        Quite a few of our kids graduate high school at 16 and move straight into University/College. It is a failing of the/our system why we have the vast majority not moving on.

Important we recognize it (that failure) has nothing to do with the innate ability of our kids!!!

Where does it say the school is relied on for football training ??

The context within which the EPPP falls is after culling from schools. The total numbers of 'students' being addressed as at 2011 were 429 (Premier League) + 1116 (Football League).

That total of 1545 'students' (- 134 foreigners).
            Would you like to guess -
            a) The total numbers of school children from which that miniscule 1400+ were 'culled'?

b) The numbers 'discovered' at schools? ...and went straight into an academy set-up?

c) The numbers 'discovered' at schools? ...that went to playgrounds to be 're-discovered' and later to academies?

d) Those 'discovered' at academies? ...and those who were not (ended up not making the grade)?

Massa reading is not merely about looking at words. Surely you recognized that work was and is still being done in schools and schools are where the vast majority of those who aspire to be 'ballas' receive first formal introduction to the game?

When yuh seh Schools.. what age yuh talking ?

Prep/primary through high schools.
                Do you think every last professional footballer started at an academy from age 6?

Do you think any entered at older ages...11+? ...15+? ...16+?
                Do you think some arrived at 18?

---

Even our local ballers show...provide examples of footballers who became professionals after traveling through the school system? Why do you think we can have some here passing through an admitted poor teaching system 'make it' and not visualize others in a system where the teaching is of admitted better quality 'making it'?

Consider this -TALENT ABOUNDS everywhere.
                Europe and elsewhere is littered with good talent...scratch that...tremendously talented youngsters that never make it!!!

------

btw -
                ...the number of new contracts that have been offered to players developed through the Academy System and those players offered contracts who have not been developed through the Academy System. Of the 330 new contracts, 48.48% (160) have been developed by Academies or Centres of Excellence. 51.52% (170) have been developed from outside the English Academy System.

Source: Source: ELITE PLAYER PERFORMANCE PLAN Premier League
                - May 2011
                Last edited by Karl; January 22, 2014, 04:26 AM.

There is Best Practice then there is what you are yapping about..

Was there a class called Quixotic Methods that unnuh took in the 70's ?

It seems to permeate everything you do..

There is Best Practice then there is what you are yapping about..

Was there a class called Quixotic Methods that unnuh took in the 70's ?

It seems to permeate everything you do..

So what do you think the following stats tell --->
                    ...the number of new contracts that have been offered to players developed through the Academy System and those players offered contracts who have not been developed through the Academy System. Of the 330 new contracts, 48.48% (160) have been developed by Academies or Centres of Excellence. 51.52% (170) have been developed from outside the English Academy System.

Source: Source: ELITE PLAYER PERFORMANCE PLAN Premier League
                    - May 2011

I don't know.. you tell me...

I shall not!!!