• Omar Holness - rated as a Top 10 college player

ahead of the 2015 MLS draft.

http://www.mlssoccer.com/superdraft/...ead-2015-draft

"...but his production was a little low for what you’d want out of an attacking midfielder."

And that has always been his problem. Why does he seem to have all the goods yet doesn't deliver. His 2 goals and 6 assists or whatever the real numbers are, are just not that impressive, yet he looks the part.

He needs to have a strong 2015!

That is our problem somehow we cannot lift the production standard of our players which is the reason why with all our great physical qualities we are consistently underproducing from a goals and assist standpoint, greater rigour must be applied on work rate and consistent focus on process improvement and analysis of how to get better step by step much as how we see track and field showing the way in applying process improvement analysis and straight up hard work to consistently improve, tying the knot on each improvement. Latest example of this was the improvement we saw in Carrie Russell or a Warren Weir over the past two years.
      Btw Mosiah how many JPL teams actually videotape every match and analyze the match with team members on a position by position basis.

Why is it our problem? What is North Carolina doing about it?

Jamaican clubs generally do not videotape. Maybe HVFC alone.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          That is our problem somehow we cannot lift the production standard of our players which is the reason why with all our great physical qualities we are consistently underproducing from a goals and assist standpoint, greater rigour must be applied on work rate and consistent focus on process improvement and analysis of how to get better step by step much as how we see track and field showing the way in applying process improvement analysis and straight up hard work to consistently improve, tying the knot on each improvement. Latest example of this was the improvement we saw in Carrie Russell or a Warren Weir over the past two years.
          Aaaaameen!!!

Btw Mosiah how many JPL teams actually videotape every match and analyze the match with team members on a position by position basis.
          Stoni: It is nothing short of amazing that our pauperized NPL teams do not invest in the basic portfolio creation for its player-assets? It appears that each club wishes to promote players by hoping for devine intervention.

I think there is a misunderstanding on 'football as a business' and it shows up in every facet of each club's administration...and also ignorance on/of the fact that 'TALENT ABOUNDS' [the tremendous numbers of excellent talents littering the world's (football) marketplace and with which our poorly taught players must compete...].
          Last edited by Karl; January 23, 2014, 10:58 AM.

Wah kina ques-tan dat?
            Iffen a nuh fi wi problem denna who-fah?

Why is Jamaica being blamed for not developing di youth? He's been at North Carolina for the last 4 months. What have they done for him? Why can't they "lift the production standard of its players?" He was good enough to get a scholarship there. Jamaica brought him to that point. What's NC doing about it now?

Because things like this should be addressed early, along with trapping, heading, passing, shooting, moving with & without the ball, dribbling, etc. Do you think it's OK that you (Jamaica) should send players away to learn the basics???

Considering his future - In whose hands was his early development stymied?

Truth is any appreciation of the talent he has and the potential displayed at his earlier years hammer us over the head with: There was a failure of the education environment at those early stages.

In the context of our ABUNDANCE of TALENTED youngsters - Whose hands must we look to for maximization of potential at those earliest of stages?

I just am stupid enough to think, it is our Jamaican hands!

...at this stage of his career - a college student playing on the college circuit - he should be mature enough to 'study' qualities of play world-wide, observe the skills of players, observe playing quality of players and considering the level league/competition he plays determine his aims as far as playing professionally goes and work at lifting his work ethic, improving his skills and raising same to standards commensurate with achieving his goals.

Yes at this stage of his playing life...99.99+% on improving his quality of play rests with him. He is either smart and motivated enough to make it to the big times...or he is not smart enough or motivated enough. As far as potential goes there is, for example, no one of the current US outfield professionals who had equal talent or potential...and Dempsey and Donovan played in the World's top league.

Yes, sir...even at this stage Omar Holness has it all before him. Will he take the opportunity or no?

Nonsense for a big grown arse man with his talent to be asking the college to do more than put him in its TEAM. It is all about getting stronger...maximizing on his speed across ground, improving his 'foot speed', improving his pass (passing includes shooting - too many of his shots fly over the bar)...all it takes to bring down the shots is selection of which to 'hit through the laces' and which to 'side-foot' and to damn well lean over the ball rather than lean back...but most of all it is about engaging his brain!!!
                  Last edited by Karl; January 23, 2014, 06:07 PM.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
                    Because things like this should be addressed early, along with trapping, heading, passing, shooting, moving with & without the ball, dribbling, etc. Do you think it's OK that you (Jamaica) should send players away to learn the basics???
                    There you go!
                    ...damn you see it (emoticon for amazement)!!!

Yuh deh pon something weh me nuh deh pon. If it's a blame game thing, then yes, we know where that lies.

I'm talking about OMAR HOLNESS, and no one else. His situation is different from the others. At least, that is how I see it. Immensely talented, with good skill, speed, understanding of the game and a powerhouse shot, yet his numbers as a freshman are not where we expect them to be. Compare him to Darren Mattocks who surprised everyone with his goal-scoring abilities.

That's what I am taking about. And for me, that is not Jamaica's problem.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                        Don't see your point on Carrie Russell and Warren Weir.

Stoni, wha kinda long sentence dat bredren? Maybe das why mi nuh undastan weh yuh a talk bout.

>

Why is it our problem? What is North Carolina doing about it?

Jamaican clubs generally do not videotape. Maybe HVFC alone.
                          We know the Holiness Family who are great folk and we hope his goal rate will go up. He was lost in the development Jamaica between 13-19. No coaching. Maybe he would make a great right back.

There very best

Why is Jamaica being blamed for not developing di youth? He's been at North Carolina for the last 4 months. What have they done for him? Why can't they "lift the production standard of its players?" He was good enough to get a scholarship there. Jamaica brought him to that point. What's NC doing about it now?
                            NC will do there best. They recruited him. Omar must want it real bad and dig down and be productive. The first year is never as good as we would like and same for this lad. Having coached NCAA Div 1 for years he has the potential. One fo the biggest problems in the USA University programs is a short season, not enough matches and he also must concentrate on Academics.

Well said Karl, well said!