Chevrolet Deal Will Blunt Champions League Disqualification

• Chevrolet Deal Will Blunt Champions League Disqualification

Chevrolet Deal Will Blunt Champions League Disqualification For Manchester United

Manchester United is an example of how being one of the world’s most valuable sports brands can help smooth the income statement when a team goes through a rough patch on the field.

The iconic English soccer team will not finish among the top five spots in the Barclays BCS +0.9% Premier League this season and will therefore not participate in the next Champions League. The Champions League is the world’s richest annual tournament, and for making it to the quarter-finals this year Manchester United will rake in about $55 million this fiscal year.

For most teams such an economic loss would be devastating. But Manchester United will weather the storm relatively easy due to its record-breaking seven year, $559 million shirt deal with Chevrolet that kicks in this summer. The Chevrolet shirt deal, worth an average of $80 million a year, is replacing the Aon AON +1.3% shirt deal, which paid an average of $32 million a year.

But the net difference next year is not $49 million because the Chevrolet deal, which increases annually, starts at $70 million and General Motors GM +0.06% has already paid Manchester United $18 million despite not appearing on the team’s shirt until the 2014-15 season. So next year team will book about $52 million from GM.

Deduct from the $52 million the $32 million the team would have received from Aon and it’s a net $20 million gain for Manchester United, meaning no Champions League next year will amount to a loss of $35 million. Not easy to overcome, for sure. But certainly a lot easier than $55 million.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/mikeozan...hester-united/

GM should renegotiate the shirt deal at this time, especially with significant decline in on the field performance.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
      GM should renegotiate the shirt deal at this time, especially with significant decline in on the field performance.
      Worry bout Arsenal, word is Fly Emirates would like to have their brand associated with an even bigger brand.

Also, UEFA wants to question Man City deals to see if they are good value for money or whether the Qatari owners are putting these deals together with cooperation from other companies in order to beat the FFP regulations. I wonder if they will think of looking into this Chevrolet deal for ManUre too.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Also, UEFA wants to question Man City deals to see if they are good value for money or whether the Qatari owners are putting these deals together with cooperation from other companies in order to beat the FFP regulations. I wonder if they will think of looking into this Chevrolet deal for ManUre too.
          LOL!!!! Good one Tilla. This deal was secured before any thought of not making the UCL. Y'all have football clubs, Manchester United is a football institution. Futhermore, didn't the UEFA team clear MU and others regarding FFP?

Just got paid and I got a little money to burn ....

We gween win the FA Cup, over to you Lazie.

Okay ... congrats. What's that? The first in a decade? This is the first in a long while my team isn't in the runnings. Notice the first step to the comeback has taken place? I notice how many of you were not pleased when that move was made. Notice money has been made available to rebuild the team? I suggest unuh move to the side ... cause the big truck is coming thru.

Wait deh are you having an affair with someone by the name of Crystal, last name Ball??
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

LOL!!!! Good one Tilla. This deal was secured before any thought of not making the UCL. Y'all have football clubs, Manchester United is a football institution. Futhermore, didn't the UEFA team clear MU and others regarding FFP?

Just got paid and I got a little money to burn ....
                  Also, I think Platini said that the teams who are not playing in Europe do not need to conform this time to the FFP requirements.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran