CONCACONFESSION: Football Development trumps WCQ

• CONCACONFESSION: Football Development trumps WCQ

Finally smaddy wid sense... Time fi tap running to England fi mediocre, last minute Jamaicans-by-Convenience

Development must precede WC qualifying - Webb

Published: Tuesday | May 20, 2014

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC):

CONCACAF boss Jeffrey Webb believes there must be a process of sustainable development in the region before another English-speaking Caribbean team can qualify for a FIFA World Cup final.

Speaking ahead of the World Cup in Brazil, which starts in just under four weeks, Webb said that with smaller countries more open to challenges than developed football nations, it was important the Caribbean embarked on a system which ensured consistent growth in its football.

To date, only Jamaica's Reggae Boyz and Trinidad and Tobago's Soca Warriors of English-speaking regional national teams have achieved the feat of securing spots at the massive global showpiece.

"To have real development, it has to be sustainable. We have had hits and misses. The only way we're going to be able to have a real competitive, sustainable edge where we have representatives at a World Cup, is through development," Webb said here.

If that is what he believes...

Then leave him to his thoughts.
    In any case not worth the energy to point out to him that there is absolutely no reason that attempts at qualification to the World Cup must continue apace with attempts at development. ...and that the only reasonable act...the only sensible approach is making best possible attempt in each area.

development will lead to WC qualification...therefore we need to focus on development...the qualification will take care of itself...but Webb is just another in a long line of yappers...yap yap yap yap yap yap yao

Development(?) by itself...without aim to produce players able to form TEAMs superior to 'the competition' and the actual production of TEAM superior to 'the competition' will never lead to qualification for the World Cup. Period!!!!

Follows then that the actual development of the necessary quality players + the creation of the necessary quality TEAM will get the job done if both are being continuously attempted=a perpetual renewal in which there is increasingly improved quality players and TEAMs .

what you think development is Karl...developing footballers within a system...yuh just chatting to chat...you don't have a point...

Karl you need to understand the management concepts of short, medium and long term planning.... allied with resource allocations to support the established targets.

Your approach of simply trying to do "everything well" sounds good on a superficial level.... but that is not a "plan"

Jamaica needs to prioritize its meager resources around player development and stop the foolfool hysteria about WCQ every few years. Unnu too nervous an' hurry-come-up wid dis WC business

Out of player development WCQ will flow organically

Development(?) by itself...without aim to produce players able to form TEAMs superior to 'the competition' and the actual production of TEAM superior to 'the competition' will never lead to qualification for the World Cup. Period!!!!

Follows then that the actual development of the necessary quality players + the creation of the necessary quality TEAM will get the job done if both are being continuously attempted=a perpetual renewal in which there is increasingly improved quality players and TEAMs .
              King Karl, you could not have put it more simple.

What, we can't run go to England for replacements any more?!?! Since when!?!?!?

The fact that we can run to England is a double-edged sword... which we have used a a crutch to avoid youth development and prioritize short term thinking

Failure abounds

King Karl, you could not have put it more simple.
                    Yuh asking a statement?
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

please !!! please !!! work with webb . He is Fair .
                      Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                      United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                      happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                      Probably forthcoming...

Karl you need to understand the management concepts of short, medium and long term planning.... allied with resource allocations to support the established targets.

Your approach of simply trying to do "everything well" sounds good on a superficial level.... but that is not a "plan"

Jamaica needs to prioritize its meager resources around player development and stop the foolfool hysteria about WCQ every few years. Unnu too nervous an' hurry-come-up wid dis WC business

Out of player development WCQ will flow organically
                        I now understand why it is so hard to progress at an acceptable rate. ...but let me try once more to explain why national efforts mean moving in 'lock step on many fronts' all at the same time.
                        - If you can grasp the concept that preparing for a World Cup is wrapped inextricably with lower level development and recognize that utilizing Nation's best TEAM says...no, demands, constantly adding and subtraction of players and that developing of the National TEAM is a process in and of itself...

...yet you also can grasp the concept that the developing of the caliber quality players to replace older 'once best for TEAM' players requires its own focus and structure...

...then you may understand why planning for development of a whole requires various separate plans each well executed yet intricately bound where aims and measurement on achievement(s) of the whole is concerned.

If you cannot grasp such...well then?????? You may think that merely developing players is to itself an alpha and omega. ...and that would continue to be a pity.

The fact that we can run to England is a double-edged sword... which we have used a a crutch to avoid youth development and prioritize short term thinking

Failure abounds
                          Having the option to incorporate players into our squad is a great thing. It is the use of 'the ability to "run to England" - (Always wondered why most are hooked on 'England' and not finding our players wherever they may abide? ...hell England may have the talent we currently desire but England is not the World and if our people tell us anything it is "the World is our play ground".) - that is the problem.

It is best use of the "run to.." option that is best for our Country. Hey...there shall surely be occasion when 'best for our TEAM' is only to be found right here 'a yaard'.

Short-sightedness has this silly argument focused on 'home v farin'. Colossus waste of time!!!

I am a Jeffrey Webb man...but if he tells me 'jump over a cliff' I would at least wish to know if it is a wise thing to do.

You may think that merely developing players is to itself an alpha and omega. ...and that would continue to be a pity.
                              Nope...developing players within a system is the alpha and omega