Less African Teams for WC

• Less African Teams for WC

FIFA needs to reset the number of African teams at the WC. This is the second successive WC with only 1 team from Africa advancing to the 2nd round. Ivory Coast will advance and that's about it!

1 additional slot for South America & top 4 finish for Concacaf.

Sadly, I have to agree. They are not impressive.

Even without the red card, Cameroon was not going to win. Like Ghana, weak defense and poor finishing.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
      This is the second successive WC with only 1 team from Africa advancing to the 2nd round.
      Second successive?

If it doesn't happen this time it will be the eighth successive.

In fact, there hasn't been a WC yet to feature more than 1 African team in the 2nd round.

They are a real disappointment.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Ghana will advance

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

i usually share your views but not this time... After you calm down you wont think the same. I am not please with cameroon but a so it guh

Nope! ...encourage disciplined play!
              Re-visit the games Cameroon played. Talent Abounds! ...lack of discipline holds back a fulfilling of potential.

Sigh. Abundance of talent can be like natural resources, more of a curse than a blessing.

Despite many more top league professional players , the African teams are doing no better than they did in 1990. It is very disappointing.

Advance to Accra you mean?

I knew lots of talented youths in primary school. I try to hide from them on vacation, and when they see me they often beg fi a $50US.

anybody see Shatta Cleve????

It happen to Spain tuh!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                          FIFA needs to reset the number of African teams at the WC. This is the second successive WC with only 1 team from Africa advancing to the 2nd round. Ivory Coast will advance and that's about it!

1 additional slot for South America & top 4 finish for Concacaf.
                          Additional slot for SA for what? CAF have a membership of about 30 teams, CONMEBOL have 10 teams. You think any of the other teams, Peru, Venezuela, Bolivia etc would have done any better than the African teams?

Yes they have been disappointing with the exception of Ghana who is in a tough group and Ivory Coast that is in an easy group. Taking away places from Africa wouldn't give us a better team.

Careful, this is a reckless statement. As the pool of teams increases so does the difficulty of advancing. The qualification process is proving to be very good in terms of letting through only quality teams. As you can see with Belgium/Algeria no team will be given a free pass.

The African teams must raise their game to the next level as Klinsman did with the US. The Africans must figure out how to put economic issues behind them before going to the WC.

Cameroon is a talented team. If klinsman had their starting eleven for the US he would win the WC in Brasil. Talent alone won't cut it.

BTW what assurance do you have that more than one CONCACAF team will make it to the play offs?

Africa reached a milestone today as, for the first time in World Cup history, we have more than one African team in the knockout stages.

Congrats to Nigeria and Algeria.