Jamaican football - the issues

• Jamaican football - the issues

Guys this is what we have to showcase to the world and I am not talking about the quality of the football. Video quality is embarrassing for god sake this is 2014

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxw7ICgBbM8

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
    Guys this is what we have to showcase to the world and I am not talking about the quality of the football. Video quality is embarrassing for god sake this is 2014

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxw7ICgBbM8
    In contrast here is a presentation from a young player from Ghana. They have to deal with the same issues, bumpy playing surfaces, lack of funds and Jamaicans live like kings to these guys trust me. Yet they can present a video that you can
    actually watch. Why?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=okCn...ature=youtu.be

A question for those based in Jamaica. Are there many under 20 players playing in the RSPL?

Nice yuh think dem want a ransom and a bounty fi di yute ? yuh think dem agent only a penny England fi buss ?...Video a scratch di surface brethren, nuh bady naaw sign nuh yute wid vdeo, nothing beaths a trial , a market valued offer and contacts/links to make it happen.

CC: C .Rica....man get contract a europe, flop and Buss a Bolivia...transfer fee was in the 4 million range to europe, probably free to Bolivia.

The right fit.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Nice yuh think dem want a ransom and a bounty fi di yute ? yuh think dem agent only a penny England fi buss ?...Video a scratch di surface brethren, nuh bady naaw sign nuh yute wid vdeo, nothing beaths a trial , a market valued offer and contacts/links to make it happen.

CC: C .Rica....man get contract a europe, flop and Buss a Bolivia...transfer fee was in the 4 million range to europe, probably free to Bolivia.

The right fit.
          X, so what you saying to me, a club is gonna bring a player for trial just by hear say without no evidence whether the player is any good? What century are you living in?

What you are saying to me about video is as good as hearsay, doctored to fit! I am pretty sure the clubs factor this in,hence a trial or better yet a scouting mission.

Yuh still naah touch di ransom and contacts issue....the right fit.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

A video is an essential starting point to get a club to take notice, we have to remember when you dealing with clubs in Europe as far as they are concerned Jamaica is irrelevant when it comes to football. With things like the WYSCOUT platform clubs do not need to go to places like Jamaica to scout players, they have more or less everything at their fingertips so when clubs in Jamaica asking a King's ransom for an average player they could probably find 20 of the same ability or better on a free transfer elsewhere.

Now Yuh can start di debate.now deal wid di contacts why focus on only Europe?

Europe is the holy grail where 99 percent of players aspire to play

Just about the same everywhere.
                    Remember what Dunny said on personal contact...but the job is just about impossible when there is no worthwhile video and bio.

TALENT ABOUNDS...everywhere!

The question our NPL administrators must ask themselves is;
                    Why seek out players from a 4th tier league or 3rd tier football playing country...when excellent talent at home is being overlooked?

It is more expensive any which way you look at it to bring that NPL player to a trial or to send scouts to observe the player. A pre-view obtained through watching a video is the greatest step to gaining a trial save for that initial person-to-person introduction of the player to the club.

Our administrators are naïve or foolish?
                    Take your pick!!!

They make the job of those wishing to help them almost an impossible one.

I have come to the conclusion that the clubs in Jamaica have no real desire for players to find better opportunities abroad

Agreed, the video thing is miniscule, when you have clubs as you stated asking for ransoms( when clubs in Jamaica asking a King's ransom for an average player they could probably find 20 of the same ) ,trying to get into one location europe, which is saturated with cheap talent and global contacts,we are doing ourselves a disservice.

I have no doubt we have talent , what I doubt is the oppourtunities that clubs and administrators deny themselves and players..SIC.

Europe might be the holy grail but you have other grails.Nuh everybady a guh heaven.

There are many opportunities in Asia for players to go and earn a living, however
                          these clubs are not willing to pay transfer fees when they can pick up better quality African and Brazilians for free, so wherever you look it is difficult. The players in Jamaica need to get wise and not tie themselves down to long contracts giving them more flexibility.

That could be a good move to break the clubs ransom demands, a players union.

If you are a player who is in high demand then surely it is in your interest not to tie yourself down to any excessively long contract.