Ghana should beat Portugal....

• Ghana should beat Portugal....

...therefore it is critical that the US beat Germany.

(or the US and German coaches should get together and........).

Look, don't tell me y'all didd'en think about that contingency

That group has been so competitive that anything is possible.

I would not be surprised to see Portugal beat Ghana, although Ghana must start as favorites. That is more likely than the US beating Germany. Remember Portugal still has a chance if the USA has a meltdown against Germany and they manage to beat Ghana.

Interesting stuff.

Here are the scenarios:

-If the U.S. wins: The Americans are through to the next round as the winners of Group G and will play the second place team from Group H. (Belgium currently leads Group H, followed by Algeria, Russia and South Korea)

Germany would finish second unless Ghana or Portugal won and passed Germany on goal differential. Germany currently is plus 4, Ghana is minus 1 and Portugal is minus 4. The second place finisher plays the winner of Group H.

-If Germany wins: Germany wins the group.

The U.S. would finish second unless Ghana or Portugal won and passed the U.S. on goal differential. The U.S. is plus 1, Ghana is minus 1 and Portugal is minus 4. So, if the U.S. loses to Germany, it will be rooting for Portugal, because it's less likely that Portugal could pass the U.S. on goal differential.

-If Germany and the U.S. draw: Germany wins the group and the U.S. finishes second. The result of the other game is meaningless.

-If Ghana and Portugal draw: The U.S. and Germany advance. Germany wins the group unless the U.S. defeats them.

-Other tiebreakers: In any of these scenarios involving goal differential, if two teams are tied on points and goal differential, the next tiebreaker is total goals scored. Germany has six goals, the U.S. has four, Ghana has there and Portugal has two

Help:

Is Sulley Muntari out of the Portugal game because of yellow cards. i hope not.

Muntari is one of my all-time favorite mid-fielder. He is sooo unsung!

Yes he is, but in steps Essien.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yes he is, but in steps Essien.
            ...who if the game runs to form is toooooooooooo sloooooooooooooooow!!!!

btw - Remember if the USA loses it goal differential will take a hit...as the winner from the Ghana v Portugal game goal differential gets padded! On that score I would think Ghana would be the USA's main danger.

btw - What is the tie-breaker if points & goal differential are the same? Winner of head to head? ...or lots?

Just asking!

More goals scored.

Is Muntari the one who was "sagging"? He needs to pull his damn shorts up! I hardly think anyone wants to see his drawers.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

More goals scored.
                  ...found this on the FIFA web site:

The ranking of each team in each group shall be determined as follows;
                  a) greatest number of points obtained in all group matches;

b) goal difference in all group matches;

c) greatest number of goals scored in all group matches.

If two or more teams are equal on the basis of the above three criteria, their rankings shall be determined as follows;

d) greatest number of points obtained in the group matches between the teams concerned;

e) goal difference resulting from the group matches between the teams concerned;

f) greater number of goals scored in all group matches between the teams concerned;

g) drawing of lots by the FIFA Organising Committee.

Source: www.FIFA.com - Regulations - 2014 FIFA World Cup

He is well sung!

..........maybe he was unaware of the sagging.

The Man played his shorts-off!!

Essien is a capable replacement...just hope the rest will do him good.