France? How do you judge the quality of such a TEAM

• France? How do you judge the quality of such a TEAM

It should be acknowledged that France's opponents in her Group E are the 30th (tie Ecuador & Switzerland) and 32nd (Honduras) in quality of the 32 TEAMs at this World Cup. ...and those TEAMs are far behind on quality that the other TEAMs.

This is true, but IMO Ecuador was a worthy team in this group.

BTW, what did you all (forumtes esp. Koppites) think of Sakho's play? He looked improved over the EPL season to me...

Since you value FIFA ranking so much, explain to me why Spain, Italy and England are home kicking back and Costa Rica, Ecuador and Greece are about to start their overtime shift in the second round?
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Ecuador going home

Exactly! Those FIFA rankings are really just a suggestion in many cases. The formula is based on a variety of things. I believe, and correct me if I am wrong, if in a year, you play three international games and win all three, then you might be higher ranked than a team that plays ten and wins seven, because you have a 100% record.

It more than that and it's not perfect and therefore those rankings are to be taken with a healthy dose of salts.

All such rankings are just a guideline, not gospel.

Tell im agen fi mi!
              Tenk yuh!

...besides even he should know that is based on quality observed over stated period. Which tells quality in a few situations can improve rapidly or not...and that in one-off games lesser TEAMs can defeat higher quality TEAMs as on the day performance is the arbiter...and in tournaments quality can radically change for the better or worse as all types of external factors come into play.

btw - Heard the story on Cameroon (salaries, etc.) and that on Nigeria (Salaries, etc.) and the different effect it has had on each TEAM?
              ...and as a result we have to watch the resolve of Nigeria as that TEAM
              moves forward.

Huh?????
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Mi jus read di first line and done

Rankings?
                    Extremely valuable. ...bear in mind it is a snap-shot of a period in time. Also - Form can improve or deteriorate in a flash for a great many reasons....and...in one-off matches it is all about 'performance on the day'.

Hope that helps you.

btw - How would explain your running faster than Bolt when on threat of physical harm? Would that one-off act suggest you are rated higher than Bolt on a ranking chart of World's fastest athlete?

To answer your question directly - The winning team performed better in terms of the results gained in this tournament.