Costa Rica!!! Costa Rica!!! Costa Rica!!!

• Costa Rica!!! Costa Rica!!! Costa Rica!!!

1 CONCACAF team to the quarters......................CONGRATULATIONS.

That was close, especially being reduced to 10 men. I am happy for them too.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Not gonna beat around the bush .... mi glad Greece gone home. Whenever they play I struggle to stay awake. Love the fact that Los Ticos advanced.

Yes, congrats to the Ticos. It was subtle but I didn't miss it (how the Ticos were down to ten men) First the kid was given a yellow for an aggressive foul
        (justified) then out of the blue a second yellow for a simple nip that Greece was committing all game Keller and the other guy said nothing. I hope he realize that the same quite possibly may be done to the USA. Hey the USA was put (key operative) in the group of death with no hopes of them getting out. CONCACAF teams defied the odds so far

We need to examine the c.rican program.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I fear we may spend the next decade examining the Costa Rican program and those of the USA, Mexico, Belgium, Uruguay and who knows what next. Let's hope their programs are etched in granite and do not evolve over time!

I would not be surprised if the Federation is a vassel to work with clubs to transfer youths out of the country by 16 to 18.The national program has a football philosophy ,thats imparted to clubs with flexibility and conferences between stakeholders are held frequently.

Too simple.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I would not be surprised if the Federation is a vassel to work with clubs to transfer youths out of the country by 16 to 18.The national program has a football philosophy ,thats imparted to clubs with flexibility and conferences between stakeholders are held frequently.

Too simple.
                X, Costa Rica is a football country with a reasonable infrastructure so they are years ahead of Jamaica we may get to their level in about another 40-50 years

It would behoove us to find out how they got there post WC 98.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                    X, Costa Rica is a football country with a reasonable infrastructure so they are years ahead of Jamaica we may get to their level in about another 40-50 years
                    Dunny that specious argument sounds like a cop out which lays the groundwork for continued use of the current ridiculous strategy. This 50 year argument must be rejected by any means necessary.

Jamaica can be competitive with Costa Rica within 10 years if we're smart and use what natural advantages we have to maximum effect

The first job is to get rid of the mania about qualifying for the "next world cup" using shortcuts and replace that with mania about development.

It won't happen since we'll continue to be likkle hurry-come-ups using stupid short cuts... since the football leadership is stupid and fans are unaware
                    Last edited by Don1; June 30, 2014, 09:17 AM.

Dunny that specious argument sounds like a cop out which lays the groundwork for continued use of the current ridiculous strategy. This 50 year argument must be rejected by any means necessary.

Jamaica can be competitive with Costa Rica within 10 years if we're smart and use what natural advantages we have to maximum effect

The first job is to get rid of the mania about qualifying for the "next world cup" using shortcuts and replace that with mania about development.

It won't happen since we'll continue to be likkle hurry-come-ups using stupid short cuts... since the football leadership is stupid and fans are unaware
                      I don't care if we study CR, USA, Algeria, Australia or whoever, it won't matter as we simply do not have the right people to execute. Until we accept that we don't know how to do things, get people who have been successful to run things, and give them what they need, we won't get there. Our mentality is not of that ilk unfortunately, we are too cheap (or broke but I don't accept that). What we fail to realise is that while being cheap is expensive being arrogant is even worse.

agree 1000%... Fish, of all kinds, rots from the head

I am just basing the statement on the fact that Costa Rica's top league has been going since the 1920's compared to Jamaica's since the 70's most of the clubs in their top league have good support and decent stadia some with stadium capacity over 5,000 with a few over 15,000 so they are no joke as a football nation. Do Jamaicans really support football in any great capacity? Do we have the passion for football? Because without spectator support we will not get anywhere fast. Do our administrators at the JFF and those running the clubs have the long term vision, desire and know how to move us to the next level?

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                            . Do our administrators at the JFF and those running the clubs have the long term vision, desire and know how to move us to the next level?
                            the answer is NO... and that's the key problem at this stage. Not infrastructure

I am all for youth development, but why can't youth development and a successful qualifying campaign go hand in hand? Sorry I can't understand the logic of putting the interest of the national team on the back burner until players are developed!