• Ger v Algeria - Per Mertesacker v the fleet-footed

Algerian shall be a point of interest.
    ...and not just speed over ground but also when the ball is in Mertesacker's playing sphere and faster feet could snatch it away?????

Mesut Ozil?
    Germany may need him more than every before seen in this tournament. Why? ...to unlock the Algerian defense.

Can see that Germany has thought out the ALGERIANS

...and think one way to catch them out on attack is early behind the defense.

Algeria forwards' speed is a handful for Germany defense

Mertesacker 'doned' on pace already - 9min. Saved by

Germany's sweeper 'keeper!

11min. - Once more an attempt to out pace the Germans. So counter at pace is a threat from Algeria.

Aside: On pace - Which teams have slow players? ...how many slow players were on show in the Group Stage?

...and the consensus on pace being a must in today's football?

Just asking!

Imaging, this Algerian side have 7 players who were born in France in the starting 11. Can you imagine the uproar we would have if this were a Jamaican side featuring 7 "Snow Ballers" in our starting 11? All hell would break loose!
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Germany...my pick? In trouble!

The quickness of the Algeria TEAM attacks. ...a simple drag-back roll across goal and it would have been Ger 0 - 1 Algeria (15 min)

Good one! Off-side by a whisker!

I love this game!
              Yup! ...this game!

The Algerians

are in the ascendency (on easier chances)!
                ...but the game is 'nip and tuck'.
                Fair reflection would be, Germany 0 - 2 Algeria 22min.

Algeria better work on attacking the ball.

...appear to be faster to the ball and make more potent passes in the attacking third or at least when in opponent's half.

Mertesacker again too slow and again saved by the sweeper 'keeper.

The Germans are very uncomfortable with the Algerian speed.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Algeria doing well thus far.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yuh figet or bline tuh di Algerian's movement and passing/passing and movement?

One word! - SUPERB!!! They have so far shaded the Grmans in that area of movement and passing and that takes some doing.

Michael Balack keeps making excuses for the Germans...not strong enough, no forwards in the box, etc., etc. Algeria we are to infer are not 'all that'. He lies. Algeria was 'all that' during that first half.

Imaging, this Algerian side have 7 players who were born in France in the starting 11. Can you imagine the uproar we would have if this were a Jamaican side featuring 7 "Snow Ballers" in our starting 11? All hell would break loose!
                          He!he!he! 17 out of their 23 were born in France wonder how is the home based Algerian player development going?

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                            He!he!he! 17 out of their 23 were born in France wonder how is the home based Algerian player development going?
                            Like this. Wonder if Don1 reading?

Neuer? Must be the best sweeper...err...keeper in the world?

That header was absolutely needed. 72nd min.