• Gamma
    replied
    check neva clear though....

Leave a comment:

• Bricktop
    replied
    scrape through because of howard webb jr...we applied the pressure & buss di pipe...cyaan help it if ref inna man pocket

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    with a scrapethrough like that, not much to gloat about but if unnuh did lose...it would be about thursday before yuh surface and only if CL went well fi yuh!!!

Leave a comment:

• Bricktop
    replied
    prolific? yuh see me gloating? boy u fans should do the honourable thing & just stay away from the forum...instead dem come wit one bag a excuses

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    oh yes...city win. mi was wondering how yuh suh prolific this morning....

Leave a comment:

• Bricktop
    replied
    look what boy u fans resorting to...this is just pathetic

Leave a comment:

• Rockman
    replied
    Lol.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    Maybe if my moniker was Top Brick you would have reversed....
    Just find it rather childish....
    The distance between the wall and a spot kick is measured,does FIFA provide any specifics as to how far a defender should be from a keeper?Why is it perfectly legitimate for an opponent to stand in front of the keeper in corner kicks?Are there off limits grounds..?
    Exactly what was impeded, is it the kicking of the ball or safe flight of the ball?The latter is what Smalling impeded,again it was not a deadball situation,play never stopped.
    Rockie...Rockie, you are among friends. We will get you the help you need.

In the meantime, you have to let this rest. It is sending up yuh blood pressure and yuh not talking sense.

Leave a comment:

• Rockman
    replied
    That means nothing regarding what happened today,the conjunction "and" is binding as opposed to the word "or",is Smalling guilty of both...?

Leave a comment:

• Rockman
    replied
    Maybe if my moniker was Top Brick you would have reversed....
    Just find it rather childish....
    The distance between the wall and a spot kick is measured,does FIFA provide any specifics as to how far a defender should be from a keeper?Why is it perfectly legitimate for an opponent to stand in front of the keeper in corner kicks?Are there off limits grounds..?
    Exactly what was impeded, is it the kicking of the ball or safe flight of the ball?The latter is what Smalling impeded,again it was not a deadball situation,play never stopped.

Leave a comment:

• Bricktop
    replied
    totally diffeent situation...Joe Hart did not bounce the ball...he was attempting to release the ball downfield quickly to catch Boy U on a quick counter...Smalling impeded an was given a yellow which is given 100% of the time in the same situation...Crazie & Rockhead just a look excuse

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    The second yellow was deserved but the red isn't. Giving Smalling his first yellow for impeding or obstructing is heavy handed,really did not see anything wrong...
    We ended up losing Januzaj who was a handful for City flank players,in fact the ref should have issued a yellow...
    Water under the bridge,Carrick is being used as a defensive mid,I expect role reversal between Fellaini and Carrick,that would push Rooney further upfield,with a darting Di Maria.We can still pull it off.
    You clearly don't understand the laws...see below:

"If a player intentionally stretches his arms to obstruct an opponent and steps from one side to the other, moving his arms up and down to delay his opponent, forcing him to change course, but does not make "bodily contact" the referee shall caution the player for ungentlemanly conduct and award an indirect free kick."

Leave a comment:

• Peter R
    replied
    No foul there, goalie got careless!

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    Ok, suh now yuh confusing the issue.

I agreed with your first post on the matter tho!

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    Was the ball released into play? Or was the ball released from the goalie's hand as he attempted to punt?
    As per the thread -
    Not sure what you are getting at:
    i) Taken as said in context of impeding or effecting an obstruction:
    It is the act of impeding/obstructing that is penalized...so the ref does not have to await the release of the ball rather he must make his decision based on his observation of an obstruction.

ii) Taken as a request to recall whether or not the goalkeeper actually had released the ball at any time as the incident was called:
    Cannot remember. If I am to make a guess, I would say that he did not.

iii) Taken in the context of whether or not a ball is in play when released:
    When the ball is released it is in play!

Aside: When the goalkeeper has the ball as per Joe Hart - The ball is in play.
    ...but again, as per thread...the discussion was specific to the act of Joe Hart trying to release the ball=get rid of the ball without hindrance of an opponent. That is his right!

If not being hindered he then releases the ball in a manner that makes it playable by an opponent then the opponent has every right to play it. Matters not how he foolishly releases - Low throw in the air...or high throw in the air...puts it on the ground at his feet...or whatever. Getting clear of an opponent who is standing in front of the goalkeeper is an easy matter... Get physically clear and sensibly release the ball!

Referees are not on the field to prevent silly plays. They are there to manage fairness of play. That is commonly referred to as "Managing the Game".

Addition fact:
    An attacker merely be standing in front of or in close proximity to the opposing goalkeeper is not obstructing. The player has a right to stand on any spot on the field. It is the goalkeeper's job to move clear and sensibly play the ball. The goalkeeper is allowed a finite time to keep the ball in his grasp. Making no attempt to conform to that time limit is an offense punishable by the award of an Indirect Free Kick to the opposing team.

As practical matter, goalkeepers should make an attempt to sensibly get rid of the ball.
    Last edited by Karl; November 2, 2014, 12:27 PM.

Leave a comment: