• 3-5-2 for Carib Cup

Mariappa. Morgan. Lawrence

Austin. Watson

Powell. Campbell. Phillips

Brown. Dawkins

Not sure if Rum rum really ready but it is now or never time FI blood him, Carib Cup is a good starter for a little pressure cooking.

Phillips and Powell both decent defenders and also good attackers, will be excellent in transition. Brown and Dawkins both can create some havoc as well with pace and commitment to getting the job done, both hard workers.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
    Mariappa. Morgan. Lawrence

Austin. Watson

Powell. Campbell. Phillips

Brown. Dawkins

Not sure if Rum rum really ready but it is now or never time FI blood him, Carib Cup is a good starter for a little pressure cooking.

Phillips and Powell both decent defenders and also good attackers, will be excellent in transition. Brown and Dawkins both can create some havoc as well with pace and commitment to getting the job done, both hard workers.
    No Nosworthy?!

Which Brown is that as striker?

No Nosworthy, not enough repetitions now, if he is fit and looks good, maybe he plays centre back as the first sub or in a back four formation he plays if fit. Deshorn brown up front. As you can see this side is filled with speed and skill and all these players are producing for their clubs and are close to match fit.

What you think, who would you take out and would you play 3-5-2.

I have never really advocated for this formation before but this is the Carib cup and this formation with these players should get control of midfield, clog the lanes and we should have done really good counter attacking and just plain nice build ups with Phillips on left and Powell on right, supporting defense and rotating the point of attack. Really want to see if rum rum can play a full 90 and not necessarily command the game but stand his own and contribute and add value, that is the real challenge.

scores for the games in the group stage?

What has Brown MLS form been like this year. I am not too impress with any of our forwards MLS exploit this year. Whoever we put up there needs to SCORE. Not a bad team. We will see what the coach do as he said "if them nuh fit him a send them home".

You don't think Jamaica can win without the European-based players???
            A team with players from NPL, NASL, USL Pro & MLS not strong/good enough to win???

Why show such bias???!

Everyman should get an opportunity to represent his jamaican birthright or ancestry based on performance. Are you suggesting we pick teams based on geographical location?! Such an idea seems highly unusual to say the least. What are you smoking over there.!

I'm just thinking that since the Euro based players are playing club ball (and it's a long season), if you can win without them, then go ahead & do that.....If Bolt can win in the early rounds, running 9.90, and advancing to the finals, he's not going to go all out to break the record until the finals.
                Last edited by USAF; November 4, 2014, 06:15 PM.

Hahaha, now I know you have totally lost it. I am not sure if even one team from this hemisphere (western) could win their sub regional or full regional tournament with only home grown or Western Hemisphere league players, not even Brazil and Argentina, much less Ja and USA. All five USA gold cup wins came with European players included.

Not sure about Brown he is either close to busting out to be the best thing since sliced bread or he has a wicked case of shooting everywhere but in the net. I was looking at his stats this season and he is an enigma for sure. He scored ten goals in thirty matches or a 33percent strike rate, he is number twenty six in terms of goals scored however he has not one assist and last year he had four assists and ten goals, so he fell off more than a little bit.

Then you look at how many shots he took, it is astronomical, 121 shots, he took more shots that Bradley wright Phillips with 109 shots and that guy scored 27 goals with two assists. Clearly he is getting into position but his conversion rate is poor. Only one other player had more shots on goal, Robbie Keene with 122 shots and he scored 19 goals and had 14 assists.

Then you look at shots on goal and only four guys had more shots on goal than deshorn and if you look at shots on goal versus shots taken his percentage there is very good top five at 38percent but somehow his goal conversion rate from shots on goal is poor which means he is either getting off some weak shots, poor target picking or a case of nerves in front of goal, not sure what's happening there.

He is the real thing, talent, desire, but he is missing something to jump to that next level, may be maturity let's see what year three brings, his team clearly believes in him, as he got every chance to shine with 121 shots.

Ok!!!.....Are you saying that the Caribbean Cup is on the same level as the Gold Cup and Copa America???
                      If Jamaica needs a FULL strength team to be competitive & win the Caribbean Cup, will that team be strong enough to make Jamaica competitive in the Gold Cup???

No, but since there is no North American cup with Mexico, us and canada then the gold cup is the nearest thing to a regional cup for USA, as the Caribbean and Central America have enough teams for their own strong and very competitive regional cup, whereas a North American cup just makes no sense with three teams.