• Equal World Cup Pay Sought for Women

Jul 8, 2015

Following one of the most dominant World Cup final performances in history, and returning home to ticker-tape parades and record-breaking TV ratings, what the U.S. women's national team won't be doing is rolling around in its winnings.
    Sure, $2 million isn't nothing, but it's nowhere near what FIFA paid the winners of the 2014 World Cup; Germany made $35 million for winning that tournament.
    We broke down the soccer pay gap numbers for you and threw in a little tennis knowledge as well. Thanks to the efforts of Billie Jean King, tennis was one of the first sports in the U.S. to pay its players equally, regardless of gender. FIFA, you listening?

more

Didn't realize the revenue for the women's world cup brought in $1.4 billion, similar to the men's wc in Brazil.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
      Didn't realize the revenue for the women's world cup brought in $1.4 billion, similar to the men's wc in Brazil.
      Somebody must be pulling that out of the sky to support an agenda. They aren't even close.

I think people are putting the cart before the horse. How many stars we knew of in the men's world cup? Now ... how many female stars were known before the women's world cup? Wait, excepting Lloyd and Hope Solo name 5 players that just played in Canada? They need to look at the stats.

The attendance were higher in Brazil (including the average attendance). Fox said their biggest audience for a football match was the women's semis with 8.4 million. 11.1 million watched USA v Ghana on ESPN plus another 4.8 milliion on univision.

Some of these people need to take a step back.

Originally posted by Me View Post
          Somebody must be pulling that out of the sky to support an agenda. They aren't even close.
          Just another piece of fact ..

And while viewers made the Sunday match by far the most-watched soccer game in American TV history, little of that excitement could be seen in the tourney's marketing deals. Fox grabbed an estimated $17 million in ads from corporate sponsors of the elite women's matches — a tiny fraction compared to the $529 million ESPN pocketed in sponsorship revenue from last year's tournament in Brazil.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/...ens-world-cup/

That comment was made in jest.

It just a very good starting point for future negotiations in women football.

perhaps.

it all depends on what can be had for obtaining the rights. I am ok for the percentage to be the same 10% of whatever allocation their respective FA gets for the media rights or whatever they are entitled to receive from FIFA

Tight shorts me seh
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Tight shorts me seh
                    Fifa president Sepp Blatter has urged women footballers to wear skimpier kits to increase the popularity of the women's game.

more

Won't happen and they don't deserve it!