Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I feel sometimes like I'm beating a dead Jacka s s

LOL

I am an amateur accountant, I have no shingle but I do have some understanding of accounting generally. An ongoing discussion has been taking place where I have been trying to explain certain concepts in accounting which may or may not apply to football.

Here's the thing, I don't think my posts have been anti nor pro anyone, but merely by way of explanation of concepts so that the "valuation" discussions can move forward.

SO here goes for those who are interested. I found an article which I have not fully read, which deals with "Accounting for soccer players.."

A couple of pieces of information:

1. It would appear that football players are treated as INTANGIBLE assets. FYI if the intangible asset has a finite life it can be amortized. (Amortization in this case is synonymous with depreciation).

2. I will copy this excerpt here from the article. It responds to those who think contracts are not depreciated/amortized/written down:

As an intangible asset, the license to use the player paid through the transfer fee needs to be gradually written off. In this case, the write-off will be carried out throughout the economic lifespan of the asset (meaning the duration of the contract). The period of time associated to the value recovery of the asset cannot surpass 5 years, as the contract cannot be negotiated further (according to the new regulations) (Aronsson et al, 2004). On the other hand, if the value of a player’s contract is considered to lower (given his performance, injuries, conflicts etc.), the club may write down the value. In order to be able to do this, the club must have a comparison value and a solid reason. Adversely, write-ups are not recognized, in accordance with the prudence principle in accounting.

Be guided accordingly my friends

Here is the link to the article http://www.researchgate.net/publicat...s._Expenditure
    Peter R