If I live in Babylon and send mi pickney

Since the English left Jamaica, nothing has worked properly. We used to have the best education system in the developing world, where are we now? It is one thing to admonish the colonialists for the social injustice perpetrated for centuries, but "throwing the baby out with the bath water" was down right stupid. I submit that the woes we suffer today, are a direct result of our poor educational system...
    When wi haffi draw back fi colonization...i don't know!

I hope to respond further on this at another time.

Many of your points are sound...BUT

We have to face facts. Since the English left Jamaica, nothing has worked properly. We used to have the best education system in the developing world, .
      The excuse of "no financing" re youth development is a pathetic cop out. Poorer nations than JA have found ways. The problem is the JFF's poor, backward leadership and stupid football supporters who buy into their con game like dim-witted lemmings

As far as England/Babylon is concerned....when they had direct control of JA....yes everything generally worked well...for them and few selected elites. Those elites included the tiny minority granted a good education in a handful of schools

The remaining 95% of the population suffered from English designed oppression....living in servitude wiping Babylon asses, rampant poverty, malnutrition, illiteracy, racial discrimination and existing in hovels just a few clicks above chicken coops or hog pens.

In short, the English were (and in many respects remain) ABOMINABLE....and have yet to even apologize for or otherwise atone for their crimes against humanity. Those crime include genocide of 100+ MILLION people as a result of English slavery and colonial wars

The English are the greatest criminals, hypocrites & liars in the history humanity... bar none. Not even Americans or Russians cyan tes' dat entity
      Last edited by Don1; May 31, 2016, 11:34 AM.

The excuse of "no financing" re youth development is a pathetic cop out. Poorer nations than JA have found ways. The problem is the JFF's poor, backward leadership and stupid football supporters who buy into their con game like dim-witted lemmings

As far as England/Babylon is concerned....when they had direct control of JA....yes everything generally worked well...for them and few selected elites. Those elites included the tiny minority granted a good education in a handful of schools

The remaining 95% of the population suffered from English designed oppression....living in servitude wiping Babylon asses, rampant poverty, malnutrition, illiteracy, racial discrimination and existing in hovels just a few clicks above chicken coops or hog pens.

In short, the English were (and in many respects remain) ABOMINABLE....and have yet to even apologize for or otherwise atone for their crimes against humanity. Those crime include genocide of 100+ MILLION people as a result of English slavery and colonial wars

The English are the greatest criminals, hypocrites & liars in the history humanity... bar none. Not even Americans or Russians cyan tes' dat entity
        Just to be clear, I am not defending colonialism or the English. What I am saying is that the educational system they left in place in Jamaica worked well but for some inexplicable reason, we mashed that up along with many of the systems they did have that worked. What we should have done is kept what worked, fixed what was broken. Under our "independent" stewardship, this statement you made still rings true...

"The remaining 95% of the population suffered from [Jamaican elite] designed oppression....living in servitude wiping Babylon asses, rampant poverty, malnutrition, illiteracy, racial discrimination and existing in hovels just a few clicks above chicken coops or hog pens.

And that, actually, makes it even worse. We have swapped white oppressors for black ones. And to be clear, the educational system that preceded independence made Jamaica one of the most literate nations on earth, so to say it worked only for 95% is not entirely accurate; what was NOT there, was OPPORTUNITY. The English systematically denied access just like the Jamaican high class does today.

Jamaican High Class denies access ?

Ah wheh di ?

How dem duh dis exactly ? Dem lock up di school door dem ?

Is wheh di pickney dem innah di tertiary system come fram ?

Government educates di masses.. Govt get money from Taxes..

Mi recommendation is to grow the economy.. not destroy it (see the 70's experiment and the 90's debacle)

Review Lee Kuan Yew instructions in "3rd World to First" and note the differences in policies and execution. Either follow.. or remain in mendicancy..

Simple..

Donwanabees can yap all day about white man and colonialism and slavery and and socialism and classism and babylon.. Quixotic and irrelevant..

LKY said the yapping was interesting, however he had serious problems to solve so he had no time for it...

Last edited by Muadib; May 31, 2016, 12:39 PM.

Just to be clear, I am not defending colonialism or the English. What I am saying is that the educational system they left in place in Jamaica worked well but for some inexplicable reason, we mashed that up along with many of the systems they did have that worked. What we should have done is kept what worked, fixed what was broken. Under our "independent" stewardship, this statement you made still rings true...

"The remaining 95% of the population suffered from [Jamaican elite] designed oppression....living in servitude wiping Babylon asses, rampant poverty, malnutrition, illiteracy, racial discrimination and existing in hovels just a few clicks above chicken coops or hog pens.

And that, actually, makes it even worse. We have swapped white oppressors for black ones. And to be clear, the educational system that preceded independence made Jamaica one of the most literate nations on earth, so to say it worked only for 95% is not entirely accurate; what was NOT there, was OPPORTUNITY. The English systematically denied access just like the Jamaican high class does today.
            I highly doubt that data indicates that the education system under the British "worked well" for most or that JA was "one of the most literate" countries in the world.

I'd love to see the data upon which you base your conclusions
            Data I've seen shows most Jamaicans as semi-literate, illiterate or innumerate through the 1960s
            Last edited by Don1; May 31, 2016, 01:37 PM.

Still trying to wrap my mind around the statements above. Ben is to be expected. It has been documented that the Jamaican educational system primarily served the purpose of supplying semi-literate cheap labour. Those who had the opportunity to go to the better schools sometimes make the assumption this was par for the course. A frequent poster often praises Seaga but I doubt he has ever read anything he has written. He(Seaga) acknowledges in his autobiography that the JLP should have spent more on education. it is comical to hear people compare Jamaica to Barbados without ever comparing the percentage of GDP spent by each country on education during the so called golden years.

The % spend of GDP relative to the region is not the issue.. it is the size of the GDP relative to the region..

Your reference to Seaga is interesting however disingenuous as it relates to root cause.

Par for the course however.

Choose any metric you wish the point is we spent less on education on a per capita basis or GDP % basis during the golden years. The captain of the Golden year period admitted this and in fairness to him called for this to be changed.

What Golden years period are you referring to ?

Paul stop please don't. In this day and age when a smart phone is a computer with different operating system (android et al)? Come on do better than that.

It seems as if it's personal, hence it's hard for you to hold an objective argument on the issue. Giving JFF a Billion? No a 30 mil USD budget would qualify Ja easily. Look at how Brasil just brushed Panama aside without effort (ah mean it's Brasil but still) We struggle with Panama. Ja has the team to give Panama a resounding defeat.

Last check showed Bailey played last year March at the U23 level. Bailey scored from a free kick against Cayman.

My view on Bailey? Bailey is good but not world class. He has a lot more work to do. I commend him for the move to Europe though. He started Pro at 17 (good sign) whilst his peers in Ja fiddled with high school football. Bailey is at the journey man stage of his career. I see Bailey as a fore runner for Ja's first world class player. From where I stand;Bailey should jump at any call to play with the senior team. This way he could learn and adept under a different system and teacher. Bailey will be 19 in August. It would be a boon for him to get some mins. against quality teams such as Uruguay and Mexico (no disrespect to Venezuela).

I don't know what elite club he signed for but I think his profile would be more enhanced playing in an INT'L setting.

BTW did he cuss out the JFF or refuse an INT'L call up?
                        Last edited by Mosiah; June 3, 2016, 05:13 AM. Reason: Breaking the rules!

Last check showed Bailey played last year March at the U23 level. Bailey scored from a free kick against Cayman.
                          LOL!!