Orville Higgins : Burying The Butler-JFF Spat

• Orville Higgins : Burying The Butler-JFF Spat

A tick under five years ago, December 9, 2011, I wrote a piece in The Gleaner titled 'The Butler-Speid spat'. The article chronicled the background of the stand-off between Craig Butler and one-time KSAFA president Rudolph Speid.

I wrote then: "The long-standing battle started way back in 2007. Butler was then fighting for the right to get Stony Hill involved in KSAFA competitions ... . At that point, one Livingston Payne came into the picture and claimed that he was, indeed, the rightful owner of the Stony Hill franchise ... . Butler went to court after KSAFA advised that both men share joint leadership until the matter was sorted out."

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/c...utler-jff-spat

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

DEPENDING ON who you talk to, Craig Butler is either the greatest thing in the island when it comes to coaching and promoting our youth footballers, or he is an arrogant out-of-control man who believes that he should be a law unto himself. There is a running battle between himself and the Kingston and St Andrew Football Assoiation (KSAFA) that has been ongoing for a while, and the end seems to be nowhere in sight.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure2.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Bailey stock rises - Bull ead stock rises, love it , looks like a war on the horizon.Hopefully Bailey goes for a cool 30 million, the JFF looks the fool and more questions are asked.

I found it troubling that the couple of articles on the issue alluded unconventional and questionable means to achieve the end,that was the case too in the BBC article .

The inept JFF should call Butler's bluff,it should ask for his suggestions and then implement them,my guess is Bailey would still not play for Jamaica.
        In any event,the JFF clearly played no role in the development of Bailey,it has been found to be wanting.
        Last edited by Rockman; October 7, 2016, 12:22 PM.

Before I give my 2 cents why would you think it's a bluff and why wouldn't he play for Jamaica?

Given all what you know about football,esp Jamaican football.

Well didn't his agent alluded to the prodigy entertaining the idea of playing for Belgium, and isn't that agent known for using unorthodox methods ti achieve an objective?

He stated his belief that Belgium wants Bailey , is he to be criminalized for stating a probability ? doesnt mean he wont play for JA, in fact he has laid down conditions for such.That said how many of those other UB40 agents have laid down conditions to play for JA ?

We speak about this agent as if he is the only one using questionable means to achieve an end , in his kind of work is that abnormal cc: Big Sam and others in the U.K.

Would you say of vital importance to Bailey's career,getting capped is pivotal,if not,what is the alternative?

Sir X,why the Big Sam reference if not to show consequence?

1st the head of the fish is rotten (FIFA) how much so the tail (JFF) why not expect the excrements - (agents) .It is of obvious consequence , why do we hold our own to a standard that doesnt exist in the real world- this holier than thou - all enforced by the good ole Jamaican hypocritical schizophrenic colonial crucifix - violating protocol .

Being capped is of importance when the time comes.

Suh concessions are being made about evident character flaws but there is no possibility of any undisclosed ulterior motives here?
                      I will say it again,I do not believe the prodigy will play for Yard,if I am correct,then you are swallowing hook,line,and sinker,a damage control programme,he has to give even the facade of an explanation why Yard was refused.
                      Hopefully the JFF calls his bluff.

Who said there is no ulterior motives , given the concession of the business , everything is about motive !

There is nothing to swallow , i have accepted ulterior motives and concessions as par the business, so is damage control and facade.

What planet are you from , CC : Brendan Rodgers , Moyes, Blatter, Warner, ,Webb, Burrell ,Big Sam, Mino Raiola,Aidy Ward etc .I am glad he has presented a bluff, its about time someone did to the JFF!

Well time loonger dan rope,we will see how it guh.

I was alluding to being used unwittingly, there is NO justifying THAT.

Used unwittingly , the business is all about using ,yuh neva know dat ?

Burrell say di man dem fi play pan national pride why dem a beg money fah , dem english , Yuh figet dat ! When he had no qualms paying the UB40s in our 1st campaign , and they 40s stood in solidarity for the local boys.

Kissteeeth ! yuh seem vex that Bailey is wanted by Belgium or has other options , why no fuss for the UB40s who have said options ?

2nd is only Burrell/JFF allowed fi keep up almshouse ,same bredda tell man fi jump inna di sea ?

Like I said before,if Bailey is set on playing for Belgium then I have no interest in discussion about him on a site that is dedicated to players(you be forty before stop being selected or locals)who answered the call to duty.