• Jamaica 2 - Argentina 0

National U-20 Men’s Squad prepares for Pan Am Games

The National U-20 Men’s Team today recorded its second victory in the 2007 Pan American Games by defeating Argentina 2 – 0. This marks the Jamaica’s first victory over Argentina at any level.

Both goals were scored by Keammar Daley in the 82nd and 90th minutes. This is Daley’s 3rd goal of the competition, he scored the lone goal in Jamaica’s 1 – 0 win over Colombia on Sunday, July 15.

Jamaica will face Haiti on Saturday, July 21 at 10:30 Jamaican time.

The winners of each of the three Groups in the football tournament along with the best second place finisher qualify to the Semi-final Round which will be played on July 24.

Please see point standings below

Jamaica – 6pts from 2 games
    Haiti – 1pt from 1 game
    Argentina - 1pt from 2 games
    Colombia – 0pt from 1 game

The current squad is comprised of players at the U-20 and U-17 levels who participated in World Cup Qualifiers earlier this year.

blouse and skirt

How yuh gwine manage, Bricky? Dem nah call fi di AFA president head? How dem fi lose two time inna one week? I mean, 3-0 from Brazil is one ting, but 2-0 from Jamaica is enuff to send smaddy a jail!

Figget bout dat now this is great for Kemmar or whatever him name.

Well, let's hope it is. Seems like he could have scored more in the first game against Colombia.

Let's see what happens.

How old is he and what kinda frame he has?

LOL, Jail or yuh mean gallows

How old is he and what kinda frame he has?
                Just come out of the closet and dun nuh...

But hold on. Not to rub salt in their accomplishment, but Argentina's top team is playing in the U-20 world cup, and we failed to quality for that tournament.

True, but what does this tell you. It says either our youths were just a shade off making the competition (Under-20 World Cup) or Argentina really has no depth. Even if the Argies send a second string team, they should be able to put us in our place.

I am sure Jawge will tell you that this could not happen with Brazil?
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I am waiting for Karl to come and try to throw cold water on this in his efforts to undermine Boxhill...like he did with the two previous victories we had over Colombia.

Cold water on the accomplishments of our youth?

You have a very, very short memory. Do you remember who it is that writes just about everyday that we have talent in abundance?

As to Boxhill just ask yourself what form the Youth (boys and girls) would have been in with JFF guided preparations?

Just ask yourself, if it is not Boxhill at the head of the JFF who ORGANISED to stiffle exposure for this collection of youth denying them a 'steady diet of international competition'?

Just ask yourself if that erxposure and preparation was given by Boxhill's JFF how many of this squad and squads before them would be now enjoying contracts that would move themselves and families upwards financially?

If not Boxhill it is who has failed our youth, den a who?
                        Last edited by Karl; July 18, 2007, 10:36 PM.

Reggae Boyz shock Argentina 2-0
                          published: Thursday | July 19, 2007

Elton Tucker, Assistant Sport Editor

Keammar Daley ... struck twice for Jamaica yesterday. - file

RIO DE JANERIO, Brazil:
                          YESTERDAY PROVED to be a bitter-sweet one for Jamaica's football at the XV Pan American Games.

The Young Boyz shocked South American giants Argentina 2-0 in Group C of the men's competition, but the Reggae Girlz were humiliated 11-1 by Canada in women's Group A action.

Meadhaven United player Kaemmar Daley took his tally for the tournament to three as he scored both goals for the Young Boyz in the 80th and 90th minutes at the Miecimo da Silva Complex.

Boyz coach Wendell Downswell was extremely happy with the victory which all but gave Jamaica top spot in the group and a guaranteed place in the semi-finals. Jamaica are on six points from two games ahead of Colombia, three from two, and Argentina and Haiti, one point each from two matches. Colombia beat Haiti 1-0 yesterday.

"It is really an emotional feeling. I must give credit to the players for exhibiting good, tactical discipline against a team like Argentina," an overjoyed Downswell said after the game.

No mercy
                          Over at the Zico Football Centre it was a tale of woe for an injury-ravaged Reggae Girlz team. Canada showed no mercy to the walking wounded and the game was over as a contest at half-time with the red-and white-clad Canadians up 7-0.

Girlz coach Charles Edwards said his team came into the game with a lot of disadvantages.

"At the start of the game we could hardly find 11 fit players. We had two thigh injuries that were strapped up and the players could barely move, while we had two players out there with flu," Edwards said. The coach added, however, that with all the problems Canada were not 11 goals better than Jamaica.

"It could have been a lot less but I think the goalkeeper had a poor game in dropping a couple of balls that ended in the back of the net. All in all, the end result was a poor performance. I do not know the history, but in my recent time of listening and watching the Reggae Girlz this has got to be ranked as the worst ever defeat and it is a very disappointing moment for me coming here expecting a better performance."

Christine Sinclair found the back of the net four times in the first half for Canada who were 8-0 up before Venecia Reid pulled a goal back in the 60th minute for the Reggae Girlz.

Jamaica ended the preliminary round with four points from four games and are out of contention for a place in the semi-finals.

Thursday, July 19, 2007
                            Boyz shock Argentina!

... But Girlz mauled 11-1 by Canada at PanAm Games

RIO DE JANEIRO, Brazil - Kemmar Daley (3rd left) celebrates with teammates after scoring his team's second goal against Argentina yesterday. Jamaica won 2-0. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)

RIO de Janeiro, Brazil - Jamaica's footballers gave mixed performances on yesterday's sixth day of the 15th Pan American Games as the Under-20 Reggae Boyz surprised Argentina's Under-17 squad 2-0, while the Girlz succumbed to an 11-1 mauling at the hands of Canada

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...158&category=1

Originally posted by Hortikal View Post
                              But hold on. Not to rub salt in their accomplishment, but Argentina's top team is playing in the U-20 world cup, and we failed to quality for that tournament.
                              Yuh nuh hear seh is di Argentina Under-17 team wi did play ?