I remember when HL said MLS would be rivaling the EPL ,it seems to be in competition with the Australian league,if any.The Chinese bush league is the real competition for the EPL.It will only grow in value,now that's scary.
Last edited by Sir X; December 17, 2016, 10:26 PM.
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
They are a LONG way away from that, and I don't think it will last - "The Chinese bush league is the real competition for the EPL.It will only grow in value,now that's scary."???.......A bunch of wealthy businessmen going overboard with the spending to get in with Xi Jinping, who wants the CSL to be a TOP league.
Building a successful soccer league takes a LOT more than splashing out cash for "star" players.......The original NASL did that, bringing in players like Pele, Franz Beckenbauer, Giorgio Chinaglia, Carlos Alberto, Johan Cruyff, Johan Neeskens, Gerd Müller & George Best, and TOP coach like Rinus Michels (credited with the invention of the Dutch playing style of "Total Football"), and the league lasted only 16 years.......Wasn't it a few years ago, the Russian Premier League was doing pretty much the same thing and some were saying they would soon be the TOP European league.
The European teams are also making a killing on these transfer fees and none of these players are ELITE players.
Serie A and La Liga ran huge debts for years (maybe still for all I know) so there is precedent for operating at a loss with the blessing of the government
Infidelity does not consist in believing, or in disbelieving; it consists in professing to believe what he does not believe.Thomas Paine
The key is the government is backing it.Thats like having each team having the spending power of real and Barca * 2.
I don't see it ending anytime soon,even if it decreased ,it will only drop to be competitive in purchasing and salaries @ market value.
Still scary because it will still grow.
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Conte, whose team face Crystal Palace in the early kick-off today, believes that the money on offer in the Chinese Super League presents a "danger" to clubs all over the world.
But, even though he could understand why the move to Shanghai appealed to Oscar, Conte insisted that players must get their priorities right and put passion ahead of pounds.
"I think the most important thing for us must be the passion," said Conte. "The passion for football. If you haven't got that, it's no good. No good.
"I repeat: this concept is very important. Before the money must be the passion - the passion for the sport, for football.
I think Conte is either disingenuous or just hypocritical.
How does he think small clubs feel when the big clubs, financed by billionaires, begin to snap up the best players in the world? Where is the passion about football there? What's the difference there? Beg him low di Chinese! It has always been about money with these players.
They are a LONG way away from that, and I don't think it will last - "The Chinese bush league is the real competition for the EPL.It will only grow in value,now that's scary."???.......A bunch of wealthy businessmen going overboard with the spending to get in with Xi Jinping, who wants the CSL to be a TOP league.
Building a successful soccer league takes a LOT more than splashing out cash for "star" players.......The original NASL did that, bringing in players like Pele, Franz Beckenbauer, Giorgio Chinaglia, Carlos Alberto, Johan Cruyff, Johan Neeskens, Gerd Müller & George Best, and TOP coach like Rinus Michels (credited with the invention of the Dutch playing style of "Total Football"), and the league lasted only 16 years.......Wasn't it a few years ago, the Russian Premier League was doing pretty much the same thing and some were saying they would soon be the TOP European league.
The European teams are also making a killing on these transfer fees and none of these players are ELITE players.
Agree with you USAF.
Carlos Tevez is set to complete his mega-money move to China despite Boca Juniors fans begging their hero to stay in emotional scenes on Sunday night.
The 32-year-old Argentina striker is poised to sign a staggering contract with Chinese Super League club Shanghai Shenhua worth an estimated £615,000-a-week.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
USAF ,its far from replacing the EPL but my point is ,it is competitive to the point of being an financial option for players ,like the russian league .The russian league had a brazilian player linked to LFC , we had it all lined up until the chinese came and swooped in.BTW the russian were not selling the player to LFC for chump change,thats to indicate the strength of its bargaining power.
If this madness last for at least 16 years ,it will have a telling effect on the world leagues,not just the EPL.To compare that to what the americans did in the 70s ,is ridiculous.Those were over aging stars,these are youths in their prime.
Let him go I say! ...to whomever wishes to pay him his outrageous demands. A TEAM is more than any one man!
Karl this is why your team will not win another big trophy while The Gringe is at the helm. You are telling me that your best and most important player, in his prime, cannot get a salary comparable to a senior citizen like Schweinsteiger who up to a month ago was relegated to playing with our kids. Wenger wants to pay his top players mid-table salaries and expects to roll with the big boys. He's paying below market value. Sanchez could easily command a salary of 250 per week with any of the big 3 England clubs...Chel$ki, $h!tty or the Empire.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Serie A and La Liga ran huge debts for years (maybe still for all I know) so there is precedent for operating at a loss with the blessing of the government
Google is your best friend use it (find out how many brazilians of youthful worth are plying thier trade in China) then you can broaden your search to other nationalities. I didnt mention him,that said Tevez ! alot of european teams would die for Tevez esp the prem in his current age and form.
The business model/practice the CSL teams are engaged in is unsustainable…….The RPL had to “slow down” on their crazy spending, that they started with, because the teams & league weren’t being profitable…….What you stated about the player that LFC wanted (that was probably Alex Teixeira, who played with FC Shakhtar Donetsk, and they paid €18M more than LFC offered) is BASIC BUSINESS PRACTICE & common sense – If I have a product valued at $1M & someone offers me $10M, I’m going to take it, even if I know they’re overpaying…….Now that the rest of the world sees that CSL teams are willing to shell out that much for players, teams are going to start jacking up the transfer fees, and the players will be demanding some crazy salaries, when a CSL team comes calling…….Earlier this year, end of February 2016, it was reported that the CSL spent €259M for that transfer window, while the EPL spent €247M. The CSL is outspending the Premier League (the Richest League in the World), which part of that make good Business sense???
In 2015, the team that’s signing Oscar, generated $37M in revenue. This year, they went out & spent €56M for Hulk, plus paying him about €20M a year (€384,000 per week). Now, they’re going to pay about €60M for Oscar, plus paying him €20M a year – CR7's current deal pays him $379,782 per week & Messi's is $266,368. Reports are that, a team that generated $29M in revenue (2015), is planning on bringing in Carlos Tevez, paying him $37.5M a year ($762,000 per week).
The teams aren’t attracting the expected large support either. The average team attendance (compared to MLS, another growing league): CSL – 44,883(High) & 9,831(Low); MLS – 42,636(High) & 14,094(Low)
I wrote that “Building a successful soccer league takes a LOT more than splashing out cash for "star" players”, and stated that the old NASL did that & failed, so what is ridiculous about what I wrote???…….Yes! The star players that the old NASL targeted weren’t in their prime, BUT they still had something to offer (their play & international name recognition), and were bona fide International SUPER STAR players, that are STILL recognized as some of the BEST players EVER…….Carlos Tevez, who the CSL will make the highest paid player in the world, is now 32 years old & will be 33 by the time he starts playing in the CSL. Of the players I named, only Pele was older than Tevez, when he started playing in the NASL & some were younger. Plus, players like Beckenbauer (with Hamburg) & Cruyff (with Ajax, Feyenoord & Lavante) played in TOP European leagues, with good teams, after playing in NASL…….And with all the BIG spending ONLY Carlos Tevez can be classified as a “super-star” player, today…….They paid €42M for Jackson Martinez, who was a flop at Atlético Madrid & hasn’t been a factor for Colombia since the 2014 World Cup; and paid €50M for Alex Teixeira, who has yet to be capped by Brazil…….Tevez (32), Ramires (29), Graziano Pellè (31), Paulinho (28), Jackson Martínez (30), Gervinho (29), Stéphane Mbia (30), Fredy Guarín (30), Obafemi Martins (31), Demba Ba (31), Hulk (30) – Are these the YOUTHS IN THEIR PRIME??? .......Oscar (25) is a good player, BUT he was sold because of his inconsistent play & he was not an important part of Chelsea’s future, and Teixeira (26) was a star player for FC Shakhtar Donetsk, BUT never played in any of the TOP leagues & has not been capped by Brazil.