• Munro: A feeder school

Level up di buying !

Malvern, St Elizabeth — In December 2017, six football players left the agrarian surroundings of Munro College in St Elizabeth for Kingston College in the densely populated urban setting in downtown Kingston.

Fast-forward to October 2018 and Kingston College — led in large parts by the scoring prowess of Oneeko Allen, one of the players who 'transferred' from Munro College — won their first eight games without conceding a goal, and are among the favorites to win the ISSA/Digicel Manning Cup, breaking a drought that has lasted for over 30 years

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/obser...5?profile=1498

Buying is not the problem of the educational system ,the problem with the educational system is education,even if we stopped all the buying ,nothing would change in regards to educating the youths the same levels of failure would persists.The oppourtunities both athletic and educational would decrease,you see old boys pumping millions into athletic infrastructure,mini stadiums and track fields ,by extension over seas and local scholarships are attained by youths to go to colleges.

A school like Munro should be allowed to offer whatever ,to youths who want an education or athletic oppourtunity to compete with schools who manipulate the system without penalty.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Interesting why leave Munro for Kc other than sports. It is not a academic decision. I could see a player going from Jonathan Grant but from Munro that’s flat out football or track.

What are the tangibles that come with that,THINK !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Would those players make it to six form at their former school?

Would those players be (( promoted)) for scholarships to colleges ?

Try in English.

KC, JC, St Georges a dem school deh ave di links fi scholarships overseas ! When last yuh ear Munro Balla get scholarship fi play ball overseas ?

Thats because they get academic scholarships... people get scholarships from all over the place. I dont think you need to go to a major to get looks.. Mattocks got his looks @ bridgeport... You may need to play deep in the competition but KC is not a sure thing the last time they won was about 40 years ago.. It is plain player buying.. that is really my point..

Dangerous question... you saying they are not smart enough to get into Munroe upper 6 but can at KC... what does that say at KC... but if they got into Munro I would think they ought to be able to do so.. It comes down to buying although the fortis them will say oh no we dont buy players only JC and Georges..

All all the students in high school meet the requirements for sixth form?
                    KC is as good as any regarding academic, however, it more likely than Munro will will give the coveted spot to a student athletically inclined at the expense of a regular student that is more deserving.

I think you are mistaking the above reproach blue and white for the maroon and yellow or the green and black.

You hit the nail on the head,why would a youth desperate for a scholarship stay with a school that has a low % of (((may))) to get a football scholarship ?

And it's not reserved for winning but being in the quarter to finals , consistently ! Which they have done.

Of course it's about buying and who has the more pull or advantage to buy.

you meant KC will give it to a athletically inclined student.. I agree with you an X for the most part where it gets cloudy for me is when the KC uses the argument that we are helping the kid from taking them from a poor school and giving them more resources. I am saying from Munro to KC is no upgrade academically and if it is only for athletics then the argument the big schools always uses is flawed because Munro is a big school athletically and academically..... If its my son he aint moving... If you are good enough the scouts will find you.

Munro lucky dem get outta dem zone,how scout must find yuh.

Kisssteeth,Munro's best days were in the 60s footballitically .The solution is to free up the buying ! not everyone will get a CXC pass,some people will rise to the basic education,whats wrong with a school reserving 3 spots for students who can only attain such.

That would add balance to the buying thing.Munro could keep its ballers and scout the Island areas,zones,garrisons,bushes,ghettos for 3 who have that basic or can attain it.

Let them graduate with a trade like carpentry.
                          Last edited by Sir X; October 9, 2018, 06:11 PM.

Agreed!