Western clubs plan protest action on Cable & Wireless' Kingston office

RE: Western clubs plan protest action on Cable & Wireless' Kingston office

I think the deal reflects access. Some will spin it and say success. Well if its alll past champions Seba and wadadah are champions. Again I thin when you have Omar and the Bicknell brothers in your corner you have access regardless if they are not sitting at the table. I would not expect the minister of finance to sit and negotiate a deal with C&W a company that ultimately his portfolio or that of his colleagues can significantly influence. I am just shocked that no one saw this negative backlash. Again I holpe the western clubs can then leverage this in going with the competitor. Where is flow or the project MLChin is working on .

OJ (8/8/2006)I think some here missed the ramification of this. Someone here in the know had clarified the issue stating it was more than the four involved initial and it then came down to four. While I have no reason to doubt that from a marketing perspective its not a good thing for Cable and Wireless as it brings negative publicity for those constitiuents in the west. What I wouldl have like to see more than a protest is seba reno village and Wadadah doing a deal with a competitor and see how the shortsightedness of boxhill and co. would deal with this. I think some of us here Karl and Mosiah should be more objective and stop gwan like assasin a idiot . He saw though it and what the fallout would be and you dont have to go to Cornwall to see that. I am surprise Schatta is so quiet on this.
      Missed the ramification?

...and, what ramification are you speaking about? Certainly not loss of business to Cable & Wireless?

i) If you mean the opportunity is there for say a Digicel or another entity to talk to the other clubs, that is obvious...but, are the clubs working at that?

ii) If you mean there is an opportunity to break the curse of having clubs being run by poor managers by investment oppotunites for someone/some entity who would pressure the clubs - a) announcing which club is in the spotlight for a hostile take-over...and, lay out to the 'world' the finincialbenefits to the individual member to cause a revolt and te outster of the managementand the installing of the investor who applied the pressure?

That was said already.

iii) If you meant the opportunity is there for good managers to step in and run out the present managers...that has been said already.

iv) If you mean all the clubs have the ability to garner excellent sponsorship deals but are held back by 'silly, incompetent, down right STUPID managers that has been on this reggaeboyzsc.com forum from God knows when?

v) If you mean thepoor incompetent managershave been badgered by the JFF over the years to re-tool andfire the poor managers and good the route of professionalism...that also has been beaten to death.

What other stuff you are saying?

karl I find it insulting to my intelligence and that of sass for you to believe that it simply a matter of black or white. Poorly managed club vs. well run. I am sure there are well run clubs who are not included. I do think for the record that there is NO problem with the deal but I would challenge anyone here to look at the clubs in the NPL with strong sponsorship $$, look at facilities construction and the sort and tell that all comes down to strong management!... Be objective for Karl . I was once told look past your roof and you will see stars...

Karl you just making yourself a clown.

This is the perfect reason Jamaica will not be better off. It is so easy to call people stupid, dumb etc.

Where I work, we put proposals togather for funding, we get experts, get the advice of county and the State along with SUNY who look over these proposals, give advice and guidance, and we have PHD's like water.

We have people come in and teach us about writing grants. I just work on a project with Alumni software and how reach them. Are you suggesting we are stupid too?

It is a matter of if you haven't the experience it nuh matter how bright you are you need the guidance. It is a matter of the JFF studying what work and what doesn't work and provide the wisdom.

What is so stupid about that. Sometimes unnu talk too much from unnu heart without thinking about Data and proper resources to get info.

Too many decision are made because of our heart it is time to start use studies and data which in too many cases are available to us. Stop thinking Micro and start thinking Macro.

Lazie (8/8/2006)... and Village is a dollyhouse operation? Sickko sent an article about the financial problems. Village didn't seem to be running a back a wall operation, I guess because dem is a country team .. unuh naah guh see that.

This deal had nothing to do with equality nor business ... it is clear what this was all about.

Unuh all can fool unuhselves.
            I am amazed that with all you 'thinking process' laid out here for us to see over the years you would in all honesty consider Village better than a "back a wall operation".

1. What has Village done over the years to move towards having a successful business enterprize?

2. Has Village even purchased premises for a future field? Dem buy land...an a pay fi hit?

3. They have been in business for God knows how long...what do they own?

In your expected jibberish you dont see the obvious. What is the reason for sponsoring anything? is it alturism or marketing. If its the latter why would you run the risk of alineating a large market segments. Would remax sponsor only youth soccer teams in Miami-dade and say **** Orlando. Why people in orlando dont buy houses?.. why is it so hard to get you to see things in the real world?

OJ (8/8/2006)karl I find it insulting to my intelligence and that of sass for you to believe that it simply a matter of black or white. Poorly managed club vs. well run. I am sure there are well run clubs who are not included. I do think for the record that there is NO problem with the deal but I would challenge anyone here to look at the clubs in the NPL with strong sponsorship $$, look at facilities construction and the sort and tell that all comes down to strong management!... Be objective for Karl . I was once told look past your roof and you will see stars...
                It is insulting to speak of the NPL clubs as well run and to expect the Massive to believe you?

Questions:

How long has each NPL club been in existence?

Does each club have its own - club house and or playing field and or changing rooms?

What is the worth of each club?

When has each club turned a profit?

When has one of our clubs won a Caribbean Championship? When has any of our clubs won a CONCACAF Championship? Are the players and staff of our clubs paid each and every agreed payment cycle/date?

What would you consider a club would have to be to be considered well run?

Assasin sorry to have to say this , but you like those clubs have to change your/their way of thinking and no this is no vindication of your line of thinking

What is your real question? My answer to you is irrelevant as I dont thing this has anything to do with well run or not. Having Omar Davis or the chariman for UDC on your board provides access. I am not here to say this club is run out of a car trunk and this one is not. It might be well true that seba is still run out of a car trunk I dont know but I do know village is NOT.Why dont you argue with Jerendini and co who have stated that because HV is not a garrison club they have do it on there own. Which club is better adminsitered than Hview again you kill your own argument.

assasin (8/8/2006)Karl you just making yourself a clown.
                      This is the perfect reason Jamaica will not be better off. It is so easy to call people stupid, dumb etc.

Where I work, we put proposals togather for funding, we get experts, get the advice of county and the State along with SUNY who look over these proposals, give advice and guidance, and we have PHD's like water.

We have people come in and teach us about writing grants. I just work on a project with Alumni software and how reach them. Are you suggesting we are stupid too?

It is a matter of if you haven't the experience it nuh matter how bright you are you need the guidance. It is a matter of the JFF studying what work and what doesn't work and provide the wisdom.

What is so stupid about that. Sometimes unnu talk too much from unnu heart without thinking about Data and proper resources to get info.

Too many decision are made because of our heart it is time to start use studies and data which in too many cases are available to us. Stop thinking Micro and start thinking Macro.
                      Why did you earlier say the clubs were stupid?

Let me remind you: We were agreed that these leaders were not going out looking...yes, looking for the expertise to make them and their clubs successful!

What you have just told me about your company is, they looked for the expertise...in two ways! i) They hired persons who knew that the expertise had to be found ( You got the software - i.e. instrument already pre-wired by an expert & ii) You...yes, you said your company when out and hired outside expertise - the courses you mentioned & the outside 'people help' you mentioned.

---- So you said, the club leaders are stupid. You said it when you said they needed someone to come to them and show them that they needed the expertise to write their plans and execute the plan after it had been written...clearly insinuating those club leaders had not the 'brains' to work that out themselves!

Additionally you were also saying (if not openly rather keeping it 'between the lines') that the club leaders are so dumb that they do not even realise that they are failing!

The difference between us is I face the fact head-on...you beat around the bush!

assasin (8/8/2006)Karl you just making yourself a clown.

Yuh read wah yuh jus seh? Guh rad hit agen! This is what you said -

We have people come in and teach us about writing grants. I just work on a project with Alumni software and how reach them.

Massa yuh jus seh in wan breath dat yuh disagree wid mi...an innah di same post yuh repeat what I justsaid!

What have I said? That the club leaders are silly and they show it by not going out to find and use expertise necessary! Where is what I am saying different from what you just said?

I'll repeat - I face the fact of the silliness of the club leaders head-on...you beat around the bush! Why do you do that? Godknows! I sure do not!

OJ (8/8/2006)What is your real question? My answer to you is irrelevant as I dont thing this has anything to do with well run or not. Having Omar Davis or the chariman for UDC on your board provides access. I am not here to say this club is run out of a car trunk and this one is not. It might be well true that seba is still run out of a car trunk I dont know but I do know village is NOT.Why dont you argue with Jerendini and co who have stated that because HV is not a garrison club they have do it on there own. Which club is better adminsitered than Hview again you kill your own argument.
                          Let us say you are right. The clubs in PNP areas got together and got a deal!

Question: What them prevents any other interest group - Clubs in JLP areas? Western Clubs? KSAFA clubs? Portland Clubs? etc, etc...from banding together and exploiting their strengths?

I find nothing wrong with what has occured. In fact, The newspaper (Observer, I think - see reggaeboyzsc.com site) and Courtney made us know that whatever was asked of the other NPL Clubs in return forC&W's sponsorship those clubs refused to give.In my mind, they took a conscious decision to forego the C&W sponsorship on the terms offered.

"Courtney made us know that whatever was asked of the other NPL Clubs in return for C&W's sponsorship those clubs refused to give. In my mind, they took a conscious decision to forego the C&W sponsorship on the terms offered."

Can you then say why these clubs demonstrating if they didn't want C&W sponorship?

Please be advised there is no Portland Club in the NPL.

They way unnu approach thing the NPL and Jamaica football will never be better. As long as food inna my pocket mi alright, that is the mentality around here, not how do you make the league better and provide a basic standard for all involved.

As I said my problem is 5 clubs in the league have all the private sponsors and the other 7 have none. Something is wrong.

Are they just going to wake up one day and get a light bulb inna them head?

The fact of the matter is how do leaders implement changes? That is what the JFF have to ask themselves and act according or the NPL will always be the league it currently is. Look at studies how others made their leagues better and you will see the kind of assistance the clubs have been able to get in providing leadership/funding etc.

and how many experts in Ja you know have written a proper proposal for a football club?

Let me done because when it comes down to it all, nothing nuh matter unless it is business as usual so we will continue with no growth in the NPL for the forseen future.