So the man dem a play football inna 100 degree

• So the man dem a play football inna 100 degree

How the hell do you play football in 100 degree? Not only the turf is a problem but dehydration is worst. Them a prepare for the world cup in the middle east?

Now I understand more that ever what is happening. You can't blame the heat at 100 degree, just like you don't play when lighting is striking.

You made a good point yesterday about ATLUTD turf being watered prior start and during half time.

The advantages of turf outweighs it's disadvantages. That's the simple reason that is used.

Pity the Europeans and South Americans didn't get your/ mls memo

Friggin clown.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You made a good point yesterday about ATLUTD turf being watered prior start and during half time.

The advantages of turf outweighs it's disadvantages. That's the simple reason that is used.
        HL lets do a table top excersise for the fun of it to look at ROI for turf in Jamaica compared to natural grass. I am not sure turn wins.

well a grass pitch requires on average 100,000 litres of water per day...NWC commercial rate is $480/1000 litres...that's close to $120,000 USD a year in irrigation alone...we haven't added in the fertilizer/herbicide cost yet...a new artificial turf is $500k USD (base & turf) 10 year warranty & replacement cost is like $175k USD...you still have maintenance cost to sanitise the field & add rubber pellets but it's way cheaper

You forgot to add the most important cost,injuries

Breaking it down, injuries in upper and lower extremities and torso occurred more frequently on artificial turf than on natural grass. When analyzing by sport, researchers found that football, men's lacrosse, rugby, and girls and boys soccer had higher rates of injury than other sports.

https://www.uhhospitals.org/for-clin...-natural-grass

One study showed playing on synthetic turf in the NFL resulted in a 16% increase in lower body injuries
            • 1,280 NFL games (213,935 distinct plays) were played during the 2012-16 seasons.
            • 4,801 lower body injuries occurred during the study sample, affecting 2,032 NFL players.
            • Synthetic turf resulted in a 27% increase in non-contact lower body injuries.
            • Athletes had a 56% higher rate (knee/ankle/foot) of sustaining an injury on synthetic turf that resulted in time lost, and a 67% higher injury rate resulting in more than 8 days time lost from injury.
            • Athletes had a 68% higher rate of sustaining an ankle injury rate on synthetic turf that resulted in any time lost from injury and a 103% increase in injury rates on synthetic turf resulting in more than 8 days time lost from injury.

https://globalsportmatters.com/healt...rface-is-best/
            Last edited by Sir X; September 29, 2021, 05:37 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You forgot to add the most important cost,injuries

if you think players get more injuries on turf than some of the cow pastures that pass for fields in the Jamaica Premier League then you're delusional

Well they are saying that,isn't that the implication of the initial post which I brought up ..

Come again.

well a grass pitch requires on average 100,000 litres of water per day...NWC commercial rate is $480/1000 litres...that's close to $120,000 USD a year in irrigation alone...we haven't added in the fertilizer/herbicide cost yet...a new artificial turf is $500k USD (base & turf) 10 year warranty & replacement cost is like $175k USD...you still have maintenance cost to sanitise the field & add rubber pellets but it's way cheaper
                    I think you are making the same mistake many people make with grass fields. You need drought resistant strains like Bermuda which you can water one or twice a week. I can’t speak to the volume of water but that sounds high. You are right I. That irrigation is an issue but we are suppose to be the land of wood and water, Where they ha e the current turf at UWI outdoor ha e easily. Even grass as they could have built in water harvesting from the building.

Also as Sass will tell you they are fields with rivers and streams close by.