STETHS Sports facility to be 'best in the west'

• STETHS Sports facility to be 'best in the west'

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>PAUL A REID, Observer West writer
    Thursday, August 03, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=365 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>The facilities at STETHS are being renovated to be the best in the west</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Keith Wellington, vice-principal of the St Elizabeth Technical High School (STETHS), says the $9-million renovation to the institution's sports facility is almost done and that expectations are that it will be officially opened on September 1, in time for the start of the daCosta Cup season.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The extensive renovation that was undertaken by the Digicel Foundation last year as part of their community outreach, is expected to make the STETHS field one of the best in the island, by eradicating the stones, debris, bald patches and uneven surface.<P class=StoryText align=justify>It included the resurfacing of the entire field to transform it into a lush grassy surface and doubling the seating capacity in the main stand behind one of the goal posts.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Wellington said the facility would be handed over during a day-long series of events on September 1. The opening ceremony is expected to include a cricket game in the morning, an official opening ceremony in mid-afternoon and a football game in the afternoon.<P class=StoryText align=justify>He said most of the work was done by contractors and work men from the area, except for the field which was fixed by Brandon Murray who also worked on the fields at Brancourt in Clarendon and the UDC field in Montego Bay.<P class=StoryText align=justify>On a tour of the facilities on Friday, Observer West saw work being carried out on the stands while sections of the field were being watered.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Wellington who conducted the brief tour said the work would include the covering of the main spectator stands that would see the seating capacity doubled.<P class=StoryText align=justify>There will also be changing rooms at the back of the stands while there would be storage facilities underneath, he said. The cricket pitch would be adjusted to lengthen the straight boundaries at one end. The walls, fences and security gates would also come in for a lot of work, Wellington said.<P class=StoryText align=justify>One major change that had taken place was the removal of the netball courts that were situated inside the fence in close proximity to the main stands. The netball facilities will be relocated onto the basketball courts at the other end of the field.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

RE: STETHS Sports facility to be 'best in the west'

Will that make their performances the best, not only in the west but in the whole country?

Westman (8/8/2006)Will that make their performances the best, not only in the west but in the whole country?
      You remember a song back in the 70s with lyrics with something like this:

Yuh bad mind, you grudgeful, mi say yuh envious. . .
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Congrats on the improvements to the STETHS field and overall grounds, Tilla!

It's good to see STETHS and Munro working together. You may be interested to know that the development of this new ground was driven and built by two Munro Old Boys, Keith Wellington (VP, STETHS) and Brandon Murray (CEO, Brancourt Sports). The funding for the operation came from the Digicel Foundation so the influence of another Munro alum, Harry Smith, should also be noted.

Congrats again, Tilla!

Never miss a chance to say Mo love Munro:P

So these Munro old boys dont want to help fix up the Munro fields?

Oh BTW, CC is also getting $9m but we are using our money to fix up the physics lab and not to use to fix any football field.

Figure it out.

Sickko (9/20/2006)So these Munro old boys dont want to help fix up the Munro fields?

Oh BTW, CC is also getting $9m but we are using our money to fix up the physics lab and not to use to fix any football field.

Figure it out.
              Sickko: Maybe you need to fix your physics lab more than you need to fix your fields. Both are important and we should not try to slight STETHS in giving the impression that the money spent on the fields reflects misplaced priorities. In over 41 years STETHS has been in existence, maybe it is the first time they are doing anythin to upgrade the fields.

During my time as a student there, they had physics, chemistry and biology labs added courtesy of Alumina Partners of Jamaica (ALPART). ALPART was also very instrumental in the construction of the stands on the western side of the fields. Another thing I knew ALPART did was to give the school use of some adjoiningland(150 acres) on a long term lease for something like 100 years at a cost of some cents per year.

We always want to see our sportsmen and sports women perform on the international level, but we do not think it is necessary to provide good facilities to develop the talent.

I am sure the people who are in charge of running the school will exercise prudence in allocating their resources where they think it is most needed. I am sure that as they have upgraded their fields, they are eying other projects to improve the institution.

If Cornwall need physics labs, they need to build just that. Don't watch what we do with our money.

Mo, thanks for the update.

True, Tilla. STETHS fixing its field should not be seen as STETHS ignoring anything else. CC may not need to fix its field since Jarrett Park is available. I don't know, that could be the reason.

Sickko just love start war. Mek him gwaan!