• Don1, JC up fi di challenge?

Ashani test!

Waterford, JC battle for honours

Published: Wednesday | October 27, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

In a great show of sportsmanship and respect, Waterford's captain Rohan Daley (right) and Jamaica College's captain Ashani Walker shared a hug during their Group A first-round match in the ISSA/Pepsi/Digicel Manning Cup football competition at Old Hope Road, which ended 1-1. Both captains will lead their team's charge in a battle for group honours at Waterford today. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Ryon Jones, Gleaner Writer The ultimate set of matches in the preliminary round of this season's Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA)/Pepsi/ Digicel Manning Cup urban area senior schoolboy football competition serves up a mouth-watering tie between two unbeaten teams, Waterford and [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR]

College (JC), today. [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Game [COLOR=blue! important]time[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] is slated for 3:30 p.m. at the Waterford playing field.

There will actually be seven games, but the other six have no real significance as all the other group winners and runners-up have been decided.
    Waterhord and JC, both unbeaten with a tie against each other, are locked on 25 points atop Group A and will be going all out to crown themselves zone winners, having both already qualified for the Walker Cup. If the game was to end in a stalemate, defending Walker Cup champions JC would advance as group winners, having been more prolific in front of goal.
    The dark blues have found the back of the net on 47 occasions, while conceding four goals. Waterford have given up a goal less, but have only mustered 19.
    Waterford's coach, Floyd Coke, and his team are not content with just qualifying for the Walker Cup, but are desperate to come away group winners.
    "We have always had to settle with second place," said Floyd. "In fact, this is probably the third or fourth occasion JC and myself have ended up in the same zone and they have always had group honours over us.
    "It is very important for us to have group honours for many reasons. Though we are not trying to avoid anybody, but when you look at the quarter-final pairings, if you top the zone you might get an easier path to the semi-finals.
    "If we top the zone, I know we would avoid George's and Excelsior," he added.
    When JC and Waterford met earlier this season, the game ended in a one-all draw, but Floyd believes his team had showed JC too much respect, plus they were without one of their top strikers.
    JC's assistant coach, Delroy Brown, though not the least bit perturbed about pairings for the next stage, is of the view that it is always important to top the group.
    "It is always important to ensure that you top the group," Brown cited. "It is important that we be consistent because we have topped our group for the last couple of years and we would want to maintain that. It is not critical, but it is important.
    "We are not worried about pairings, that is not important because if you can't beat the better teams at that stage, you are not going to beat them at the other stage either," he added.

Today's games

St Catherine vs Eltham St Mary's College vs Camperdown
    Vauxhall vs Ascot
    Tarrant vs [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Kingston[/COLOR][/COLOR] College
    Jose Marti vs Dunoon Technical
    Waterford vs Jamaica College
    St Jago vs Ardenne
    All games are slated to start at 3:30 pm.

Ashani test!

Waterford, JC battle for honours

Published: Wednesday | October 27, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

In a great show of sportsmanship and respect, Waterford's captain Rohan Daley (right) and Jamaica College's captain Ashani Walker shared a hug during their Group A first-round match in the ISSA/Pepsi/Digicel Manning Cup football competition at Old Hope Road, which ended 1-1. Both captains will lead their team's charge in a battle for group honours at Waterford today. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Ryon Jones, Gleaner Writer The ultimate set of matches in the preliminary round of this season's Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA)/Pepsi/ Digicel Manning Cup urban area senior schoolboy football competition serves up a mouth-watering tie between two unbeaten teams, Waterford and [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR]

College (JC), today. [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Game [COLOR=blue! important]time[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] is slated for 3:30 p.m. at the Waterford playing field.

There will actually be seven games, but the other six have no real significance as all the other group winners and runners-up have been decided.
    Waterhord and JC, both unbeaten with a tie against each other, are locked on 25 points atop Group A and will be going all out to crown themselves zone winners, having both already qualified for the Walker Cup. If the game was to end in a stalemate, defending Walker Cup champions JC would advance as group winners, having been more prolific in front of goal.
    The dark blues have found the back of the net on 47 occasions, while conceding four goals. Waterford have given up a goal less, but have only mustered 19.
    Waterford's coach, Floyd Coke, and his team are not content with just qualifying for the Walker Cup, but are desperate to come away group winners.
    "We have always had to settle with second place," said Floyd. "In fact, this is probably the third or fourth occasion JC and myself have ended up in the same zone and they have always had group honours over us.
    "It is very important for us to have group honours for many reasons. Though we are not trying to avoid anybody, but when you look at the quarter-final pairings, if you top the zone you might get an easier path to the semi-finals.
    "If we top the zone, I know we would avoid George's and Excelsior," he added.
    When JC and Waterford met earlier this season, the game ended in a one-all draw, but Floyd believes his team had showed JC too much respect, plus they were without one of their top strikers.
    JC's assistant coach, Delroy Brown, though not the least bit perturbed about pairings for the next stage, is of the view that it is always important to top the group.
    "It is always important to ensure that you top the group," Brown cited. "It is important that we be consistent because we have topped our group for the last couple of years and we would want to maintain that. It is not critical, but it is important.
    "We are not worried about pairings, that is not important because if you can't beat the better teams at that stage, you are not going to beat them at the other stage either," he added.

Today's games

St Catherine vs Eltham St Mary's College vs Camperdown
    Vauxhall vs Ascot
    Tarrant vs [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Kingston[/COLOR][/COLOR] College
    Jose Marti vs Dunoon Technical
    Waterford vs Jamaica College
    St Jago vs Ardenne
    All games are slated to start at 3:30 pm.

JC respects all opponents ...but fear none... fiwi pedigree establish lang lang time

Ian Forbes tell mi seh di yute dem ave sumtin about dem...suh mek wi si wha guhdung boss

But fi talk di trute..it mighta betta fi top di group...an avoid Georges
    Last edited by Don1; October 27, 2010, 09:29 AM.

Big match friday at C. Spring field, but why did ISSA schedule the match of the competition for 1 pm.

Ok i just heard that issa has changed the game from friday at the c. spring field to Saturday, 1 pm at Prison Oval, can anyone confirm?

Originally posted by Shola View Post
          Big match friday at C. Spring field, but why did ISSA schedule the match of the competition for 1 pm.
          what big match would that be?

That would be JC vs Stgc in the walker cup sir.

i see

good luck

Bakkle of the Blues. Big ting dat!

don't see it mentioned in the newspapers...

rjr online!

Satdeh feacha match!