• Willi
    replied
    Yes, others can do it now and again, but consistently?

which JC side dat?

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    Go watch how Jawges play.

Very fluid...compared to the rest.
    Have to admit consistently so over the years...although I am thinking there was a Vere team that won everything...a JC team that won nothing and a KC team that won also won everything that provided 'fluid' football of highest schoolboy flavour!

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Go watch how Jawges play.

Very fluid...compared to the rest.

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    This bigger than just Bertis, Ziadie and all the good coaches insisted on short snappy passes. Ballarina ball.

Ballarina ball?
    ...you mean our attempt to ape the attacking play of the 'greats' is not sensible?

Mi nuh hun-da-stan, yuh?

...but agreed that our problems are huge!

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    This bigger than just Bertis, Ziadie and all the good coaches insisted on short snappy passes. Ballarina ball.

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    Forgive me I should have mentioned that Bertis is also good!

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Hahahahahahahaha

Yuh mad!

Bertis that!!!

StGC trademark style of ball that.

We will NEVER win playing Bish ball..we haffi ply short snappy passes and look pretty.

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Syria! LoL

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    next time you leave me alone when I make my gramatical errors. If these writers can make such a mistake and no editor can't pick it up. LOL

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    Good work by Bradley and those others associated with this.

Aside: In terms of quality TEAMplay at youth level I have not seen better on field development by a local coach than Bradley Stewart. His TEAMs have always moved the ball and played that 'pass and move, move and pass' system very, very well.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    Ciriacruz University
    Where the hell is that?!?

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    started a topic Noice

Noice

Scholarships Loom For Rounded Footballers
    Published: Thursday | January 3, 2013 4 Comments

Stewart
    Ryon Jones, Staff Reporter

The importance of balancing football with academics has once again come to the fore, as youngsters from across the island who have the requisite qualifications will get the opportunity to impress scouts from prestigious universities in the United States, with the hope of obtaining scholarships.

On Saturday, January 12, the scouts will focus their attention on the annual Jonathan 'Johnno' Hibbert Memorial Football Tournament, to be staged at Munro College in St Elizabeth, before zooming in on Juici Patties in May Pen, Clarendon, on Sunday for another day of action.

Action on both days is slated to start at 8 a.m. with a registration process. The participants must have a minimum of five CXC subjects, including mathematics and English language, and will be asked to take along their SAT scores and make a donation of $100 to assist with expenses of meals and refreshments.

Munro College will be hosting a coaches' session on Friday ahead of their scouting opportunity.

OPEN INVITATION

Veteran coach Bradley Stewart, who is not affiliated to Hibbert's memorial but is one of the brains behind Sunday's scouting exercise, is encouraging schools from across the island to encourage their qualified student athletes to come out and participate.

"We are inviting those kids who have graduated or will be graduating in June," Stewart said. "Most of them will be in what we call upper school with subjects already, some might have done the SAT (exams) or will be doing it soon, as we are trying to expose kids who will be ready for college in September."

Stewart, a former national senior and juvenile coach, has been affording youngsters the opportunity to get scholarships for the past 30 years, with notable persons such as Professor Gladstone Hutchinson, Dr Kingsley Chin, Christopher Dehring, Andy Williams, Omar Cummings and, just last year, Ashani Walker, benefiting from the programme.

"A lot of the overseas universities follow what's happening in our programme, so they already know some names; the famous George's names - the Kendon Andersons and the Zhelano Barnes," Stewart revealed. "Those names keep coming up, but if 10 coaches come and the 10 coaches want Zhelano Barnes, that is not going to be possible, so we have to expose the other kids.

FEMALES ALSO WELCOME

"The coaches are interested in girls, too, so we are inviting the Waterhouse female team, and the Los Perfectos female team and whoever else they want to invite."

Stewart anticipates over 100 youngsters to parade their skills on Sunday for in excess of 30 scouts from overseas universities, which include Florida International University, Ciriacruz University and the University of Cincinnati.

"We are also opening this to the local universities, as most of them now are giving scholarships," Stewart added.

Participants will be placed in game situations, with the coaches deciding who they want based on the allocations at their universities. The coaches will make approaches to the students at the end, at which point the recruiting process will start.

ryon.jones@gleanerjm.com