Is Delano Williams father a Jamaican?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is Delano Williams father a Jamaican?

“Who spiked the Gatorade at Champs?” That was the question my wife greeted me with as I trudged through the door on Saturday night. I was coming in from the final day of the ISSA Boys and Girls Athletic Championship where so many records were broken my head was still spinning as I approached my front door. That final day, and indeed the entire week, is among the most exciting experiences I have ever had covering track and field.
    I have been attending Champs on and off for close to 40 years and there are few that will linger with me like this one did. 1979, for sure, is one of the best, and I enjoyed Champs ’81 even though that one ended in a major brawl between Kingston College and Calabar. There have been a few other really good ones lately too and the last four were fairly exciting too but 2013′s edition was ‘off the chain’.

More than 30 records were broken during the championships, the most ever, more than 15 on the final day alone. All evening Saturday, people at the stadium stunned by the rate at which records were being broken, were asking me if the timing system was malfunctioning. But even if that was the case, you don’t need timers for the boy’s javelin, shot putt and high jump, events in which records were shattered. KC’s Zaavan Richards, C’bar’s Frederick Dacres, and Wolmer’s Christoffe Bryan respectively, were responsible for those three records. Clive Pullen in his final year at Kingston College, set a new mark in the triple jump and Edwin Allen’s Tarasue Barnett and Rochelle Frazer destroyed the discus and shot put records. That’s six records of the 30!