• Islandman
    replied
    Who is "Jamaica" in this context exactly, that is going to negotiate with the PIAA? Who gets the money?

The government? ISSA? JAAA? Who? When you define that I will state an opinion.

I don't quite understand the "ripoff" description either. They have a meet, you participate or you don't, you attend or you don't. Where is the ripoff? The act of not sharing your profit to some undefined entity?

Seems to me that the original article was more about making sure Jamaican athletes in the NCAA get equal treatment.That is a clearly defined government role.
    Last edited by Islandman; April 26, 2015, 01:59 PM.

Leave a comment:

• Stonigut
    replied
    Bwai unnu man is something else. If it was your business and some of you customers start talk bout 'ah wi bring yuh profit, you shoulda share the profit' how much bad wud and fussing woulda GWAN.

Start yuh own a simting and stop look pon other man ting, if yuh have weight and gravitas then go negotiate an start a new tradition, a new meet in the northeast, it is easy to start but hard to sustain and that s where we get into trouble, cassa cassa and bad mind ruin everything.

If people not happy then pull out ah Penns and pull support and then yuh have a negotiation card but that would be the ultimate in bad faith and bad vibes. Start something or say nothing.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    The Penn rip off, 99 % of the attendants , the least 97 % being Jamaican , with total attendance over the duration of the festival being 110,000 this season , at the lowest charge of $30 a head we are talking, thats $3,300,000 million in ticket sales and we arent talking T.V and internet rights, its now a staple on NBC on prime time .

Its time we move with direct action to right this injustce , a path of boycott, let NBC explain to its viewers why there is no USA vs Jamaica (the world) , why our nationals stay away , why their $3.3 million and T.V and internet rights have dried up.Penn doesnt want that negative media attention , in means loss in revenue.Thats what they look at.

We as a nation have always argued from a position of weakness(beggars) , its time we stop , believe it we are shareholders in Penns

* T.V rights
    *Internet rights
    *Attendance Rights

Which is at least $3.3 million in attendance alone and this season was a watered down festival in terms of attendance, we need strong leadership to lead the way in setting this wrong, right!

Jamaica should be demanding $ 300K a year is chump change to set it right, thats is for appearnce fee,food and lodging and our continous reinvestment into our poduct that makes it way to Penn.

That said, Jamaica doesnt need Penns except for nostalgic reason for the immigrant community that need that feel good vibe of revisting champs because they cant trek it home.

As a business venture its an expense that we dont need, Champs is giving our youngster all the exposure it needs to source scholarships and contracts , the cost to travel to Penns, just isnt worth it , to our schools.

Boycott.
    Last edited by Sir X; April 26, 2015, 10:28 AM.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    I was going to make said post ,i will later

Leave a comment:

• Jangle
    started a topic Jamaica should get some of the US$2.7 million

Jamaica should get some of the US$2.7 million

The big question is what is in place to benefit Jamaican athletes who are contributing to revenues generated for the United States of America? Each year more than 40,000 Jamaicans from the Diaspora travel to the Penn Relays mainly to watch the student athletes from Jamaica who starred at Champs and usually go on to perform outstandingly at the relays. It is at the Penn Relays that I met Christianna Williams, who ran a brilliant leg for Edwin Allen High School in one of the relays. She now trains with Stephen Francis of MVP and should be one of our new representatives at the 2015 World Championships and 2016 Olympics. I also met the outstanding hurdler Megan Simmonds at the Penn Relays. They and other student-athletes from Jamaica have contributed to the reported $US2.7 million generated yearly by the Penn Relays. If the USA is to institute a trust fund for student-athletes who contribute to revenue for schools and cities, then Jamaica should explore the O'Bannon ruling to ensure Jamaican students benefit from the largesse that these students generate for Penn Relays yearly. Ambassador Stephen Vascianne and Bancroft Gordon, vice-president and senior counsel at Marriott who understand the running of these relays by being present there yearly, must be advocates.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...elays_18776552