• KC yutes back with a bang: With 4 guns blazing

Noice
    .... But can they cross it @ Manning/Super Cup/Olivier Shield level...in 2-3 years??

Double the fun!
    KC cop all-island U-14, U-16 titles

BY SHERDON COWAN Observer staff reporter cowans@jamaicaobserver.com

Thursday, December 17, 2015 1 comment

Kingston College (KC) swept both the Inter- secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA) All-Island Under-14 and Under-16 titles with 2-1 and 3-0 wins over Glenmuir High and Munro College, respectively, at the Spanish Town Prison Oval on Tuesday.

The Raymond Watson-coached teams completed the impressive double-double feat after earlier sweeping the urban area titles.

Unless KC improves their recruiting skills for Manning Cup, these victories at the lower levels will amount to nothing. That goes for Munro and Glenmuir.

I've been in victorious U16 teams in the past, beating powerhouses such as Vere, Clarendon and STETHS along the way, with ease. Come DaCosta Cup time, they are our strongest competitors and conquerors. Their DaCosta Cup teams bore no resemblance whatsoever to their U16 one.

But KC should know this. Haven't they been dominating these lower age competitions for a while now?

Unless KC improves their recruiting skills for Manning Cup, these victories at the lower levels will amount to nothing. That goes for Munro and Glenmuir.

I've been in victorious U16 teams in the past, beating powerhouses such as Vere, Clarendon and STETHS along the way, with ease. Come DaCosta Cup time, they are our strongest competitors and conquerors. Their DaCosta Cup teams bore no resemblance whatsoever to their U16 one.

But KC should know this. Haven't they been dominating these lower age competitions for a while now?
      What you say about the prerequisite for recruiting to be successful is true...unfortunately. A good native development plan is also critical...even more so They've been dominating the youth leagues for a couple of years now....just as we were 2008-2012

KC now has one piece of the puzzle and has lots of experience (in track) in executing the missing piece. The market likely just got hotter since they'll be very aggressive in trying to win and break a near 30 year drought.

Big up me bredda from North Street!!!!!

Coaching at the Manning levels matters.

That is the elephant in the room no one wants to address.

When KC had George T, they had the missing ingredient.

So you think all these youngsters just HAPPENED to end up at KC?

Unno naive bwoy.

Willi, time for you to stop. The shopping (recruiting) business is bigger now than ever before. That has the most to do with it!

George T had a shopping list too!

So you think all these youngsters just HAPPENED to end up at KC?

Unno naive bwoy.
                I didn't say that

But it's obvious by the results over the past say 10 years that KC's football recruiting (or ability to RETAIN talent) is not stellar

In track it's a quite different picture

Steeeups. Yuh think seh my side just HAPPENS to play that style?

It has to be carefully taught. NO OTHER side in Jamaica rolls ball like that and there is a reason for that. Just LOOK and it should become apparent.

Steeeups. Yuh think seh my side just HAPPENS to play that style?

It has to be carefully taught. NO OTHER side in Jamaica rolls ball like that and there is a reason for that. Just LOOK and it should become apparent.
                    We're not talking about style...only results i.e. success or not. Style of play is not necessarily critical at this HS level.., but good prep & coaching is.

Styles come and go....but without good talent & prep there will be no consistent success

Various styles of play can get the same successful results....but in JA HS ball it's clear that recruiting/attracting good talent is also a critical part of the success equation along with support resources, coaching & good preparation.

It's not wise to deny the talent acquisition element although I don't know it has "the most" to do with it as Mo believes

Sounds nice and logical, but really is not true. Style matters and STGC has been playing that way since the early 1980s thru many different coaches.

Apart from results, style engenders endearment...nuff former neutrals follow the side around to see the games for entertainment value.

I prefer tikles over style miself ...aldo nice style is indeed a pleasing element...Unfortunately dem nuh really gi points, trophies nor even keep historical records fi style

If unnu did play juss efficient & businesslike ball like wi an' end up wid 2 or 3 tikle...yuh wudda more pleased wid unnu season or not???

NOT!!!!

I want it all.
                          Ugly tikle is not a Jawges thing. LoL

Well when unnu guh fi all or nutten....most time unnu agguh get whe di duck get

Substance trumps style

Style is substance...

Form follows function.

Mi happy, mi pocket fat. Video killed the radio star. Manning Cup tun radio star now.