Summen fishy I tell yah. When you add 1+1 and get 3, then you haffi suspec summen. Standford accepts wha, maybe 6 to 7 % of applicants?
Nuh people try weave tales that just nuh guh so...and mi naah talk bout Siccko her, so tell him not to get hot and bothered.
High jumper turns down Ivy League school
Cost could have been a comsideration ... If her SAT is low keeping an academic scholarship can be a problem.
Leave a comment:
'Understanding the education system' may have something to do with her choice? ...not saying that is the alpha and omega. ...but I am thinking some persons may draw the parallel that '1 + 1 = 2' a concept easily relatable may be misleading when applied here. Someone could graduate with honours at one institution and have less knowledge in the particularsubject area than someone graduating in the same year from another institution with a mere pass. The depth of teaching instruction...exploration of the area of discipline at the institutions being not equal.Originally posted by Mosiah View PostI just think that if you have a chance at an Ivy League, it may make some sense to take it. Of course, there are a hundred reasons why not everyone will do it, but I think there should be more reasons why most will.
Like you said, some thought may have gone into the decision, but was it as informed as it could have been?
To have a rueful laugh: A graduate on football - a star balla, in Jamaica may not necessarily be of equal ability as a failed student from the Southampton football academy
....and thus....
(Disclaimer: Not saying that had a part in the decision by the student-athlete!)
Leave a comment:
Agreed! One does not wave off an Ivy League or second tier (Stanford, MIT) offer lightly. But certainly, not choosing to attend one does not necessarily mean one is fool-fool.
Leave a comment:
I heard the story of her turning down the Penn offer last year while at Penn Relays and had planned to write the story but it never worked out for one reason or the other and a few months ago while reading the new Malcolm Gladwell book, it came back to me and I decided to revisit it.
Had it been my child I would seriously encourage her to take up the Stanford offer, better sports, better mentorship program, better weather..but she says she doe s not want to go so far.
Gladwell does make some salient points thought and not every bright high school student make the cut in Ivy League....not so sure about FSU though, maybe UM.
Leave a comment:
I just think that if you have a chance at an Ivy League, it may make some sense to take it. Of course, there are a hundred reasons why not everyone will do it, but I think there should be more reasons why most will.
Like you said, some thought may have gone into the decision, but was it as informed as it could have been?
Leave a comment:
Thank you sir move to the head of the class, also tell the clown who is talking about sports scholarship that that was never mentioned in the article, Ivy League offer academic scholarships to many athletes and some like Penn, Yale and Harvard are making exemptions for those who score less than perfection in the SATs and offering them places in their institutions
Leave a comment:
It doesn't sound like she is necessarily interested in a professional track and field career. She just was more comforable going to FSU.
Not the choice one would expect but some thought seems to have gone into making the decision.
Leave a comment:
I read it twice.
Is this the part you think I missed?:
Also, she told the Observer that the offers from both Penn and Stanford did not “spell out in details what the scholarships offered. Tthe FSU offer was different, they told me exactly what they were offering me and I knew exactly what was on the table.”
Leave a comment:
Did you read the article Mosiah? I doubt that you did before you posted this response
Leave a comment:
story is fishy.
Ivy League schools don't give sports scholarships and the SAT score is way too low for Stanford at 75%.
Leave a comment: