• Casino gammbling on your mind?

Read this:
    Gambling addiction

Tuesday, January 15, 2008

Dear Editor,
    It is very interesting to hear that some Jamaicans who support casino gambling have discovered that they need to establish a counselling department for gamblers who have become addicts. I am very disappointed with some leaders in Jamaica who are not reading widely and fail to realise that South Korea has a chronic problem with regard to gambling.

Research has shown that 12 per cent of problem gamblers in the USA have serious chronic psychological experiences because of gambling addiction. The suicide rate has increased in various counties in Canada, so much so that whenever one occurs the Canadian police visit a casino, first to investigate.
    The government in the Netherlands is interested in copying the South Korean model of treating psychotic gamblers. I am not surprised that some church leaders have allowed their "souls" to be "sold" on the altar of casino gambling, because they are now being invited to dine with the new planter class, as they have been seduced by the ideology that wealth is the answer to the plight of the poor. The prophetic voices of some churches have been coerced, enslaved and assimilated.
    Therefore, the biblical interpretation is also undermined to suggest that because the word casino (gambling) is not in the Bible, therefore the incorrect stewardship of money ought not to be criticised. This is what I term "bullfrog theology" .
    Revd Canon Ernle Gordon
    St Mary's Rectory
    Cowper Drive
    Kingston 20
    gordfm@yahoo.com

So there is no cronic gambling problems in Ja Rev?

What happen to the man dem who go a gambling house and leave them family all weekend?

oh mi figget casino nuh deh a Ja.

Sass, please, do mi ah beg yuh;
      read over the column. Thanks.

the good canon a very close family friend ..... presided over my dad's funeral and provided last rites....and he is still in the las casas liberation theology mode.....sometimes i agree with him...sometimes i don't.

just wondering what the percentage of alcoholics in jamaica is at the moment? in any event here is that INCONSEQUENTIAL 12 percent again...hmmmm.

your contribution is noted; thanks.

come now, surely by now you must know that no bitch slap is too small for you to receive! in other words, it was my pleasure!

South Korea is also the most connected in the world in terms of Internet. Maybe they are all gambling online?

Ernle don't realise that casinos abound in Jamaica? Okay, they are called something else, but is casino same way!