Do casinos contribute to crime?

I gather if you have proof that casinos do increase violence...,your views... would be different?

Blessed

Yuh purposely left out the "at the expense of..", enough space de pon de page fi it fit, tan deh feel a doan see dat.

Oh yeah, it just doesn't appeal to you!
      Bruce is going to okay it, we will see then.

Blessed

Blessed

let start there and not with the pulpit propoganda.

"The horse races and lotto games pale in comparison to casinos regarding people giving away their money. You will lose all of your pay cheque on the latter, not so with regard to Lotto or horse races."

Rockman, that argument about "poor" Jamaicans losing/gambling their hard earned pay has been branded for years. Truthfully, that is a very ridiculous argument. Think about it, how many Jamaicans are really going to be walking into a casino to gamble away their money? Are you saying that Jamaicans are all stupid enough not to know the risks involved? All the arguments put forward against the "formal" introduction of casino is not enough to counter the greater impact that it will have on the economy. All the other Caribbean destinations that already have casinos continue to watch and hope that we continue with this silly debate about the good and the bad of casino gambling. They continue to rake in the money at our expense. Jamaica is already a brand name in world tourism. Imagine if we add casino to our brand.

I have said it before on this forum that I think that not only should the Jamaican government introduce casinos, but at the same time they should legalise ganja and prostitution. I believe they should create a Red-Light district in one of our poorer parishes - say St. Thomas, Portland or St. Mary, but it should be strictly monitored and regulated with an iron fist.
          Last edited by Jangle; January 27, 2008, 08:48 PM.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

truth is if someone is going to gamble away alltheir money...they would doit with or without casinos. if someone has a gambling addiction then they are currently to be found around the race trck or a betting shop on a wednesday and saturday....

not having a casino is not going to teach them restraint.

True dat.

Ever heard of Cash Plus??? LoL

oooooooooohhhhhhhhhh!

You too rude rude boy, yuh too rude...

If ah rude, ah rude for spite
                  Getting on bad tonight....

As for these claims about creating a culture of gambling, that's just a bunch of hogwash. Living in Jamaica these days is already a gamble. You roll the dice every time you step out your front door, every time you drive the highways, every time you go to a party, so what's the big deal if you take a gamble that could turn your life around in a positive way?
                    The Church has always been hypocritical (IMO). When the Church run a Bingo, isn't that gambling. It's probably easier for the average Jakan to gamble all his pay on horse racing than in a casino. For one, betting shops are all around.

Bring on the Casinos.....................

If the churches nuh want it them must work on an alternative. Them talking about religious tourism, that is just a spur of the moment and they have no plans for it, just like how when them build the trelawny stadium you hear bout sport tourism etc.
                      Religious tourism, my back foot. Just another way for the cons in the Church to exploit - bring down Creflo Dollar and his entourage!

I have said it before on this forum that I think that not only should the Jamaican government introduce casinos, but at the same time they should legalise ganja and prostitution. I believe they should create a Red-Light district in one of our poorer parishes - say St. Thomas, Portland or St. Mary, but it should be strictly monitored and regulated with an iron fist.
                        NO Jangle - please let them keep the red-light district in Kingston & St. Andrew. Me and Sass nuh want it in Portland, St. Mary or St. Thomas - we'll keep our poverty We nuh want anything upsetting our tranquility

dem nuh see we not even have stop lights? Mi nuh know what red light him a talk bout.

Rocky, I'm glad you are using
                            your third eye and have a grasp on things.

dem nuh see we not even have stop lights? Mi nuh know what red light him a talk bout.
                              Unuh stay deh. Me just read inna de Observer seh Vaz a put aerodrome inna Portland. There goes your tranquility. But seriously though, we have to look on these proposals from a business angle. We don't have to re-invent the wheel everytime. Other countries have a Red-light district that works. Let's study them to see why. I see St. Thomas as being an ideal location to construct large hotels ala Atlantic City/Jersey Shores. All we need is about 3 - 4 of those very large hotels. The economic and physical benefits to St. Thomas and adjoining parishes will be inevitable.

I noticed you guys didn't oppose my other proposal of legalising ganja.....hmmmm!
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

how can a plant in its natural state be illegal? that is a direct indictment on god!!