Weda wi Mos Tiich Patwa aar Nat!
As soon as the official results and data are released I will share them with you.
Leave a comment:
Are you sure there aren't any rules of writing, spelling or grammar for patois ??
Once again most of us are heartily engaged in a battle not armed with the facts...
This is not a trivial or unique problem.
Leave a comment:
good....i am arguing for the FORMALISING of patois before we embark on teaching it in schools.
patois is NOT pidgin english....it is a language and it needs to be formalised.
Leave a comment:
yes... and i have actually read portions the gospel according to luke in gullah patois some 12 years ago while doing a college course in "black english".....that cemented in me the need to have patois formalised .
Leave a comment:
ok gamma... i think i have figured out the how and why... the 'american english' and the 'english english' has a common gramatical system of writing... there are writing, speaking and even spelling rules to which both adhere... any differences are minor, understood and commonly accepted...
that is not the case with jamaican patois... there aren't any rules of writing, spelling or grammar... there is a word for that but i cant think of it right now...
this patois thing is causing me to really think...
Leave a comment:
not strong enough, people turning thoer back on it and associating it with illiteracy and the like......that is a form of self hate and lowered self value...
Leave a comment:
American English is not very differnt. political posturing sez it is, but reality saz otherwise.
What you are talking about is a different ORDER of language.
Leave a comment:
how and why is jamaican patois "totally different" based on your reasoning above? if the subtle nuances can be accepted as a "different" type of english (one has AMERICAN dictionaries) then why should not a language which is even more unique not be formalised when it is unique and peculiar to a people?
Leave a comment:
gamma, there is a thing called american english... however, we are talking about something totally different...
american english as we know it is not a different language from standard english... the difference is mostly phonetics because of region and immigrants... if there are grammatical differences, they are certainly not major... there are some word spelling differences yes, that is also not major and anybody who can read english will recognise and understand the word as it is written...
no it did not fall from the sky, but has evolved because of regional migration of people and immigration... the 'american english' has even added new words to the standard 'england english' because it is the same language...
jamaican patois is totally different...
Leave a comment:
Gamma, i am surprised at you.
Patwa is already a strong cultural force in jamaica.
The logic of justifying its official entrenchment for cultural purposes is null.
I tell you what. Solve crime and violence, create opportunities for the youth and fix the Justice system and I will back you on the patwa thing. Deal?
Leave a comment:
suh wait deh...did english fall from the sky on stone tablets?
baddaz..is there such a thing as american english? did that fall from the sky on stone tablets?
Leave a comment: