The Energy Minister said nothing in Parliament yesterday?

• Peter R
    replied
    How about a tax rebate or credit for every homeowner that converts to solar power?

I was living in Canada (80s) when the government there decided that all homes should convert to natural gas heating from burning home heating oil. The conversion took a few years but without coercion but through a tax credit and assistance from government to make the change. I doubt you'll find too many homes using home heating oil there.

Why can't we do that for solar?

pr

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    What copy cat approach are you referring to ?

Who is my team ?

Who is 'you people' ?

Your capacity to mouth off with absolutely no knowledge is impressive and condemns you as a fool.

Members of 'my team' have won California's highest Economic and Environmental Award.. why would we need your 'ideas' ??

You are a sad joke.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    Suh wait ... if dem control the source of production, how dem nuh have no control over the high price of oil? Or yuh have another myth fi back up dat? Before yuh go into the usual spin mode ... remember the current president have a low approval rating and his protege is behind in the polls.

Unuh clear the floor ... Don1 gonna breakdance.
    This is a geo-political matter where you are an obvious neophyte.
    I suggest you try to master Jamaican politics first before you venture into these deeper waters.

One word of advice... having control of the source of production as an objective is not the same thing as effectively having control.

As a neophyte I'll try to remember to take time with you in terms of these matters... clearly somewhat beyond your competence.

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    I told you the US plan. You don't see the evidence of it every day? Do I need to detail it for you? Can you spell the words.. Iraq, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia etc?

That's their strategic solution to their energy crisis... control the source of production.

Anyway this is not about the US... it's about Jamaica... leggo dat US bizniz.
    Suh wait ... if dem control the source of production, how dem nuh have no control over the high price of oil? Or yuh have another myth fi back up dat? Before yuh go into the usual spin mode ... remember the current president have a low approval rating and his protege is behind in the polls.

Unuh clear the floor ... Don1 gonna breakdance.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    But since the 70s they can't come up with a credible plan, how easy you think it is for little Jamaica who don't have all the experts and resources that the US have?
    I told you the US plan. You don't see the evidence of it every day? Do I need to detail it for you? Can you spell the words.. Iraq, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia etc?

That's their strategic solution to their energy crisis... control the source of production.

Anyway this is not about the US... it's about Jamaica... leggo dat US bizniz.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    *yawn*

We save serious discussion for the relevant Ministers and heads of relevant agencies and heads of World Leading Renewable Technology Companies which shall remain unamed.. don't want to blow your silly little mind.

I will update you on progress extracting from the web spun by the previous Admin.

Oh the business plan for production of Green Building Materials to replace concrete is almost complete for review by a couple Ministries.. I will try to keep you informed on progress..

I will run that LEED thing by our partners and see if it registers. It might have come up in discussions with Governor Schwarzenegger as he conferred the Environmental and Economic Leadership Award...

LOL !!

You poor fellow.. you don't have a clue...

Apart from being an empty talking head... your spiel is mildly amusing. The name dropping is hilarious .... discussions with the Governator... I'm really not impressed... try that nonsense with the uninitiated... not with me.

Anyway ... for you and your so-called team.... try to come up with something innovative... the copy cat, do nothing approach just doesn't cut it and is morally bankrupt.

Would be happy to give you airheads some more ideas.... if only you people had the capacity first to understand and secondly to act.

From what I've seen so far that capacity is non-existent - so keep carping on past failures to justify current non-performance and lack of imagination.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Lift the veil....

When certain administrations sell out... dem nuh ramp.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    But since the 70s they can't come up with a credible plan, how easy you think it is for little Jamaica who don't have all the experts and resources that the US have?

Leave a comment:

• 1of1
    replied
    I not following, I lead myself, I agree with the move but with all the failings of the previous government, I agree with don1 to a certain extent.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    *yawn*

We save serious discussion for the relevant Ministers and heads of relevant agencies and heads of World Leading Renewable Technology Companies which shall remain unamed.. don't want to blow your silly little mind.

I will update you on progress extracting from the web spun by the previous Admin.

Oh the business plan for production of Green Building Materials to replace concrete is almost complete for review by a couple Ministries.. I will try to keep you informed on progress..

I will run that LEED thing by our partners and see if it registers. It might have come up in discussions with Governor Schwarzenegger as he conferred the Environmental and Economic Leadership Award...

LOL !!

You poor fellow.. you don't have a clue...

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    Did you listen or read the speech? Or are you arriving to that conclusion based on the Jamaica Observer article?
    I read the speech and no...I tend not to use the Newsletter for analysis of national affairs.... but mainly for entertainment and exposition of press follies.

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Very underwhelming presentation from this minister.... virtually no entirely NEW significant initiatives.

Mainly announcing the furthering of programs instituted by the previous regime and deciding on coal over LNG as the energy source of choice.... without announcing specific investments in coal-fired plants.

They had no ideas while in opposition?
    Did you listen or read the speech? Or are you arriving to that conclusion based on the Jamaica Observer article?

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    New initiatives such as what ?

There you all go again.. it is not about re-creating the wheel.. it is about making decisions based on intelligent analysis of what the 'real world' is doing , determing was is applicable to Jamaica and implementing without shooting yourself in the foot or totally effing up the process...

The previous admin made this look like trying to create the universe..

I don't know if there has been a more inept Govt in the modern history of this hemisphere..
    You use this "real world" terminology as if it's some kind of catch all or panacea. That's a real world way of avoiding serious discussion.

It's full time that you and others of your ilk dispense with using the past regime's failings as a crutch to excuse current inaction, ineffectiveness or underperformance.

The fact remains.. in my opinion.. that the minister disclosed nothing that has not already been in train for a while.... in some cases for years.

We need to see radical solutions such as:

mandate that design of all new construction focus on energy and water conservation.. our own LEED standards (feel free to do an internet search on this)

mandated and/or heavily subsidized inclusion of solar power solutions in new construction and also retrofitted to existing industrial/commercial/residential buildings

zero or minimal duty on flexfuel and other energy friendly vehicles

fast track and incentivize renewable energy initiatives especially by local and foreign private capital

to name a few possibilities that come to mind.

As I said... very underwhelming performance... but go ahead and be impressed with the mediocre.. it's your right and duty as a sycophant. One expects no less from you and your type.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    When has there been a new iniative in the US of A?
    Who's talking about the USA? Not me. They can take care of themselves.

When they need an alternative energy strategy they find a country with energy resources and take them over.

Jamaica doesn't have that option.

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Originally posted by 1of1 View Post
    "Mainly announcing the furthering of programs instituted by the previous regime and deciding on coal over LNG as the energy source of choice.... without announcing specific investments in coal-fired plants."
    I suggest yuh read the man's presentation and stop follow Don1.

Leave a comment: