Movado's Embarrassment

• Movado's Embarrassment

I'd somehow gotten the impression that Movado was informed of the cancellation of his performance before he arrived in the Bahamas. However, based on what that show’s Bahamian promoter says, that was not the case. Here are a few paragraphs I copied from an interview story entitled "Promoters Lash Out," which appeared in the Bahama Journal newspaper. I'm also providing the link for the entire news story.
    http://www.jonesbahamas.com/news/45/...008-11-07.html

The company said they were disappointed in the way Mavado was handled.

"Mavado, who has broken no laws in The Bahamas, was poorly treated and unjustifiably discriminated against by Bahamas Immigration upon arrival at the Lynden Pindling International Airport on Thursday October 30, 2008," the company said.

"He was not permitted to enter the country or given any reason why he couldn’t enter as an entertainer or as a tourists. He was escorted back to the aircraft when he arrived at the immigration counter and suffered embarrassment and humiliation as he was singled out among those arriving on the flight and handled in degrading fashion. This was most un-professional and unacceptable."

Minister of State for Immigration Branville McCartney had ordered the ban because he felt like it was in the best interest of the country.

In a press conference this week, President of The Bahamas Christian Council Rev. Patrick Paul, the council felt as if they were protecting the country.

"Because of the effect of music on the psychology, after one would have heard a particular song or whatever, those individuals linger in the mind of other individuals, weeks, months and years," he said.

"Music helps to bring about who we are as a person. It forms our personality hence it forms our culture and it helps to create our society so we believe by not having the particular come in whose lyrics are degrading of women and indeed shows disrespect for law and order, we believe that we put some level of restraint in relation to our society."

Where are the Jamaican authorities in all of this when a citizen is treated like this? I cannot support this..yes, they have their right..but we always have this open door policy to our Caribbean neighbours...maybe we should start embarassing one or two of them...in the spirit of reciprocity of course.

Those Bahamian authorities are extremely rude and fres, but I am not sure who they are sending that we are going to embarass? Apart from them drug dealers who link with Jamaicans. We have been embarassing them for quite some time.

Movado love mix up in foolishness and then him sing song bout slitting new born throat and every other song is about marrow flying. Worse him and him "crew" get into brawl in Barbados, get into altercation in police station, been involved in a few trials recently. It is no surprise that the authorities don't want him over there.

Originally posted by Me View Post
        Movado love mix up in foolishness and then him sing song bout slitting new born throat and every other song is about marrow flying. Worse him and him "crew" get into brawl in Barbados, get into altercation in police station, been involved in a few trials recently. It is no surprise that the authorities don't want him over there.
        Excellent point, Me, and one with which I agree 100-percent!

For the Jamaican authorities to seek to embarrass any Bahamian entering Jamaica would only make things difficult for the countless thousands of Jamaicans who reside throughout the Bahamas. And for what reason? Because of a someone like this particular dancehall artist?!

The fact, whether we like it or not, is that the Bahamas is one of those places that serve as a safety valve (so to speak) for Jamaica's huge unemployment numbers, and so annoying those authorities over an irrelevant situation such as this is not worth it. Many Jamaicans benefit from the fact that the Bahamas has not yet joined the growing list of countries which have imposed visas on Jamaicans.

Most of the readers on this forum will by now know my view of people like Movado, so I won't say anything else at this point except to express the wish that more Caribbean authorities will follow the lead of Guyana, St Vincent, Bermuda and the Bahamas and start looking at the possible clear and present danger that some of these unbelievably irresponsible dancehall artists pose once their music is popularised in their country.

Jamaica is already paying the price for rampant irresponsibility throughout various sectors of our society!

Mosiah...you input please.

ThankX!

I am totally for the banning of songs that promote violence of any sort from the public airwaves. It’s not good enough to beep out the offending sections on the radio. And public places – minibuses, taxis, stores – should be prohibited from playing those songs. Clubs should be allowed to play them only if their guests are the only ones hearing them. Enough is enough!

Regarding the banning Mavado from certain countries, I am leaning towards cussing out those countries because I do believe that artistes like Mavado should be able to perform to paying customers, as long as his crap does not carry into public space. Bahamians will always buy his CDs and download his music whether or not they get to see him perform.

Too many of our Caribbean neighbours have discriminated against Jamaican nationals for whatever reason. They use the dreadlocks as reason enuff to turn back our people and all other stuff. Many of these little sand spits would have no identity if it weren’t for Jamaica! Mek dem move and gwey!

Many of these little sand spits would have no identity if it weren’t for Jamaica! Mek dem move and gwey!
              Sand Spits? How yuh so angry today.

Angry? No mek di tone a di likkle post fool yuh. Coulden be in a better mood!