• Sunday Herald - EDITORIAL

<H2>Audley Shaw must go</H2>

We the ladies and gentlemen of the Fourth Estate as part of our function often pass judgment on the conduct of everyone including members of our own fraternity. Passing judgment on the conduct of others carries its own risks and responsibilities. Above all those who pass judgment on the conduct of others to remain credible must be consistent.

The usefulness of the conclusions we offer depends on the consistency with which the standards are applied and the principles adduced in coming to those conclusions. Recently two similar actions from two members of the political class from opposite sides of the political fence have required their resignation for the inappropriate manner in which they carried out aspects of their responsibilities.

In the case of the one, he stepped aside, giving up the source of his income but retaining an honorific position for which he receives no income. In the case of the other, he expediently stepped aside at no cost to himself, with the prospect of returning to his position in the not too distant future. The one is condemned and further demands are being made that he should go even further by also surrendering the honorific position that he now holds. In the case of the other, encomiums are poured out on him and his act of expediency is termed an act of nobility.

Those who passed opposite verdict on the similar action would no doubt justify themselves by saying that one wrong was greater than the other. We contend otherwise. Colin Campbell resigned from his post of Minister of Information and Development for having conducted business in his personal or other capacity with a company on a subject he had direct Ministerial responsibility (namely bauxite, a subject that falls to the Minister of Development). It was therefore a conflict of interest and he could not be sustained as a Member of the Cabinet. He failed to fully and properly advise his colleagues, the officers of the PNP about the nature and the fact of the money form Trafigura, and therefore resigned of General Secretary of the PNP.

It is our view that so long as it is accepted by Colin Campbell that his resignation in all of those circumstances was a minimum requirement; he should also have resigned as a member of the Senate. The lost of public trust will make his continued membership in the Senate untenable.

Audley Shaw used language at a public gathering that demeaned his office as Member of Parliament and Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee of Parliament. He insulted his audience and descended to a level of crassness for which DJs are often roundly condemned, and he did so at a time when all acknowledge that leaders have a duty of care to carry and conduct themselves in a manner that is civil, decent, and exemplary.

He abused his office as Chair of the PAC by publicly announcing his intention to use his office for party political point scoring and therefore to turn a solemn fact finding, truth seeking, and accountability process of the Parliament of the Land into a political circus. In those circumstances to vacate the Chair temporarily to return on a timetable of his own making is a further act of contempt for public decency. We believe that Audley Shaw has misused his office and therefore his resignation from the Chair of the PAC should be made permanent.

RE: Sunday Herald - EDITORIAL

So now what Shaw did equals Trafigura? How dis bredda end up president of the PAJ is beyond me. Yes, Shaw's comments were irresponsible but resign from the PAC fi wha?Unuh did ask Omar fi resign after his run wid it admission? How so much idiot end up pon one island?

Lazie be objective here with me a little; do you think anyone

in JLP has done anything to resign? You can either just say yes or no or give a detailed response. Thanks.

As stated before, it was irresponsibe for Shaw the president of the PAC to say "mi gwine peppa him backside wid question!" He realized what he did and temporily stepped away as president until the end of the Whitehouse inquiry. Unuh want more than that? Which member of the PNP would do that?

Dont ever assume that the Editor inChief or whatever the title at the respective print media house is ALWAYS the one to write the Editorials.

I know at the 7 Naught Street, they had a roster of editors and Senior Journalists who did them, hellI wrote a few for the Star in my time there. Some times there is a collaboration between the heads of the news desk.

I find you funny as hell, who are you to judge whether Desmond (even if it was he who wrote the piece) is fit enough to ne the head of the PAJ? Just because he touched at some thing or some one close to your belief structure.? How come I never heard you questioning his skills when he blasted the PNP several times?

You are quick to judge me and Balla and others as belonging to the Klan but you cant see the Redwood tree in your own eyes.

Yow Lazie you are free to chose who to believe and who to follow and I will fight for the right to give you that....but you cant tell me or anyone else who to follow.

I and everyone else, have earned that right.

This editor a joke. How him nuh call fi KD knight and the AG fi resign?

Shaw took himself off the case that he made comment about which is the right thing to do.

If you should find out it wasn't him, mek mi know. The past 2 weeks the editorials were said to be his.

You are assuming that I questioned him being president of the PAJ based on the article. Yuh wrong! I've heard him on the radio about 2 months ago and from then I questioned it.

Regarding you and the other Klan members, its not because you belong to the PNP, its because unuh blindly follow them, irrespective of how much times them mess up. Review yuh performance during the Trafigura Affair.

What you fail to realize is that the wrong choices you and your comrades continue to make, has negatively affected others. Look at where we're ranked when compared to other countries in the Caribbean. PJ never elected himself? Unuh dweet!

Lazie that's not what I asked you.

Damn right the PNP did not elect itself and rain did fall on Election day 2002 and the puss dem..erm Labourites stayed home.

Lazie no matter how much you cut and slice the bottom line is until the JLP start showing it is a competent alternative no one will vote for them.

Can you name me 10 JLP MPs who you would even consider for a cabinet position?

My office is cut evenly down the middle and the other day we sat there trying to come up with 10 names and could not, maybe you know more than we do.

people did laugh when Mckenzie turned Mayor even our own Karl.

Some a the PNP them I know who turn Minister and Assistant nuh better than some a the JLP them.

You have Golding, Shaw, Tuflon, Vaz, Bartlett, McMillan(former commish) just to name a few. Don't tell me you don't have 5 more JLP who can stand up. You have more PHD in the PNP but what has been their results?

I don't care who really win, the PNP has fall flat on providing leadership and uplifting the Jamaican economy providing no growth and growing debt, no growth in GDP while most of the caribbean countries are growing rapidly.

Assassin you obviously dont have a clue and you just pulling names out of the air..I could give you afew to jump start you but trust me not even the biggest labourite did not mention Daryll Vaz nor Shaw...

Go do some home work and come back..see how lazie quiet, him nuh know either

How must I respond to something when I'm not on the site? I naming 10 for Cabinet is irrelevant. Cabinet Ministers does not have to be a MP yuh nuh know that? People can be appointed via the Senate. Since you ago claim mi cannot name 10. Look at the shadow cabinet and then look at the people in the Senate. Then again Sickko, how would you be able to name any of them? How many times yuh vote fi PJ? Nuff said.

Lazie no matter how much you cut and slice the bottom line is until the JLP start showing it is a competent alternative no one will vote for them.
                          Mi ask yuh a question. Dem teach unuh that punchline at Klan Kollege (don't twist it, not CC this time)? Compare the economic datawhen both were in gov't, then please correct yuh comical statement about competent alternative.

I laugh at all of you when unuhuse that line. As Scaly once said, "Not even Jesus Christ..."If Jamaicans were to approach elections like the real world, yes Balla, the real world, this bunch a dumb asses would have been removeda decade ago, but because one fool lead many, weaffi keep company wid Haiti. Unuh must be proud, bout competentalternative.

What you telling me Shaw can't run a ministry? No ministry whatsover? I don't know much about Vaz but you telling me you can't find 10 prominent labourites to run ministries and expect me to believe you?

Assasin (11/5/2006)What you telling me Shaw can't run a ministry? No ministry whatsover? I don't know much about Vaz but you telling me you can't find 10 prominent labourites to run ministries and expect me to believe you?
                              They will say anything to justify defending incompetence.