Wait .. Did Chavez really give the
They say it has gone way up on the search list on Amazon, so there should definately be a translation into sales.
Leave a comment:
I well recall Rodney's How Europe Underdeveloped Africa and Eric William's Capitalism and Slavery.Originally posted by Peter R View PostI expect the book will see an upsurge in sales: even I am curious to read it now. It seems like a Latin American version of "How Europe Underdeveloped Africa" by Walter Rodney. The title of the book in question is "Open Veins of Latin America: Five centuries of Pillage of a Continent" by a Uruguayan journalist, Eduardo Galeano.
"The 1971 book documents how American and European commercial interests have dominated and afflicted LAtin America since the Spanish conquest" - Trinidad Express Sunday April 19.
Those were required reading in certain circles at JC in my day.
Leave a comment:
I expect the book will see an upsurge in sales: even I am curious to read it now. It seems like a Latin American version of "How Europe Underdeveloped Africa" by Walter Rodney. The title of the book in question is "Open Veins of Latin America: Five centuries of Pillage of a Continent" by a Uruguayan journalist, Eduardo Galeano.
"The 1971 book documents how American and European commercial interests have dominated and afflicted LAtin America since the Spanish conquest" - Trinidad Express Sunday April 19.
Leave a comment:
Yuh seit!Originally posted by Islandman View PostYou would think that people would realise by now that Obamas smile and no-drama style is not to be mistaken for weakness or lack of leadership.
If I was Obamas enemy and him smile with me I would get nervous.
...I was actually surprised he did not shoot down N. Korean's missile.
...di Presi his wan tough cookie!
Leave a comment:
"Form fool"?Originally posted by Lazie View PostI support the efforts by the President to mend fences ... but if a guy ago waan use it fi grandstand then at some point the President need fi say ... "Enough!"
If you and I have difference and we want to work it out, yet one of us come a form fool .. where is that going to get us?
....both men saying I want to be your friend?
That is "form fool"?
...as Gamma seh, di US large...an di 'ole worl kno hit!
Leave a comment:
But why are we insisting on the same ole, same ole that got no one anywhere? Why can't the US president be a person who truly wants to give peace a chance, who doesn't believe in confrontation for confrontation sake, and the waving of the big stick?
If we don't have that, does that mean the president is a wimp?
No wimp trots up and down the stairs of Air Force 1 the way he does!
Leave a comment:
You would think that people would realise by now that Obamas smile and no-drama style is not to be mistaken for weakness or lack of leadership.
If I was Obamas enemy and him smile with me I would get nervous.
Leave a comment:
All now I cannot find out what was achieved at this meeting, only that some spotlight hogging fools wanted to grandstand. How has Latin America benefitted from this meeting in terms of trade etc?Originally posted by Gamma View Posti will box yuh and you will know that there is nothing you can do about it!
Leave a comment: